We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it, you won't be disappointed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaumaris Castle

Beaumaris Castle
Castle Street, Beaumaris | LL58 8AP, Beaumaris, Wales
+44 1248 810361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Beaumaris
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A World Heritage Site, Beaumaris Castle has a perfect concentric design, is surrounded by a water moat, and has stunning views over the Menai straits and Snowdonia mountain range.
West Midalnds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try it, you won't be disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautifully maintainted, nothing tacky or touristy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    160
    50
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Amazing construction in terms of defence - very impressive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend part of your day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was well pleased with this castle, we had not originally planned to visit it when I planned the trip to wales but on a fluke and with no past research we decided to head for it. We typed it into the sat nav and headed off, we parked over by the library and walked to the castle. Though I would record parking down by the bay so you don't have to move the car
Ike we did because parking was limited to two hours. I was very impressed it still had its wet moat the only one I saw in my visit to 4 different castle in northern wales. It had lots of walls you could walk up and towers to explore overall it was a great day out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“wear walking shoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beaumaris castle is unfinished, but the design is complex yet symmetrical, it has everything a good castle should have and more. wet moat, dry moat, inner walls outer walls numerous turrets and multiple levels.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“More than a series of small walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

With some 'castles' you only get a limited sense of how it might have been, but even tho this castle was never finished, it is pretty magnificent.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaumaris Castle also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Beaumaris Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaumaris Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.