We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still up among the better Inns in the area, but if we go in as a couple, we want to eat together.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Bala, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still up among the better Inns in the area, but if we go in as a couple, we want to eat together.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Travelling back home after the Anglesea show, called in for a meal as we have always been very pleased with quality, service and price. No real change this time, except for the lamb steak (on specials menu) which came with 2 large discs of frozen solid garlic butter (which had not thawed much by the end of themeal) placed ontop of grilled mushrooms ontop of the steak. Very nice, but they acted like ice block's and chilled the whole meal in minutes. We could have asked for it to be taken back to the kitchen. That is fine but it then results in us eating our meals at diffent times, they never take both meals back and re-serve both.

Room Tip: Only used for food,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I glad you normally enjoy your dining experiences at the fleece but I'm disappointed that the very first time your not happy with a meal you decide to write a tripadvisor review about that and and yet you haven't bothered to write a review on all the other occasions you state that you have visited and been "very pleased with quality".
This is the trouble with review sites like this unfortunately people use them far more to complain about places than they ever do to compliment some where and your review illustrates this perfectly.

Now our butter is never frozen and our chef who makes the herb butter would be horrified to hear you suggesting such a thing.
I can accept that the heat from a mushroom wouldn't go far towards melting a lump of real butter thats been refrigerated and I have passed this comment on to our chef at the time of your review and the way in which it is now served has been altered.
If you had of asked us to take both meals back and re serve them we would have done so with pleasure. Our aim is obviously for all our customers to enjoy their experience and we hope you enjoy your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
19
80
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ate here a couple of times and the food was excellent on both occasions. however the package was let down by a couple of things.
Firstly the "temporary gents toilet" near the restaurant was at times dirty and the floor was wet with what I can only assume wasn't water.
Secondly on 3 occasions the real ale served was not up to at all good, warmer than I would have expected and was so flat it was undrinkable.
The restaurant at the back lacks atmosphere on the occasion we used it and the waiting staff could only be described as doing their job no more.
However the quality of the food as stated was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your review. I do apologise you didn't feel the real ale was up to standard, had you have brought this to our attention we would have replaced your drinks immediately.

The gents toilets are in the middle of a refurbishment and the water you refer to was probably water from when we wash the toilet room out in the morning. As you will have noticed the floor is low where the water collects and hence it doesn't dry out completely, although this will not be a problem after the refurbishment is complete.

I don't personally think the restaurant lacks atmosphere in fact I think it has a lovely feel to it but that is perhaps down to personal taste and also dependant on how busy it is, however I am pleased you enjoyed your meals and I do hope you return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for I night on route to a birthday party in Abersoch , the bedroom, room No 5 was fine clean fresh modern although 2 larges armchairs made access to the wardrobe should you wish to use it very difficult, and the room a bit cluttered, a second bedside light would be a good addition should you both wish to read in bed.
The bathroom was very disappointing and certainly needs a refurbishment, the shower was very mouldy, the fan and strip light over the sink neither worked and the threshold between the bathroom and bedroom was cracked and had some nasty sharp edges.
Breakfast was ok although the pleasant lad serving could be a bit smarter dressed !
We did not eat in the bistro instead went to the restaurant next door which was very disaponting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. First of all please let me apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I have been u and inspected the room since this review and alterations and maintenance have been carried out.
I will be carrying out uniform checks on staff in the coming weeks which will ensure they are looking sharp.
We hope if you choose to stay with us again you may try our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Last minute booking at The Golden Fleece hotel the birth place of Lawrence of Arabia. Nostalgic hotel. Food excellent staff friendly room fresh and clean. This location was only a mile away from the main town Porthdog

Room Tip: We try and get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for what is a very nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Finding good well cooked food at reasonable prices is not that easy in the Porthmadog area, but the Golden Fleece is one of them. They do good well cooked pub food and a little bit more. Also excellent pizzas. Eating in either the pub or the restaurant they are both excellent, the satff friendly and helpful and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments all of which are positive so I'm unsure why you only scored us 3?
We hope to see you again and maybe I can ensure you have a 5 star experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high peak, england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Came across this place by accident, and we were presently surprised. A warm welcome from the young barman put us right at ease. We ate off the 3 course Sunday menu £15.95 fantastic value & portion size was huge. The vegetarian choice wasn't to my liking but on talking to the staff I was told that all food is freshly prepared and that the chef would be able to cook the dish without the mushrooms. Overall we were both presently surprised and will be returing next time we are back at greenacres.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for all your positive comments. We look forwards to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just Called in for a drink to find ale prices very high and barman wanted a £1.00 for the code to connect Wi-Fi. this is the first time I've ever been asked for a charge shame on you, certainly got the right name 'Fleece'. 99.99% of pubs give this as a free service. even top Hotels. 'PEENY PINCHERS'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Gosh I think I know who the real penny pincher is, our wifi costs just £1 for 5hrs! hardly an exorbitant price.
Our wifi system is state of the art maintaining high levels of security for our customers and making sure we comply with all current legislation.
To many pubs just have a wireless router and give out their password to any one, this is both illegal and dangerous for the land lord if something goes wrong.
We have a selection of real ales and prices vary.
We are not the cheapest pub in the area and nor do we wish to be, however we feel we offer our customers a beautifully maintained building, quality produce and service. If it's not for you I do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.