We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PEACEFUL BREAK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“LOVELY PEACEFUL BREAK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Set in a rural location with well tended gardens, this hotel restores your faith in good old fashioned values coupled with excellent service. Fast efficient reception, lovely clean twin bedded room with a large flat screen TV that worked! Bathroom a bit dated but adequate. The restaurant dinner was of high quality - the steak was cooked to perfection. The décor throughout the resident's areas was impressive and spotlessly clean. Although the outside temperatures were freezing - this huge building was kept comfortably warm throughout. The hotel appeared to be a bit light on staff but whenever you needed someone or something - they were there. Our overall experience was let down by the afternoon tea --- sandwiches were about an inch thick and the wait between sandwiches and scones was about an hour! - we're still waiting the cakes!! But forewarned is forearmed and we'd happily return to the hotel and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hall, thank you for the comments - Just to clarify about the afternoon tea as we have had a few comments about this, which is dissapointing for us. The company that advertised the promotion were told that it was not an afternoon tea and that is was in fact tea/coffee, cake and sandwich which was said to be served in the Clocktower. By the time this was rectified by the company the vouchers had started selling and we were left with the task of explaining the "afternoon tea" I apologise for the confusion and so glad you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    95
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
35
220
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Remote location + lack of children in the pool make it perfect for a quite, relaxing retreat and the first impression as you come up to the building fits this. It looks very grand and impressive. However parts of inside are very dated- posh in the way your nan does it! Think doilies, pink salmon walls, cabinets of ornaments, large creepy portraits and wood panelling. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing if that is your taste as its clean and tidy throughout, and the room was much more modern, as was the spa and clock tower restaurant.

Our only real complaint was that several times we were left very infuriated waiting for service in the bar or particularly at breakfast. On more than one occasion we had to actually go to reception and ask if anyone was serving (funny that we always found someone sat at the computer?!) Maybe it doesn't help we went in early February when the hotel was quiet- but you would have hoped that meant even more attentive service not less.

Oh and the bed in our room was only a small double- my poor partner had very cold feet as they hung off the bed! May be worth asking if any of rooms have larger beds in other parts of hotel!

Room Tip: Biggest tip- don't bother paying extra to eat in the fancy hotel restaurant, the service just fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hall and for all your comments. I'm sorry to hear the stay wasn't what you were expecting. The hotel is an 1882 Country house and we don't want to take that style completely away. I am disappointed to hear the remarks about the staff and would appreciate it if you could contact me and let me know when you exactly stayed so I can investigate it further. As you see from previous reviews the staff are said to be attentive. We do have different styles of bedrooms and sizes of beds and I am sure we would have been able to accommodate this had we been told. I look forward to hearing from you and I do hope that you visit the hall again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A few weeks ago my husband and I visited Tre-Ysgawen for the weekend, staying two nights. Upon arrival we were given a lovely greeting and a glass of Champagne - which was very welcome indeed and a nice touch. We stayed in a room near the spa. It was very clean and had everything you needed even some great magazines to flick through - one being conde nast traveller which I took to the hotel's comfy library room the next day and perused thinking of possibly future exotic hols!

The hotel building is beautiful and very impressive from the exterior. The grounds are vast and there are suggested walking routes but if you intend to go walking may I suggest taking proper walking boots as the ground is quite mulchy.

On our first evening we dined at the Clock Tower informal restaurant - the food was good and the service was excellent with a most polite waitress.

We spent an afternoon in the spa enjoying its facilities and then both had treatments which were throroughly enjoyable.

On our second evening we dined at the main a la carte restaurant - wow! We had the most mouth watering dishes and our steaks were quite simply the best we have ever had (and we've had quite a few)! The food was absolutely faultless - fantastic! I must also say the service was also worth a mention - attentive and polite.

The quality of the breakfasts were excellent too - again with good/friendly service.

All of the staff we encountered were polite and all seemed genuinely happy in their work - always smiling - which you don't see everywhere you go!

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, it's staff and the spa highly. When we get another chance we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and writing the review, thank you for your compliments and praise. We hope to welcome you back to the hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Crosby, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Service was excellent and with friendly staff.
Our room was spacious and quiet.
The day we arrived was cold and wintery, so the spa was very welcome. The spa was lovely, with a good sized pool and a steam room that rains seawater!
Food was delicious, I really enjoyed the fish breakfasts.
Surrounded by beautiful gardens...the only thing to point out is that you do need a car to travel to the coastal walks...it is a place of tranquility.
I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time and writing a review, go glad you enjoyed the hall and the gardens and also the bust of the lady in the lounge :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were driving through Wales and found this hotel on the internet - looked lovely and the reviews were great - so we booked it. Wish we had managed our expectations better, as I was disappointed with our stay. The actual setting is obviously lovely - a stately home with perfectly manicured gardens/lawns. However, service and quality needs great improvement to make this a true gem. We paid about GBP 160 for a twin room - and for this steep price in the Welsh countryside would have expected assistance with our luggage - at the least. But all the assistance we got upon arrival was to be told to move our car to the back entrance at the spa so we would be closer to our room so we wouldn't need to walk so far with the luggage... not a great start. The room was fine - if a bit dated (again, our expectations were maybe too high??). We had dinner in the main dining, which was busy (Valentine's week) but they ask you to pre-order the meal in the bar, so the plating service was fine. Food was fine - but again, nothing to write home about. The wine list is good - though I am still confused with the additions of Mexican and Lebanese wines - a bit adventurous for an old-fashioned dining room. The service door creaked and squeaked every time the wait staff came in and out of the kitchen (which was often) - which was very irritating (particularly since there was a folding screen blocking another door in the dining room - they so easily could have propped open the service door and hidden the entrance with the screen to avoid the noisy door. Speaking of squeaking - the bathroom pipes were also an orchestra - and any time anyone flushed anywhere on our floor, it took at least a minute for the racket to stop (not great for a condusive sleep). Out of a 12 night driving holiday through the UK, this was the one accommodation that we regretted and did not meet our expectations - or maybe we should have managed them better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay at the Hall. I’m sorry it didn’t meet up to expectations, and I will look into the items you have pointed out with the check in process and also in regards to the dining room and the other matters, but thank you for bringing them to our attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTATYN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we spent two days at this hotel,one night was valentines night,the hotel has to be the very best hotel we have ever stayed in.our room was fantastic it had a four poster bed which you could easy loose your partner it was massive and so comfortable.then comes the bathroom it was as big as most dinning rooms at home ,and the very best thing was a six foot round spar bath with shower overhead.the staff were wonderful nothing to much trouble.then comes the food six coarse evening meal was out of this world.and breakfast was just as good. anything you wanted.my wife used the on site spar and said that was one of the best she had been to.the hotel is in its own grounds and is so peaceful .we will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are great but we liked the four poster bedrooms best overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments in your review. We can't wait to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Second time at this hotel and the standout for me was the food which was as good as I remembered from last year. We both picked food we wouldn't normally- aubergine for my veggie partner, and belly pork for me and they were superb!
We stayed in a double this time but the four poster suites are worth the extra.
Pool and spa is one of the nicest in any hotel in North Wales because they are purpose built and not an afterthought in an existing building

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Glad you visited us again and I'm really pleased it was enjoyable. We at the hotel hope to welcome you back again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Wales/Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.