We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asset for the town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Old Bulls Head Inn

Ye Old Bulls Head Inn
Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AP, Wales (Formerly Old Bulls Head Inn)
+44 (0)1248 810329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Beaumaris
Price range: $0 - $96
Cuisines: European, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great asset for the town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

To me the Bull has basically 4 areas; the sleeping accommodation, the bar, the brasserie and the Loft restaurant. As it is nearly 30 years since I slept there I don't feel qualified to comment on this aspect, you can read other reviews for that, however I have used the other three areas this year. The bar is a nice, traditional one with open fire in the winter. They always have at least 2 draught beers, and normally 3, with the third being a guest beer. Beer is kept well, never had a bad pint there, always the correct temperature too. Good choice of lagers also, and the usual spirits, though the wines by glass are higher standard than normal. Excellent but not cheap. The brasserie is a good place to go either for lunch or dinner and is a nice, light airy, modern room to the rear of the hotel. Wide ranging menu of UK/Euro- type fare. Have had many very good meals here, menu changes at least twice a year, there are always additional specials on blackboards, and the wine list is good. The Loft restaurant is "fine dining", enjoyed a wine-with-food meal there recently, showcasing Greywacke wines. They were superb, as was the 4 course menu designed with the wines in mind. The Loft "experience" (downstairs reception, choices and appetisers then upstairs for your meal) is always a treat, pricey (but quality, so you don't mind), with easily the best wine list for miles around. As I said, The Bull as a whole is a great asset for the region, and long may it continue to be so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    101
    35
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice, old fashioned pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good guest beers [local from Llandudno, Great Orme Bitter]. Lots of nic-nacs lying around, friendly service, plenty of atmosphere. Very nice for a drink or two. There is a substantial restaurant, but we did not eat in there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Loft - Exquisite Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having just read the review by '123estelle' I could save myself a lot of effort and just say 'Ditto'.We were obviously in the restaurant on the same evening.

Having stayed at the 'Olde Bull' a few years ago, and eaten in 'The Loft restaurant' prevously our expectations were high. We were joined by family and friends. The canapes served in the lounge prior to going into the restaurant upstairs were delicious. The meal was excellent and the restaurtant decor and table settings are delightful. I guess small and intimate would be a good description. Each course looked like a work of art on the plate, most definately a fine dining experience. For those who want their food piled high this is not the place to choose.
My father in law from London said it is one of the best meals he had ever had, and he eats out a lot in London. All of the staff were excellent and we will be returning on our next trip to Angelsey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The Loft - exquisite food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Loft Restaurant and are looking forward to going back again in the near future.

We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and shown into the lovely lounge where there were numerous comfortable chairs and various newspapers. We ordered drinks and were provided with complimentary canapes - delicious! There were salmon profiteroles, chorizo fritters, cheese straws and chilli nuts. The chorizo fritters were particularly good.

After a short while, we were given the menu and the choices were all excellent. It was a tough decision to pick! Our order was taken in the lounge. Shortly afterwards, we were shown up the stairs into the loft restaurant. The room itself is fairly small and fairly formal, with silverware and white tablecloths. We were there early on in the week and the restaurant was about 1/3 full.

After a short while, we were provided with an amuse bouche - a tomato soup in a little cup and saucer with flakes of fish and peas in it. This was nice. The starter that we ordered was also good - lobster with a sea bass salad. The main courses were absolutely fantastic. We ordered one lamb and one pork. Both were delicious. The meats were tender and well cooked. The purees were rich and full of flavour. The potatoes that came with the lamb were fabulous. The meal was accompanied by a choice of fresh, homebaked bread, which was to die for. We had one brioche and one wholemeal piece. Inbetween the mains and puddings, we were treated to another amuse bouche - coffee ice cream. It was delightful. Our puddings were also terrific. We ordered a cherry summer pudding and chocolate cheesecake. The little extras (amuse bouches, bread and canapes) were such a great touch. The food was so tasty that every mouthful was savoured!

Expect delicate looking food with incredibly powerful flavours. Expect to be wowed by the art on the plate. Expect to be treated incredibly well by the friendly, polite waiters and waitresses.

A few extra points to note:
The wine is lovely and there is a good wine list.
This place is pricey. We paid £100 with only 1 person drinking and only 1 starter.
The menu says that it's 3 courses for £45. When we asked whether we had to order 3 courses, we were told we could order a minimum of 2.
When I phoned to book, I didn't realise there were 2 restaurants in the building with the Loft being the more exclusive one. The lady that I spoke to took my booking, but didn't ask which restaurant I was interested in and assumed it was the more expensive one. It was only when we turned up that we realised, but as we were on holiday, were quite prepared to have a treat so it wasn't a problem.

Best points:
Intense flavours and quality in the food
complimentary extras and the quality of them
Friendly and respectful staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great room, tasty breakfast, noisy seagulls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Townhouse annex and found the room very modern and well equipped including air conditioning. The bed was comfy and the bath huge. Although we were on the ground floor I would not recommend our room to anyone with a disability beacuse of the height of the bath! The bathroom was behind a frosted glass feature wall which was very attractive but didn't do much to muffle the sounds of anyone using the bathroom. That is my only quibble. The breakfast was fresh and well served and the bar stocks a good range of beers for the husband. BUT Beaumaris is by the seaside so don't expect a perfect nights sleep with seagulls making a racket in the night and early in the morning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Old Bulls Head Inn also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Ye Old Bulls Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Old Bulls Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.