We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great Golden Wedding celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Beaumaris
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thanks for a great Golden Wedding celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were staying at Henllys HPB site but had our two celebration lunches at the Bishopgate hotel. It was excellent, the food was superb with a very good selection on all courses and they were very willing to cater for special requirements. The staff couldn't have been more helpful
nothing was too much trouble. All our guests were made to feel very welcome on both occasions. Hazel Johnson Oliver heads up an amazing team of people all of whom contributed to a wonderful occasion spanning an age range from 15 - 85yrs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    52
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
133
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely night's stay at Bishopsgate. The location is fantastic, right on the main street, yet surprisingly there were no issues with noise. We stayed in a small room under the eaves (we were offered a swap for a larger twin, but stuck with the double) which although compact was very quaint and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and had one of the best night's sleep I have had at a hotel- the complimentary water and range of hot drinks in the room was a nice touch too. We dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious and good value at £22 each for a three course meal- all very impressive- especially the parsnip soup. As other reviews have stated the staff (esp Hazel) were extremely attentive and welcoming- we will definitely return when the weather is a bit nicer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islay
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Townhouse hotel in centre of beautiful Beaumaris. Quirky small rooms are old fashioned and suffer a bit from the usual bathroom-squeezed-into-the-corner syndrome but that's OK. Staff were truly helpful. Nice snug bar with good whiskies and bottled Welsh beer although no draught real ale. Classy restaurant is way above average. I had slightly clunky crab parcel followed by a very very good local grey mullet and sea bass combo as main. My party enjoyed Welsh lamb and duck and monkfish, only one of us made the mistake of ordering the rather bland sausages. Excellent winelist with some surprises including a Cloudy Bay Chardonnay. Breakfast a bit disappointing after that, it was just OK with Kellogs cereals and sliced bread not really in the same league as dinner. Overall excellent value for money and would certainly return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We first stayed there just before Valentines day in feb 2012 as a romantic weekend away for myself and my hubby. We stayed in room 6 and WOW!!! it is so gorgeous. We did not eat in the hotel due to my hubbies fussy eating habits, but it wasn't until our last night did we find out that the hotel is willing to put itself out and cook to request for guests.

We chose Beaumaris as it is an hour up the coast from us and was easy to get away after finishing work on the Friday. After going out for a meal for which we walked the grand total of 5 or so steps as it was right next door at the Liverpool arms, we came back and I enjoyed having a glass of wine in the sitting room in front of the fire. We met a lovely couple who were staying there with their dog and whilst we did not miss the kids too much.... we did miss the dog and decided there and then to come back for my 40th birthday weekend with our bobster.

So we went back last weekend and booked dinner bed and breakfast for both nights. The first night we sat in the bar with bob at our feet and enjoyed a 1st class meal. Absolutely delicious.. My hubby (the fussy one) had a beautiful mixed grill, complete with fillet steak for his main. I will add that usually i taste the food and then tip on the salt as its never seasoned enough... BUT!! the food was perfectly seasoned that I left the salt alone which amazed the hubby (The food really was that fantastic) The 2nd night we wanted more of a romantic night so we left Bobster in the room (which was room 2, smaller than room 6, not as grand but still beautiful, perfect for us and with a fantastic view from the window)

The staff make this hotel an amazing place to be, they put themselves out for you and they are sincere where friendliness comes into it. Bobster loved his walks, the hotel cat (The size of a small dog) would love to sit there and make eyes at Bob (which I think terrified him). The early morning walks along Beaumaris front are a must. The views are to die for (see pics) and you never ever get sick of scanning the view and taking it all in.

We have found us our little place of escape and we will definitely be back... I think Bobster will have to come with us again as he has done nothing but sulk since we got back.

A big massive thank you to all the staff at Bishopsgate House Hotel .... those in the front line and those in the back ground (The chef, kitchen staff etc)

Jane and Gary Lewis

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have enjoyed its hospitality and warmth since the early1990s Itsrelaxed atmosphere and attention to detail are of particular note.The restaurants varied menu on each visit boasts dishes of the highest standard,including Local delicacies and the selection of vegetables are a delight to the eye and pallate.-and I am looking forward to my next visit
Andrew Bax

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We are a new couple, we wanted to get away for a week-end to relax, explore and spend some real time together. We experienced Bishopsgate to be an amazingly friendly hotel that ticked all the boxes. Food was outstanding, service was always with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was light and airy and the 4 poster bed very comfortable indeed. The restaurant whilst busy, was intimate with excellent table service. We both had very different meals, both cooked to perfection, with the sauces and flavours memorable. The chef provided soup in our flask for during the day, which were mouth watering. We will be returning again, it is a perfect get away for us, providing excellent value for money uniquely blending the classier experience with the touches of home. We have found a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster bed. We were on the front and not troubled by noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

After a recent family bereavement this was just what the doctor ordered. A beautiful hotel to match the stunning scenery.
After a long drive it was lovely to be greeted by very pleasent, helpful and well presented staff. The hotel room itself was also lovely we had fresh flowers and new magazines placed on the side tables.The real winner of the trip was the Jacuzzi bathtub, hope they do not mind the extra water bills from the weekend :)
On the first night we stayed in the hotel for our meal and we both made an effort to have something different as we usually always eat the same thing. We both ended up having the Duck which was cooked to perfection, compliments to the Chef.
As we have never visited Angelsey before we knew little places to visit but Hazel, who I believe to be the proprietor, was more than helpful even recommending other places to visit to have dinner which i thought was really nice. Its refreshing to know that they actually care about you having a good holiday and do not just see pound signs when you walk through the door
We will make a consious effort to vist again later in the year, next time we will be taking our dogs as the Hotel is also dog friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a Jacuzzi bathtub! Its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian Town House Hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.