We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable and truly dog friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penrhyd, Amlwch LL68 9TF, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
One night stay £69.50
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable and truly dog friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned home from a two night break at the Lastra. From the minute we arrived we knew we were in for a treat. We were shown to room 1 in the main building which was very spacious, immaculately clean and set up with dog bowls and treats for our little Parsons Terrier. The bar in the evening was comfortable, very friendly and providing a great range of drinks to cater for all tastes whilst the restaurant provided an excellent range of food complemented by very efficient and friendly service. After dinner on both nights we were allowed to take our little puppy down to the bar area allowing us to socialise with fellow guests, properly dog friendly. Breakfasts were outstanding and served on lovely big tables which could easily cope with the plethora of jugs, cups, plates and pots necessary for a hearty start to the day and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was superb. One lovely touch each morning was a doggy take away of sausage for our little puppy. We cannot thank the staff enough for their warmth and friendliness headed by Elaine who sets the finest example of how to make guests feel at home; if only we could remember the name of the woman who served us breakfast each morning, nothing was too much trouble for her and she was ever cheerful. We will definitely return to the Lastra and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
142
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although travelling alone, I was allocated a good size double room in the main part of the hotel with tasteful furniture and a more than adequate sitting area with a large screen television. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The hosts Adrian and Elaine and waiting staff were very friendly and the food delicious. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a touring holiday we were looking for somewhere to stay when we found the signs for Lastra Farm Hotel. Described as a restaurant with rooms, it has a 4 star rating.
We stayed in Room 6, a small double with en-suite facilities. The room was nicely decorated & the hospitality tray generously stocked. Not being fond of UHT milk, we found the fresh milk in a small fridge on the corridor a nice touch.
We had a very pleasant dinner in the conservatory, the bread, deep fried Brie with pear & cranberry chutney & the cold meat salad were all excellent.
Breakfast too was most enjoyable, the wide tables accommodated the tea & coffee pots, jams etc. with ease and it was good to see the jams in full size pots with spoons to help yourself. The granary toast was delicious & the cooked breakfast set us up for the day.
We were glad to have happened upon this hotel and would give it 5 stars for hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a KGB bed and breakfast 2 night deal. Breakfast was superb with local produce used. We had our evening meal both nights at the hotel and the food is excellent. Service was customer friendly and Elaine was a super host. We didn't meet Adrian. We stayed in the Gatehouse and whilst it is a small walk away along the road from the main hotel it is lovely and quiet with a small private garden that you share with the guests from the other two rooms. The location is not within walking distance of the village of Amlwch but that was not a problem it is a five minute drive away. Anglesey has lots to see and driving is pleasant to all of the fabulous beaches. A great place to visit especially Red Wharf Bay. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed prior to our Ireland trip. Lovely room in the Gatehouse, very quiet and large and comfortable. Ate in the restaurant excellent dinner, fantastic quality local food. Breakfast was also excellent setting us up for the Ireland trip. Would highly recommend and will stay again when in Angelsey.

Room Tip: Gatehouse is 200 yards from main building but lovely large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lastra farm. We are delighted with your feedback and pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, dinner and breakfast. We hope you had a wonderful holiday in Ireland. Look forward to welcoming you back to Anglesey on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a two night KGB break at the Lastra Farm Hotel. We stayed in room 8 which was large and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the meals were great, the service was friendly and efficient, the gooseberry fool was to die for and the breakfasts were excellent. Thanks to Adrian for the rhubarb which we used to make our own fool following his recipe, which turned out great. We would definitely stay again next time we visit Anglesey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your break at Lastra farm, we are so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed Anglesey and our hotel. I am so glad that my Rhubarb fool recipe worked out for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a two night break at the Lastra Farm Hotel. The room was good and clean. We ate both nights in the restaurant. The meals were great and the service was friendly and efficient.
Breakfasts were excellent. Adrian and Elaine worked hard to make the stay really enjoyable. We had Dolly, our Cockerpoo, staying and she was welcomed too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lastra_9, Owner at Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lastra farm. We are delighted with your feedback and pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, dinner and breakfast. I hope Dolly enjoyed all the walks here in Anglesey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Penrhyd, Amlwch LL68 9TF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly commended hotel is an excellent base for the business traveller or those well earned Holidays or Short breaks. Our restaurant is one of the finest in the area with a reputation of only serving the freshest of ingredients to create truly memorable meals. The Hotel caters for receptions, banquets and conferences in its Parys suite, which boasts a beautiful Victorian Conservatory reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lastra Farm Hotel And Restaurant
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant Amlwch, Wales - Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.