We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Spent 2 nights in the Golden Fleece with 2 friends. We all had double rooms for single occupancy at £39 per night. All rooms cosy, en suite and well appointed.

Excellent quality, but quite pricey food available in the pub although some confusion lies between the Bistro and pub menus We ordered from both menus not understanding they were separate businesses, but it was not a problem and all meals arrived at the same time. Not sure if the same would happen if the Bistro was busy.

Breakfast good and cooked to order. Free wi-fi in the pub and bedrooms, and free parking outside the hotel.

Tremadog is 10 minutes walk from Porthmadog town centre, and the Golden Fleece 15 mins walk to Porthmadog Harbour station for the Welsh Highland and Festiniog Railways.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
90
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I stayed here whilst visiting Portmeirion. The attraction of 'bed, food, music and good beer' all under one cover encouraged us to stay. I had read the tripadvisor comments prior to leaving for The Golden Fleece, some very cutting, obviously prior to the room refurbishment. The rooms are modern ( see the website, the pictures are accurate!), with ipod dock, flat screen TV, good hospitality tray and very comfy beds! The noise level was zero, ensuring a good nights sleep.It was clean, although the shower cubical could have done with a better scrub!
The pub is great! A proper old pub serving great beer and delicious homemade food ( the veg lasagne and steak pies brilliant and served with homemade chips), if you are lucky you will witness some local folkies playing the banjo, acordian and guitars in the corner, adding to the ambiance. Breakfast was fine, cereals and a good fry up! The staff were all friendly and helpful. I can only imagine that this place is on the up as its such a gem! Try it you will like it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Golden Fleece, the staff are friendly and the owner Stuart was keen to make our stay comfortable.

We were lucky to enjoy a nicely cooked steak and then listen to some live acoustic music in the bar.. the bar itself is cosy with a good atmosphere. The pub has been extended out to now house a pizzeria which we didn't go into.

Really nice stay, clean room, decent breakfast (although some orange juice would of been nice) and good location to explore Snowdownia.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Paid for this place in advance which was a major mistake. When we arrived we could not gain entry and so my husband went around the back where he saw someone inside looking out the window at him! When he eventually answered the door my husband said that we were booked in there for 2 nights: The worker there said `Are you? don`t think we`ve got you down` My husband explained that they better had as we`d paid £125! Eventually let in. What an absolute disgrace : We were in a 3 bedded room which over looked some flattish roof with air con or some sort of machineryon it. 2 plastic chirs in the room, stained carpet, uncleaned shower tray (Long hair in it) towel rail hanging off the wall. The bottom of the bed was torn and hanging off, wall paper hanging off the walls, stained (Brown) ceiling which looked like rain stains or something. The quality of the furnishig was very very bad. Outside the room the small landing was dark, dirty and grotty; there was rubbish on a shelf some off which was and old plastic toilet brush set which was the last straw for me so despite having paid £125 we left after 1 hour and found somewhere else to stay. It was a very expensive experience for us having to pay for somewhere else but after travelling 4 1/2 hours we wanted to rest in a clean, pleasant environment not this filthy, disgusting excuse for a B&B. It wants shutting down...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
If you were not satisfied with your accommodation you should have spoke to a member of staff or management who would have been more than happy to refund you your money in full or offer you alternatve accommodation.
I would suggest it strange that you have not complained to any one about this befor leaving having paid £125.
If things were that bad and I had been in your situation i most definatly would complain to the manager and insist on a refund or alternative accommodation.
This would be the ordinary and sensible route for any one wishing to make a complaint.

We have NEVER had plastic chairs in room 3 they were and are infact Italian leather chairs imported by ourseves.

We are currently operateating at an average occupancy of 73-75% and this looks set to rise in June. This is a very respectable ocupancy rate even for large hotel operators, and we do not acheive these figures by offering the standard of accommodation which you have outlined.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Near Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

A Small and old Inn consisting of 3 bedrooms above the bar and restaurant.

Rooms are all clean and although old in good condition.

There always seemed to be plenty of hot water and the food served downstairs is of an excellent quality.

Every Tuesday there is live music in the bar which I was worried about as I had to go to work the next day, but it finished early and was not disturbing to me in my room at all.

Breakfast is a bit limited in choice and is served a bit late for me 8:30-9:00am but was of good quality and was fresh.

I am defiantly going to stay in this Inn again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — lack of breakfast times.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Many thanks for your review we have now extended our breakfasst times from 8am untill 9:30am and there is now an improved breakfast menu offering plenty of choice.
Rooms have all been redecorated since your visit and indeed are set for more refurbishment later on in the year.
All comments are take on board in a bid to improve our service.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.