We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief but impressive stay, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel to your Saves list
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Church Lane, Llanfairpwll LL61 5YH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfairpwll
Birtley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brief but impressive stay, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We arrived at this hotel at 01:00 24th May with our rental car on the back of a recovery truck, it having blew it's engine a few miles down the road after hours stuck in traffic. We had informed the hotel in advance that we were at first stuck in traffic and then broken down.

Upon arrival at such a late hour we were greeted with a plate of sandwiches for our party of 6 and a drink from the bar, very much appreciated given our 10 hour journey.

We left early the same morning so not much time to check out the facilities but we can say that the hotel seemed very clean and modern. Most of all I would like to thank the staff members for making our brief stay as comfortable as possible and for helping us plan our onward journey and save our holiday.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future, hopefully under better circumstances.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    29
    19
    17
See reviews for
31
77
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

booked for an overnight stay Sunday 25th May for one night checked in at approx. 2pm, we dropped off our bags and then set off for a day of exploring, thinking everything was fine. We returned at approx. 10.15pm we went up to our room and decided to get a drink in the bar which unknown to us was now closed ?

After some discussion we managed to get a drink by charging it to our room, we then went to our room at about 11pm where we discovered that the sheets in our room had not been changed from the previous guest. with grease stains on the pillows with dirty and soiled sheets and duvet cover, and not to mention someone's socks left in the wardrobe! When we complained we asked to be moved to another room, which by comparison was a lot smaller and cramped, however this did have clean linen on the bed. on using the bathroom the extractor fan failed to switch off and was so loud could be head droning over the television, where it would have been impossible to sleep, this probably due to the amount of dirt. the last straw was when my partner went to use the bathroom and saw what he initially thought to be a dead rat behind the toilet bowl and on closer inspection was a dirty sodden old rag that was being used to soak up drips from a leaking toilet bowl. on discovering this we checked out at 11.30 pm with the prospect of a 2hr drive home in poor weather conditions. Would I recommend this hotel...NO!.....when you are charged £85 per night and £5 extra per person for breakfast, there are no excuses.

Room Tip: cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

staff and owners were very friendly and informal. We were given the biggest double they had at no extra charge to accommodate the travel cot for our son
Best of all though was the lamb pie in the restaurant

Room Tip: getting a bigger room seemed to be no problem but we did ring ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A warm welcome, and clean comfortable rooms. A quirky layout meant that we had to walk up and down some stairs and corridors to get to our room but that is pretty much the only negative. Bar and dining areas have obviously been recently refurbed and are both modern and comfortable. The biggest stand out though had to be the staff especially the young lady who was training the new girl the evening we were there. I would suggest the introduction of a Bar Menu at a slightly lower price point to make dining a little more affordable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A clean and pleasant enough hotel but make sure you can carry your bags as many stairs both up and down could be between arrival and your room. Biscuits on the tea tray made a change from other hotels. A full Welsh breakfast is available.
A video of a real fire plays in the dining area, this caused the question as to which makes most CO2 a real fire or a TV with an electric heater.
Walk down the lane and through the churchyard to the Menai strait and its statue of Nelson.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I stay in hotels all over the world and am fortunate to have stayed in some wonderful hotels all over Europe, Asia, the Middle East and US. UK however doesn't always excel and I hadn't raised my hopes especially for Carreg Bran.

Sure, it wasn't the Clift in San Fran' or the Sivatel in Bangkok, but it was entirely adequate; clean, quiet, good value, free wifi and good enough food. Above all though, truly lovely staff, friendly, chatty and genuinely welcoming making it above average.

On the down side, check in was unmanned when I arrived, the room didn't have a 'wow factor' (or desk....) and I was surprised at the glasses, full ashtrays and litter on the terrace in the morning.

Given the wonderful staff though, this is being over critical and Carreg Bran is suitable for any type of guest in that it's perfectly acceptable in what it offers, but does so with exceptionally bright and charming staff.

I'll probably have to return a few times on business and am certain I'll opt for Carreg Bran every time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant place, warm rooms, excellent staff most of all Zac and Rebecca. The food was good quality if slightly on the expensive side for a work stay. Good atmosphere my the whole stay. Would recommend and will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Llanfairpwll LL61 5YH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llanfairpwll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfairpwll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country setting, yet with easy access from the A55 Expressway, the Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel nestles in 3 acres of garden a not much more than a stones throw away from the Menai Straits. We offer the highest standards of service, hospitality and cuisine. Our staff will be delighted to put at your disposal their experience and expertise to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Carreg Mon Llanfairpwll
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel Llanfairpwll, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.