We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North West Couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Llangefni
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“North West Couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We liked everything about this lovely hotel in the remote countryside in Anglesey. The building itself was atmospheric.in particular the hallway and stairway at the entrance inspired a degree of awe and pathos dedicated as it was to the owners now deceased daughter.
We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was magnificent with its views over the front gardens and its authentic and spacious 4 poster bed. The meals were excellent and we had dinner in the restaurant on both nights of our stay. I was pleasantly surprised at the price of drinks at the bar which were more than reasonable. The spa pool and gym were better than anticipated 2 small points for future reference. We waited slightly longer than expected on day 1 of our stay for breakfast and the hotel could provide better directions on how to find it given its remote location. Overall we would recommend this hotel particularly for any couple looking for a restful weekend without stress

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the review and I am glad you had a relaxing break away. Glad the team looked after you and I will look into the few points you made. Once again thanks, and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    77
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
192
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights Fri/Sat 29th/30th November 2013 to celebrate her 67th birthday.
Our stay was excellent in every way. Our room was first class and the bed large and very comfortable. Breakfast on both mornings was in a very large conservatory and was very good with a wide choice. The five course meal on the first evening meal on the first night was truly excellent, so much so that my wife did not want to repeat the occasion on the second night because she had enjoyed it so much and thought it might spoil a good thing so Instead we ate in the Tower Restaurant at the hotel where we both enjoyed a very nice curry.
The spa facilities at the hotel take some beating. We're getting on a bit but both fit.
We didn't use the gym but there is a first class pool, a steam room and a sauna all of which we used on several occasions, the last time being 8 am on the morning of our departure.
On Saturday we did a 6 mile circular walk from Beaumaris.
I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending a stay at Tre-Ysgawen Hall.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 on the first floor which looked over the side garden. Nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed yourselves and that the team looked after you. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First of all the good stuff... First impressions are great, what an amazing building! The location is perfect, pretty easy to get too, but isolated enough to make you feel like you’ve really ‘got away’. It’s a beautiful old house, stacked full of history. We stayed the night, and stayed in a standard room, which was perfectly suitable, not ground breaking good but the hotels old school charm more than makes up for that. We ate in the hotel of the evening, and the food was absolutely stunning! It’s a 5 course meal, at about £35.00 a head, and it’s well worth it, some of the nicest food we’ve ever had, great service too, the lady that was waiting our table seemed to have perfect timing, waiting for lapses in conversation before moving us on to the next stage of our meal, which all contributed to what was a lovely evening dining experience. Checking in and out was easy enough and the hotel grounds are very pretty.

We had lunch in the Clock Tower restaurant too, which was lovely and tasty, reasonably priced too.

But unfortunately I should now balance this review by mentioning the bad stuff, and it really is a massive shame because what lets this amazing hotel down is its attached Spa. My wife and I booked this hotel mainly to make use of its spa facilities. Our bad Spa experience started two days before our arrival at the hotel, my wife called the Spa to book a treatment which she had chosen from the hotel’s website, the member of staff she spoke to mentioned that the treatment she wanted wasn’t available any more, due to the Spa being ‘between product suppliers’, my wife asked for advice as to an alternative treatment, she was advised to decide when we arrived and she had a chance to speak to one of therapists. So on arrival that’s exactly what we did, we picked up there new treatment menu from there reception and went to the spa to book the treatments, we we’re told the new treatment she had chosen wasn’t available yet either! We were also told they didn’t have the old or the new products and in fact hadn’t even been trained for a lot of the treatments from the new menu yet. The chap on reception mentioned training was starting tomorrow, and that it was ‘just an awkward time at the moment’.

So our spa experience got off to a bad start, and it didn’t get better. Once we had checked into the Spa we were given our spa robes and towels, which were thread bare, old and falling apart!

The Spa itself was nice, but rough around the edges... the lights in the Sauna we’re broken, which is at best an annoyance, at worst possibly a little dangerous! The Jacuzzi was dirty, there was sludge from people’s body lotions and hair gels coating the sides of the tub, whilst we accept that isn’t entirely the fault of the Spa itself we did witness the Jacuzzi being cleaned, which consisted of it being drained and re-filled, but the Jacuzzi itself wasn’t wiped down, so the same sludge remained on the sides of the Jacuzzi. My wife was also shocked to see that the shower room in the ladies changing rooms was unclean with dirt coating the edges of the room.

