We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty homemade food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hootons Home Grown Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hootons Home Grown Cafe
Gwydryn Hir, Brynsiencyn LL61 6HQ, Wales
01248 430344
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Welsh
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“tasty homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

after walking out of a cafe down the road due to the rude staff and dirty tables what a joy it was to stop off at Hootons, the tables were all clean, the staff friendly and chatty and the food was freshly prepared and served with a smile and then you get to purchase some of the lovely fresh produce in the shop, will be visiting again soon

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lived up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Been here before but only to buy the produce not to eat in the cafe, We had heard a lot about the pulled pork bap so thought we would give them a go at £6.99 for a bap to take away it was a bit steep but we went on our way to eat them on the water front further down on opening them we were impressed a tray with a large bap very deep filled with fresh homemade sauces and delicious salad that tasted just as it had been plucked from the ground. If you are feeling flush i'd definitely recommend it, but try to ignore the surly young girl behind the till because the atmosphere is actually quite nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Any time we visit the area we always have to stop by. Food is lovely, home-grown (as the name suggests) and not too expensive for the privilege. Staff are always friendly, although there can sometimes be a wait for the drinks they always arrive within a reasonable amount of time. If you can time your visit to coincide with one of their frequent hogroasts then do, the pulled pork baps may well be the nicest I've ever tried.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent quality at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Always good food here. No frills cafe and shop are in a converted greenhouse. Everything is home grown, home made or local produce. Cappuccinos delicious. Large roast beef Sunday lunch for £7.99 or an all day breakfast if you prefer. Pulled pork baps looked amazing. Always buy something in the shop whether it be a leg of Welsh lamb or the most delicious home made raspberry tarts. Well worth a visit x

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst customer service I have ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Took nearly an hour for a jacket potato to come, which lacked the tuna we had ordered. No apologies from the most miserable and rudest staff on the island. This cafe use to be a fave of ours and the staff were always friendly and helpful but over the years the service has really hit new lows. Go to the shop but avoid the cafe. The free wifi reception was in keeping with the cafe in that didn't work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hootons Home Grown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hootons Home Grown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hootons Home Grown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.