We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gadlys Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gadlys Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Gadlys Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gadlys Country House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cemaes Bay LL67 0LH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cemaes Bay
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Greek Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Gadlys yesterday evening it was the first time we had been to a Greek Evening and would throughly recommend it. The food was excellent wonderfully cooked and presented and excellent value for money. Our hosts Pat and Paul really went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful evening looking forward to the next visit already.
Carole and Roy Kearey

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadlys670, Owner at Gadlys Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Very glad you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    3
    11
See reviews for
10
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently had the opportunity to say at the Gadlys House In Cemaes Bay, North Wales. It was a wonderful experience. Our room was at the front of the Hotel and we had views of the Bay and the village. Our hosts, Patricia and Paul, were most gracious. Paul was the chef during the week we were there and did an outstanding job. The lamb shank and garlic bread were one of the best meals we had during our visit to Wales. The location lends itself to some beautiful walks. It's a convenient starting point for walks along the Coastal Foot Path (awesome views of the Irish Sea) as well as down to the bay itself. We truly enjoyed our visit and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little dated but that's to be expected from a hotel that's over 100 years ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mongleton,nr manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a night away in august 2012, the gadlys is in a really nice spot just a short walk into the village/town via a little seafront path. We found the host really friendly and helpful, however the rooms are a wee bit dated but clean ,but good value for money especially with the 4 poster bed.Breakfast was a bit hap hazard and pretty average to be fair, i got the impression that the gadlys is maybe getting by on skeleton staff like friends and family of the hosts maybe ?.These are just minor moans really but the biggest was the smell from the kitchen after 6 in the evening which seemed to overpower our room,it bothered the mrs more than me though !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My friends and I stopped here for Sunday lunch - thankfully we did not actually stay! Some may feel it unfair to review a hotel based only on a lunch stop but it was such a bizarre and horrendous experience I felt compelled to review it! I don't even know where to start... particular low points were the garlic bread which arrived charred and still smouldering and the totally odd sand like substance on the cauliflower. Basically the food was all horrendous and at £18.50 for 3 courses not exactly cheap (we didn't eat 3 courses so were only charged £15.50). The surly woman who dealt with us, presumably one of the owners from the other reviews, made us feel like naughty school children for not finishing our food, but then weirdly, after we had asked for the bill and were itching to escape from the place, started showering us with leaflets and odd suggestions of touristy things to do. It was the weirdest place I have ever had the misfortune of dining in! I shudder at the thought of what staying there must be like, I advise avoiding at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Gadlys Country House Hotel is a lovely place to stay, even in mid-November. We came back from a wedding to a real wood fire. Caring, attentive, welcoming hosts. Delightful coastal footpath walk nearby.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

In June of this year I stayed at the Gadlys Country House Hotel. My time there was so enjoyable that I have returned several times since - the hotel is very comfortable, ideally situated and the evening meals are delicious. Patricia and Paul, the owners, always give me a warm welcome and I am looking forward to my next visit in December. In my opinion, the Gadlys offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Overlooking the bay at Cemaes we spent a fabulous w/e mulling over old times and taking in the fresh air and walks on our doorstep.Lovingly restored by the present owners over the last 10 years its a great place for groups as our stay proved or for a single or couples who enjoy walking and exploring. We had a fabulous meal in the evening provided by chef who must have been poached from a London west end restaurant. It was that good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gadlys Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadlys Country House Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 0LH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gadlys Country House Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Gadlys Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadlys Country Hotel
Gadlys Country House Hotel Cemaes Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadlys Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.