We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break - Maximum Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trecastell Hotel to your Saves list
Trecastell Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mini Break - Maximum Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself, my girlfriend and our 2 year old boy stayed here on the 19th July for one night and you couldn't get a better welcome or level of service. We bought an evening meal which was delicious and breakfast was included which was also delicious. The owner (Gill) even gave our son a glass of milk before bed, at no charge, which we thought was very nice. At breakfast she presented him with a bucket and spade for the beach, as a little gift. Highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Anglesey and it is right on the seafront at Bull Bay. Will be going back for longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Very happy you enjoyed you break and one night is nowhere near long enough to enjoy the area and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide and even as busy as we are we try to maintain the high standards we train our staff to keep to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just had a wonderful weekend at The Trecastell Hotel. The meals are sublime and the new head chef has introduced a specials menu (which changes daily) and the choice is wonderful.

We were lucky enough to secure room 14 which has a super kingsized bed, lovely decor and breathtaking views.

Gill and her team made us feel so welcome and the service was second to none.

We're already planning a return visit would recommend The Trecastell to anyone who wants a warm welcome amid gorgeous, tranquil surroundings.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a sea view. Most rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and Ben has worked really hard to ensure that the specials are changed on a daily basis to keep the menus fresh and vibrant.
We are pleased that you like what we have done with the rooms and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

W!!e have been to this hotel before and found it to be quite pleasant, but our last visit was nothing short of awful!! we arrived at around 6.30pm on a Saturday evening, we could see that there were a few more people than usual in, but we carried on. When we entered I asked the young man if there was anywhere we could sit, he said "not really, we only have space on the decking".There was a party of 12 dining and one or two others, although there was plenty of space inside the hotel on settees etc. we were not offered this option, it was as if he was saying that he had enough work to do without any more mither so we sat outside; it had been a beautiful day but up on the decking the wind was blowing and it was quite cool with hair blowing in the face etc, A really pleasant young lady brought our food to the table and I must say she was very helpful, but even she said it was cold. The meal was quite acceptable but we had to go inside quite quickly to gather our things together; whilst we were preparing to leave, we could hear a lot of foul language being shouted in the kitchen.....this put the "tin hat" on it...I did mention it to a member of staff, he mumbled that he would"tell them"... An experience best forgotten I think.

Room Tip: Avoid when more than 8 cars parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Very sorry that we were not able to seat you in the conservatory as you requested and ended up eating outside but all the tables were booked for the evening and we won't rush anybody through there meal. When you book any table here after 7.30pm the table is yours for the evening.
We hope to see you again if you would give us another chance but please book first as we are full most nights.
As for the language coming from the kitchen, this has been dealt with by us and will not be happening again.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had lunch here...saw it while driving past and was pleased we stopped here. Food was reasonably priced and well presented. If you're in the area it's worth a visit. We ate outside on the terrace overlooking the sea...absolutely beautiful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you and the decking area with the views is a lovely place to eat and enjoy good food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to take friends for a run out and ended up in Bull Bay.
We spotted this hotel and the menu was very appealing
All our food was excellent and presented beautifully. I had the vegetarian lasagne and it was the best I've ever had
The prices were very good too

There is a transition at the moment with new management taking over but the service was still good although there was a lot of dishes not available from the menu
Worth a trip here though and the views were stunning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Really sorry that the full menu wasn't available but we were in the process of changing the menu to freshen it up. We want the dining experience to be as special as possible and look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned after being lucky enough to stay here for a week. On our first night we were upgraded to room 14 .... Wow the room was beautiful, spacious, clean with tea coffee and biscuits provided and amazing views from all the windows. The breakfasts were very good and the meals in the restaurant were delicious. Gill is a wonderful host so friendly and helpful and obviously loves her work. Her staff and friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. If you want a truly relaxing place to stay then this is it we will definately be coming back .

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with sea view we had 14 amazing views so comfortable or no.5 room identi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments.
We have tried to brighten up the rooms since our arrival and rooms 5 & 14 are as you rightly comment spacious with stunning views.
Worth asking for when booking again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned after a night in the hotel for my husbands birthday. Can't wait to go back! Lovely big room with sea view, tea & coffee etc. had a very good meal in the restaurant and drinks outside on the decking. Gill and her staff are friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and the breakfast very good. We live about fifty miles away so intend to visit a lot!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Really pleased that we were able to make your special occasion so memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Amlwch, Wales - Island Of Anglesey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trecastell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.