It’s a great shame because these are all minor details, but these small details amassed really detract from what could and should be a lovely Spa.

All in all, we’d recommend the hotel itself in a heartbeat, the food is lovely and the location is perfect. But if it’s a luxury spa you’re looking for, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the kind things you said about the hotel and the stay you had. I have asked the Spa Manager to draft a response to your feedback -

We’re so sorry to hear that the spa didn’t meet with your expectations. Although there was some training taking place that week, we did have treatment slots available later on each day up until 8.30 pm and can only apologise that you were not advised to book these in advance of arrival. Training of staff is something we are committed and this takes place from time to time to ensure our therapist’s skills are continually improved upon.

We do take every care to ensure that everything is well maintained in the spa and that cleanliness is of the highest standard. Your points will be taken on board and where necessary we will brief our team.

We would like to assure you that we all take great pride in the facility and service that we provide here and hope that you will consider returning in the future so that we can restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

After attending 2 receptions in the past this time was disappointing - on arrival 2 members of staff stood at the door,not speaking to anyone to ask if they would like a drink or canape. We were then ushered into the Anglesey Suite where the tables were very well laid out. Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired - plates were cold, chicken fillets in warm sauce and only 6 chips per person according to Danielle - in case they ran out - surely knowing the number of guests expected the hotel should have catered accordingly. Would have to think twice before accepting another invitation as it would cost the host more than the worth of it.
Called at Chinese Restaurant on way home had a good meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the team about the issues and hopefully these have been resolved now. We were sorry to hear you found the experience disappointing, but we had very positive reviews from the bridal party and other guests. We hope your next experience will be a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

wanted a few days quiet so i booked for the second time it was worth every penny food out of this world friendly staff ideal if you want peace and quiet going back in may plenty of nice places around hotel holyhead, beaumaris, bangor the gardens are superb for a nice stroll after dinner

Room Tip: book it now
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you had an enjoyable time here. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Anglesey , we booked using the Travelzoo offer which afforded us a good rate and deal.
Well , from arrival to departure we witnessed exceptional service and facilities. The food was excellent and service at every level was first class , we were shown our rom on arrival , shown to the changing rooms at the spa , showed to our table at dinner - collected from the bar , The dinner and breakfast service was some of the best I have experienced , and considering some staff are fairly young ( saying that I am getting on a bit now so most are young compared to me) they are well trained and work well as a team , they know what they are doing and look out for opportunities to go that extra mile without over killing the attention. Must mention how smart they looked and this alone gives an impression of professionalism .
The spa was excellent , one minor point having been to many spa,s a larger and better moulded jacuzzi is needed with perhaps some lighting but that's being picky !
Can I also mention , having praised the waiting staff we were a little disappointed to see a lad with a name badge "trainee" , he was excellent and it would have been good to se his name as an individual but again there may be a reason for this - he should be proud as he was excellent.
All positive from us , difficult to imagine how anyone could write a negative review as I see odd ones in 2011/2012 clearly you are maintaining a high standard and have got it right . Thank you for a relaxing , enjoyable and value for money stay - we will be back .
Neil and Di

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Neil and Di, thanks for the review and glad you had an enjoyable time. The individual with the 'trainee' badge was only with us for a couple of weeks on work placement. Unfortunately the badges are ordered in and his name was not confirmed until two day's before he got here. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had taken advantage of an online offer for a one night stay including a 5 course dinner, full Welsh breakfast and Spa facilities. Although we have been visiting Anglesey for 35 years we had not been aware of this wonderful old manor house hotel.
the visit proved to be delight with wonderful staff to greet us, large bedrooms and bathrooms all very clean with toiletries in abundance, cosy bath robes and a good selection of teas, coffee and biscuits.
Relaxing in the library with a drink in front of the fire before dinner started what proved to be a very nice evening crowned by a fantastic 5 course dinner with a good selection for each course.
Breakfast the following morning proved to be just as good as diner the previous evening and set us up for our trip home through the Snowdonia National Park, we will return to this Island Gem.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if climbing stairs is difficult request a ground floor room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Wales/Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.