We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so good.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Cafe and Bistro

Pier House Cafe and Bistro
The Seafront, Beaumaris LL58 8BS, Wales
01248 811055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Beaumaris
Cuisines: Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“So far so good.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the Pier House for a while, as part of my search for the next best place in Beaumaris for coffee and a light lunch following the closing down of my previously favourite establishment.
Décor and furnishings good, tables clean, friendly staff - so far so good. Cappuccino ok, standard UK "milky coffee & chocolatey foam", but not scorching hot which is good, and tasty coffee flavour, though I did have an extra shot - would have been weedy without. Nice decaf cafetiere & hot chocolate also, not overpriced either. On the strength of this I will peruse their board of fare, and dine there shortly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    127
    48
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view - nice touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We only came for a glass of wine one evening and sat outside but it was lovely, the staff were quick and friendly. They provide blankets outside for you to use to keep warm - really nice touch. We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent choice of food,beautifully cooked and presented.Effecient service with a smile.
Heartily recommend.We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not a place for a quick bite to eat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Beaumaris for the boat trip to Puffin Island. We arrived at the kiosk by the pier just before 1pm and booked our trip. We then had a choice of the Bulkeley Hotel or the Pier House Bistro for lunch in the hour and a quarter before we had to get on the boat - unfortunately we chose the latter!
The service was pretty slow to start with, although having given our order the drinks arrived pretty quickly; however that was the end of the good news! We only ordered three sandwiches, and thought that with an hour and a quarter before we had to get on the boat we would have plenty of time - instead we only just made it!
Not content with taking nearly an hour to do three sandwiches, when they arrived the "salad garnish and crisps" as per the menu description were woeful - there were so few crisps I would not be surprised if they get 12 servings from a 30g bag of Walkers and the salad leaves were so small it was impossible to identify what they actually were (and as for exotic salad items like cucumber or tomato well forget it!). These only arrived after three separate requests to different members of staff for an update on how long our order would be - necessary as the staff to whom the first two requests were made were distracted and forgot they were dealing with a query from us. The final straw was that one of the sandwich orders was wrong when it arrived and had to be sent back to be corrected!
The only blessing from this debacle was that the manager readily deleted the incorrect order from our bill when made aware of the above catalogue of errors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location opposite the pier. We sat outside with our dog, but they are allowed inside! We had ciabatta sandwiches which were very good. Seemed very popular when we were there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier House Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Pier House Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.