We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welsh LlanPG gem not to be missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel to your Saves list
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Church Lane, Llanfairpwll LL61 5YH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfairpwll
Miraflores - SPAIN
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
“A welsh LlanPG gem not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a night on the 28 July as part of a wedding party , the hotel was easy to find.
The staff were very friendly and polite and nothing was too much problem, the room was clean and very tidy exactly what I expected as the bride and groom had let me know where to stay and the Hotel website plus other reviews sold it to me .
The wedding banquet was cooked in the hotel and the staff of Carreg Mon laid on a mouth watering spread that was perfect for everyone's taste .
After a night of dancing and fun and a good nights sleep it was time for the star of the show the welsh breakfast again catering for all tastes but for me the star was the welsh full fry breakie which definally hit the spot .
An excellent end to a lovely stay in Carreg Mon Llan PG.
Overall I recommend anyone to stay here and enjoy Welsh Isle Of Anglesey hospitality and scenery .
I am ( Cudds2 ) writing this review as Cudds is away in Eqypt :-)






you wish. Breakfast was cereals, yoghurt, toast and full welsh breakfast - all very nicely cooked. The staff are very friendly and welcoming,

Room Tip: There is a issue with mobile / Wifi signals but I was told this has always been a ongoing problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    35
    21
    19
See reviews for
36
87
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Is this hotel called Carreg Mon or Carreg Bran? We booked under one name only to find it was called another. Very confusing! The hotel information in the room is incorrect and clearly needs updating. The rooms smelled VERY stale on arrival and refurbishment had not reached the rooms! Shower over the bath was adequate.
The noise from the plumbing at 5am was truely gobsmacking lol although we did manage to fall back to sleep after it had finished doing what ever it was doing! Also television in room next door could be heard as clearly as a radio in your own room. Get a room at the back to avoid noise from terrace outside bar.
Service in the restaurant was slow, but the main courses were good. Pity not all food was available bearing in mind menu not very extensive.
Some staff openly friendly others not which was a pity. Lady on reception particularly nice as was young man serving evening meals.
There is plenty of parking and green space around the hotel and it is in an extremely convenient position.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Handy location, immediately off the A55.The price reflective of what you might expect.
The hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment, though this is not intrusive.
The food is excellent, with good prompt service with the staff polite and courteous.Breakfast was lovely and service speedy, despite two staff off sick and the girls on duty doing their utmost to facillitate smooth running.
Negative points; My internet booking, despite a confirming email, had not reached their system. I did only book that morning but it may be helpful to phone and check if your booking is last minute like mine.
The hotel rooms are in rather a labyrinth of hallways, with stairs up and down, this may present a problem to people with mobility problems, as there is no lift. Worth asking for a more accessible room if you are less able.
There were used towels on the floor outside the named rooms,that were there when I checked in and still on the floor the following day when I checked out.An oversight probably but I'm sure any staff member could have put these away out of view.
Rooms rather tired but heading for refubishment so don't expect too much yet.They were clean and comfortable with tea making facilites etc.
The hallway immediately outside the breakfast room was being hoovered and cleaned as the breakfast session was on...a shame, as this could surely be done at a different time to lessen intrusion to guests.
All told, it was a short and pleasant stay. I have to give a special mention to the very capable Rebecca who was on reception on arrival and managing morning dining the next day. Helpful ,cheerful and informative she is an excellent advert for the place.

I would stay again as it was well placed, clean and nicely priced. The breakfast is worth every penny. The new bar area looks lovely and if the refurbishmennt continues at that standard, the hotel will be very attractive.

Room Tip: Just consider your own mobility and ask for a suitable room if you think going up and down stairs wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, grounds and hotel look very impressive from outside. Beautiful terrace to have drinks and food if you wish. Breakfast was cereals, yoghurt, toast and full welsh breakfast - all very nicely cooked. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, rooms were cleaned both days and fresh towels, our room was light and airy and had a nice view of the gardens. We had an evening meal this was also cooked nicely and very enjoyable. You do have to wait quite a while for the meal to arrive. Speaking to other guests they all seemed to be quite happy. I noted some reviews weren't particularly good but I think these people must be whingers!!!!!!!!! There are some renovations going on but this does not effect your stay it is a very peaceful setting. One thing I would add I don't think the hotel is very disabled friendly, there are a lot of steps to the rooms, there is no lift. Overall an excellent place to stay very picturesque.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the Carreg Mon and thought it was very nice, the staff were really friendly our room was clean and the breakfast was excellent. They also serve meals in the bar which are homecooked (not the defrosted kind that you would normally expect!) and they are renovating the restaurant so I'm sure it will be lovely for a relaxing evening out. We stayed in room 426 which was very quiet at the back of the hotel, the bed was really comfortable.
Our stay was mid week so there were plenty of staff on hand to help and they also offered free internet access in the lounge area. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot however it could do with an upgrade and I am sure the owners are aware of this.
I was dissapointed to read such negative reviews, there were renovations going on however these did not impeed on our lovely stay... thankyou.

Room Tip: room 426 - although it doesnt have a view it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed Saturday night for a friends wedding, probably the same one as a previous reviewer.
Room was tiny and the bathroom dirty (so bad we didn't want to use the shower). I thought breakfast was ok, it was a full english, no matter what they call it, although i think waiting 40 minutes for it was a bit much . Think a lot of people had hangovers which would explain the amount of food left on plates. Staff were mostly pleasant, which is why i haven't rated this hotel as terrible.
Never again though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanfairpwll hotels

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding and it was awful.
The room was dark, tired and out of date. The view from the windows was of the bins and gas cylinders at the back of the hotel. The door to a 'balcony' was locked, not that I would of wanted to go out to sit and smell the bins...and share the space with rubbish and a random pillowcase that was out there!
There was mould around the bath and shower and holes in the cieling. The bathroom light would take 10minutes to warm up before it came on and the trouser press switched of after about 1 minute. The bed looked nice but creaked everytime you moved.
Breakfast was cooked well and the restaurant staff were very polite and attentive. The only let down was sitting at the back of the restaurant with a view of the bins!
The bar is tired and needs updating and the staff should refrain from social discussions and swearing about who has or hasnt brought in sweets for their shift!

I would definately not recommend this hotel, please see pictures!

Room Tip: Turn around and go to the Anglesey Arms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Llanfairpwll LL61 5YH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llanfairpwll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfairpwll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country setting, yet with easy access from the A55 Expressway, the Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel nestles in 3 acres of garden a not much more than a stones throw away from the Menai Straits. We offer the highest standards of service, hospitality and cuisine. Our staff will be delighted to put at your disposal their experience and expertise to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Carreg Mon Llanfairpwll
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel Llanfairpwll, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.