We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Heswall
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Whilst looking to purchase a holiday home in North Wales, I decided to stay here. What a great decision too. A beautiful hotel, with lovely facilities and all at a reasonable cost. The food, service and the overall experience was not to be faulted. Neil and his team made sure my stay was faultless, without having to do much...a naturally well presented and well run hotel, of which I look forward to visiting again In the near future. WELL DONE EVERYONE.

Room Tip: Just ask, as they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay and I am glad that the team looked after you so well. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    109
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
42
244
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshiire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

All round comment is that it is very good. Staff very attentive and helpful at all times though some of the younger girls need to get a little polish " 'ere's your canapes" and more or less flung onto the table! We had to move from one of our rooms and that was done with no complaint from the manager. Said room, number 35, should be avoided and particularly so in the summer. The windows open on to a flat roof just by a ventilation outlet from the kitchen. The persistent hum would have been akin to sleeping on board ship. The smell of fat also percolated through the window.
The food was excellent and served on (very) hot plates - hurray. The wine list was very interesting.The Chateau Musar '96 was past it's best but still drinking reasonably well. The '95 deuxieme cru Margaux was superb.
Any moans? Well the lighting could be beefed up in the bar and the breakfast room. Quite gloomy really so some decent soft lighting would not go amiss. The deck chairs in the spa were uncomfortable and there was not enough light to read by the pool. That definitely could be upgraded.
Would we go back? Yes, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Avoid room 35. Gives onto a flat roof next to a ventilation shaft from the kitchen. Architect should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for the review and taking the time to write it, apologies that you weren't pleased with your room but am glad it all sorted itself out. Will look into your other feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our second all ladies trip to this little gem in Anglesey. As last time we were really pushed to find anything that could be improved on. Food is excellent - everything tasty, beautifully presented and a real treat. Don't even think of coming here to stick on your diet, you will want to savour every moment.
One of the best things has to be the unobtrusive service. What wonderful staff they all are, this must be down to good management. They are friendly, professional and nothing is a problem to them. If ever you did have a gripe I am sure they would do their best to give you total customer satisfaction. I work in customer care and judge the service I receive by the service I also give.
Staff are always there for you - but you won't feel intimidated. No scary wine waiters etc just good attentive service.
Our room was comfy, nicely placed for nipping into the Spa and you could hear a pin drop at night. Certainly what you want from a relaxing spa weekend. Well done all at Tre-Ysgawen, no doubt we will be looking to return soon for another chill out.

Room Tip: Annex rooms with French doors open onto a patio with furniture. Great for a relaxing read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Glad you ladies had a great time, we look forward to seeing you all again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night and found the hotel to be of excellent quality and tranquil location.

Welcomed by friendly staff who assisted with luggage and the bedroom had a front garden facing view which was lovely.

The diner was included in the price and was perfect we enjoyed every mouthful! We enjoyed ourselves so much we got carried away with the champaign having received a free bottle of moet for a very small error of them having forgotten to place a bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival! We did not expect that at all but it was appreciated and really made the weekend!

The spa is one of the best I have ever been and the staff are very friendly and informative with the treatments - we thoroughly enjoyed our massages and facials!

It is expensive to stay here but you pay the extra for the luxury - they often have great offers so its worth keeping an eye on their website.

There is limited mobile signal here so you really do get to switch off

Highly recommended

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
P.s Great pics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A beautiful wedding venue.

We decided to hold our wedding ceremony, reception and evening party at Tre-Ysgawen. It was a fantastic choice made. We made contact with Richard Hughes the manager and he helped us through the planning stages and was always there to answer any questions we had.

Our wedding ceremony was held in the Britannia Room which was perfectly set out for a beautiful ceremony. Our flowers were set out and in this room to begin with, however the staff had no problems with moving flowers from one room to another. Nothing was a problem. It saved us money by moving flowers around!

To follow, our reception was held in the Conservatory. The name doesn't describe how spacious the room is. The food was delicious. We had a pre wedding tasting of the menu which was free of charge a few months prior to our wedding day. Iwan Williams the Head Chef gave us numerous choices to choose from. After a lot of discussions (it wasn't easy to choose they all sounded lovely) we chose two different starters, two mains and two desserts beforehand to aid the process of choosing the final reception menu. The food was so delicious, it was difficult to choose between them! However the choice had to be made. On the day itself the food was excellently presented and was very tasty! Beautiful and delicious!Our guests keep on telling us how much they enjoyed the food.

The evening party went well. Yet again the evening buffet was excellently presented and there was plenty of food available for guests to choose from. The hotel staff had moved the flowers from the Conservatory to the Anglesey Suite. I had forgotten to mention this but obviously the staff know exactly what to do and do it without any fuss. Staff with common sense.

We had a beautiful room to stay the night in, with a jacuzzi bath. Luxurious to say the least. Not forgetting the beautiful gardens with plenty of hiding places for children to play and plenty of spaces for taking photographs. A fantastic day! An unforgettable day. Thank you Tre-Ysgawen. Diolch yn fawr.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your wedding day, the whole wedding was stunning. Hope to see you again soon. Diolch yn fawr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here midweek & it was the ideal escape to allow us both to completely relax.
We stayed in room 7 which was worth the upgrade to experience the 4poster & much larger bath big enough for two!
Staff were extremly pleasant & went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.
The quality of local produce sourced for breakfast was lovely!
We are always glad to stay as we never get phone signal inside the hotel which means our stay is evenmore uninterupted by friends, family or work! Free WiFi for guests is a welcome bonus.
Thanks to TreYsGawen & the team for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay again. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay which was a birthday treat.The approach is along a narrow country lane which then opens up to a beautiful mansion house and grounds.Once inside this building it just oozes character and you feel it could be part of a period drama.We used the spa area which was brilliant,loved the sea salt steam room.Our evening meal was taken in Noelle,s restaurant which is billed as fine dining experience,and lived up to its title,the beef was the best i have tasted.A mention must be made about the staff who were helpfull,pleasent and did everything with a smile.So in short,great location,great facilities,great staff can,t go wrong really.

Room Tip: room 7 very quiet,has a great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your time with us at the hall and that the team took care of you. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Wales/Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.