We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Save Saved
You added The Anglesey Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglesey Arms
Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Menai Bridge
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Thought the meal was over priced to what I had served I expected a lot better, my Yorkshire pudding and vegetables were cold and the quantity of food on the plate wasn`t enough for the price. The venue inside is really nice and looks very clean, when we arrived inside all the staff appeared hectic and busy and didn`t have much time for us, though everybody was pleasant but we felt a bit unwelcome, however the young man who brought our meals and who i payed my bill too was very pleasant. Disappointed i`ve has better Sunday dinners elsewhere and paid much less.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I have reviewed both the service your described and the Pricing/ plate quantity,

As a reult we have changed the Roast service to remove the problem of the vegetables being cold.

With regards pricing I have reviewed the competition pricing and thier offers and concluded that our locally sourced (Llanfair Hall Farm) 28 day matured roast Sirlion of beef is a good portion size and excellent value for money versus our competitors 'roast beef'.

When you visit us again please feel free to discuss any similar issues with us at the time of your visit.
We are very keen to get instant feedback as this allows us to rectify any problems proactively with all the facts before us.
As you will have seen from our chalkboards on the bar and in the car park saying

"If you enjoyed yourself tell everyone, if you didn't tell us!"

I look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
41
53
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked a room for a competitive B&B price and upon arrival got to stay in the honeymoon suite. Very large bedroom, extremely well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is very well located within a short walk of the town of Menai Bridge. The breakfast was very good and the service top drawer.

Room Tip: Room 108/Menai Bridge is the honeymoon suite and, if available, a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwyd
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Right on the entrance the the lovely Ynys Mon this recently refurbished Hotel is a real find. The mixture of lacks and visitors and chance to hear both Welsh and English in a natural environment offers a genuine chance to meet the locals.

The decour is to a high standard as is the food. Helpful and friendly staff with well furnished bedrooms and restaurant,

Gwesty efo agwedd dwyeithog ar lan y Menai. Safon uchel iawn. Bwyd da ond prisiau rhesymol.

Room Tip: 2nd floor best though no lift Book at table if eating at night. No air com but fans in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments

we look forward to seeing you again soon

kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent another enjoyable weekend in North Wales, returning to the Anglesey Arms. As usual, the room was spotlessly clean and the king-size bed extremely comfortable. In general the food was excellent with the exception of the soggy bacon served at breakfast on the second morning. We were on the first floor over the bar and, yes, it was noisy but only to be expected with an in-house pub and it was the weekend after all! However, all noise ceased by midnight and our sleep was not disturbed. The staff were, without exception, friendly, polite and helpful.
A suggestion to management: we felt a little on show in our room overlooking the road - blinds or voile/net curtains would overcome this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review.

I have taken on board your comments about the rooms overlooking the road and We will review the curtains there.

thanks again

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've driven past the Anglesey Arms for many years and really wasn't expecting much when we decided to stay there at short notice. But I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very well decorated and had great pictures of the local area, the bathroom was a decent size (although the bottles of shampoo etc were ridiculously small) and although we looked out over the roundabout the double glazing kept out 99% of the traffic noise. We were directly above the bar and could hear some noise from below but it stopped at around 12.00 which was OK on a Saturday night. Breakfasts the next morning were excellent. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your response.

We had just put the new shampoo bottles in the room when you stayed and I agree they look small.
Beleive it or not our old ones contained less, but looked much bigger and we never had a single comment. However, we will be removing them as soon as a new stock arrives that has a bigger volume.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently enjoyed a short stay at the Anglesey Arms Hotel which is located in a scenic and convenient spot next to the historic Menai Suspension Bridge. Our room was nicely decorated with comfortable beds and good quality linens. We especially liked the little Welsh woollen coverlets and the prints of local scenes. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed, with an efficient shower. Our only criticisms were that the wardrobe was rather small and that the biscuits we enjoyed on arrival in the room were not replenished the following day. We did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast which was good but there could have been more choice e.g. grapefruit, muesli plus a wider selection of juices and yoghurts. The bar had well kept real ales from the Lees Brewery. On the whole we would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter. Rooms on the first floor are above the bar and funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We agree thatthe offering is a bit tired and are midway through a thorough review of our breakfast offering and will be updating it very soon.

I look forward to you visiting again and giving us some feedback on the changes.

Kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent service - courteous, attentive, friendly yet professional.
Food - The king prawn starter is the best I've ever tasted & the salmon main course melted in the mouth.

I will definitely be visiting here again, the refurbishment has turned this hotel into a place for socialising, relaxing & eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I have shared your review with the Team and they are all very happy to have contributed to such a special occassion.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anglesey Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.