We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Very enjoyable 3-day break over New Year at this charming hotel. Owner Hazel and her staff work tirelessly to make every guest's stay memorable. The food was superb, and the housekeeping impeccable and unobtrusive. We'll certrainly be back !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    61
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
55
148
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just got back from another lovely New Year break at this small family run hotel. Lovely food, as always, fireworks over the castle walls @ midnight with a friendly crowd of people. Beaumaris is a lovely town and The Bishopsgate is it's jewel. Only hope that in writing a review it does not mean that I will not get availability when I next want to return as it is full!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very different so best to talk to staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us so thought we'd have a look whilst in the area. We were greeted by such friendly staff. The rooms were spot on with extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast was really tasty and we looked forward to it each morning. We ate in the restaurant were the food was to very high standards and some of the best I've had. Would definately recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin traveler
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our room was not overly big, but it was very comfortable. We loved sitting in the front, guest only, pub in the evening sipping on a cold one. The breakfast was very tasty. The hotels resident cat, Polly, made my wife's day. I've never seen a cat that acts more like a dog in my life. She followed us and just climbed up and sat cuddling. I don't care for cats, but Polly was really something different. We enjoyed the special treat of a small decanter of port in our room. You don't see that everyday. My only negative for this hotel was the lack on internet service in our room. I had perfect reception sitting in the front of the hotel, but only 15 feet away, just above the modem, but behind thick walls, no service. Not a big problem though, sitting downstairs was nice in such a homey place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I frequently need to stay overnight on the Island and I tried a number of hotels before settling on the Bishopsgate. I've found this hotel to be high standard and excellent value for money with the beds in particular very comfortable. The food is excellent and Hazel and her staff are very accommodating with my dietary requirements.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A very ordinary hotel. There is better value elsewhere. Beware the so called special deals that work out more expensive than their standard rates. Menu is very limited and uninspiring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend away at the Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant. in Beaumaris. We are always on the look out for a good place to stay that welcomes our little dog as much as us, and from the moment we spoke to Hazel over the phone to arrange the room to the moment we left on Sunday, Megan was fussed over and allowed to enjoy her stay as much as we did. Not all the rooms are dog friendly though, so anyone with an allergy would be fine as long as they mention this before booking. The Hotel itself has a lovely unusual and homely feeling. Lots of interesting antiques, warm and cozy, it was the perfect place for us to stay on a November day. I must give extra stars for the outstanding customer service we received from Hazel, to the bar and restaurant staff, who were all friendly and very professional. We managed to 'lose' an enormous box of dog biscuits between the car park and the hotel (which is only behind) and Hazel immediately went into the kitchen and gave us more than enough dog biscuits for our stay. We found the beds comfortable (perhaps a little soft for me, but only a small thing) the shower in the room good, hot and strong, plenty of in room coffee, tea, hot chocolate and horlicks with lovely biscuits. The carpark was right behind the hotel, very easy to find and free which is always a massive bonus. A little tight if you have a large car, but we don't, so it wasn't a problem at all. We ate in the bar in the evening, and because the hotel is so pet friendly, megan was allowed to sit with us. We enjoyed restaurant quality food (the same as in the restaurant, not bar food) - again a big bonus when you have a dog with you, as it is so rare to be able to combine both. Had we wanted to eat in the restaurant, we could have left Megan in the room whilst we did this, which for a special occasion would be just lovely as the restaurant itself looked really good. However, our meal in the bar was fabulous and we were treated just as well, by Hazel and her very very good staff. A good nights sleep, an excellent breakfast (accompanied by Pollyanna the cat, who wanted to make sure we were aware that she lived here too), and an 11am checkout which is quite unheard of usually. We will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly, others are not. Make sure you mention when booking. The hotel restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian Town House Hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.