We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Lovely Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Golden Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Fleece Inn
Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We ate here last Thursday and just "Loved" the whole experience....We had a lovely welcome and the dining room is very spacious. The food was a step up from "Bar Food" ...but reasonably priced. I had the potted Duck to start with which was expertly made. The main dish was a steak and ale pie, which is the best I have eaten in a very long time, served with new potatoes and fresh vegetables. Very friendly and happy servers made the whole experience very memorable....Good Luck to the team here on their new additional venture across the square!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
90
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were staying in nearby Porthmadog and had searched Tripadvisor beforehand for recommendations of good places to eat. We ventured to the Golden Fleece for lunch on Saturday afternoon. Tremadog is a small village but really has a fantastic pub in The Golden Fleece, it was quite busy when we popped in but we managed to get a table. The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. I chose some soup for my lunch and when it was arrived it was freshly made and very tasty, my husband opted for the lamb burger and if I am honest wished I had ordered that as the bite I had was really good. My son ordered a pizza and I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived as it was freshly made - even the dough - my son finished it all and said it was very good. The pub also has a more formal dining area that is open in the evening and if we happen to be in the area again would definitely eat there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your food and the whole experience. We look forwards to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night last year and had a brilliant time. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the atmosphere was fab and the staff were lovely! We spent most of our night enjoying the atmosphere of the pub so we were really pleased when the team were kind enough to let us check out a little later! Thanks for a great stay Steve and Stuart!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a gigging musician I am used to playing in, let's say, "an assortment" of venues, and each time I am booked I often have to prepare myself for some surprises. So, when booked to play at the Golden Fleece a few years back I did not know what to expect. I can honestly say (and I do say it often) this is the best pub in the world.

Acccommodation

As well as playing to the wonderful locals and friendly travellers, I had the oppportunity to stay in the B&B upstairs. I have now, after the first initial gig here, stayed at the Fleece quite a few times and so have slept in almost all of the rooms. Each room is superb - chic, comfortable and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. The vies from the front of the B&B are incredible and accommodation is cosy. I was delighted to find an iron, mini ironing board and hairdryer in the room too.

Dining

I am a vegan and the owners Steve and Stuart always make an effort to make sure I have a great meal. Stuffed peppers with chips and salad is a favourite. Anyone who has ever travelled with me to the Fleece has always said how amazing the food is.

To the rear of the inn is a contemporary dining area where larger groups can eat.


Ambience

A large open fire crackles in the centre of the pub which is beautifully designed with comfortable seating in inviting nooks and crannies. The staff are friendly and you cant go wrong with the Welsh accent and of course the language itself which everyone speaks here ( as well as English of course).

The Area
This is definitely a place for hikers or those who love the great outdoors. The inn is in the square which also features other restaurants and pubs and a local shop. You are also not too far from other picturesque towns

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the inn to make the most of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you to one of the best singers / musicians I have ever had the pleasure to know! We look forwards to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent serves and very friendly and attentive staff. Food fantastic, superb quality. Can recommend a visit and I will certainly be going back!!:) Traditional cosy pub atmosphere and fantastic restaurant area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Fabulous so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us!
We look forwards to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff we encountered at the Golden Fleece were pleasant and the location good. However we don't think that the inn is four star. Our room was above the snug so we could hear the noise from downstairs which meant we couldn't get any sleep until the bar emptied which on our second night was not until after 12pm. That coupled with the very large cleaning truck that turned up at 7am both mornings meant we couldn't even have a lie in. We did ask to move to a quieter room but were told nothing was available. I also requested some feather pillows instead of the very cheap ones on the bed but we ended up with two more cheap pillows to go with the four we already had! Another problem was the very small bathroom which could only be used one at a time. Overall I think the accommodation is basic and not four star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Im glad you found all our staff helpful and polite.

I can assure you that our inn is 4 star we have been accredited this by visit wales however I think you may be confusing the rating system for Inn's and hotels as bing the same?

Most of our customers appreciate that when they are staying in a pub there will be some noise form the bar (although most people don't find it a problem as its not to loud, please see other reviews), I presume this is something you hadn't thought about when booking?
We do actually have rooms in the house next door where obviously there is no pub noise, if you do decide to book with us again ask for a room in this building, there are 3 rooms there and a fabulous suite!
Something which I have taken from you review is that I will be specifying the location of each room on our website shortly so customers like you self who do not want to hear any pub noise can choose to request rooms in the adjoining building.
The council road sweeper is not something I can control but I do apologise for it disturbing your lie in.
I apologise that you didn't like the pillows this is something we were about to change in fact over the last week I have been trailing an impressive new bedding product range for our accommodation.
We will shortly be replacing all our duvets with luxury natural wool duvets and pillows which ironically use the organic wool from one of our meat suppliers.

The whole bedding set (pillows, duvet and topper) is made by a local company using local wool which fits in nicely with our ethic of sourcing local produce for the inn.
Being made from wool the duvets are light and thiner than traditional man made fibres or duck / goose down, and the wool has the added advantages of keeping you cool when its hot and warm when its cold its also non allergic!
The bathroom is not large however I have stayed in rooms elsewhere which have and smaller bathrooms, I believe the accommodation we offer is priced fairly and had you have booked a 4 star hotel with the same amenities you would have paid much more, and i'm sure you are aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were a large party of 11 who booked in for a meal at the pub. The staff were initially very helpful as we had arrived an hour early. We were served our food which was nicely presented. However, three of the pizzas we were served had a huge amount of rock salt crystals on them making them inedible. One of our party mentioned it to the waitress to pass on to the chef. We received no apologies and later one of the staff was very rude to a member of our party as they clearly felt that we were complaining without good reason. This spoilt an otherwise nice evening. We had not asked for a discount or alternative meal, so the comment was unnecessary.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
"Fabulous Fabrication"
One thing you are correct about is that you did turn up 1hr early and we did seat you immediately and served you promptly.
Your food was served promptly and the waitress came over to your table on a number of occasions to check weather you needed any drinks, more sauces and also asked the question "are you enjoying your meals?" your party clearly stated that you were all enjoying the meals.

It was not until you all finished your food and we cleared the plates that you asked why there was salt on the pizza.
The waitress did in fact explain that it would have been seasoning and apologised as you were not 100% happy.
On the only pizza that had any thing left on the tray was a a margarita with a few salt flakes (about 6) and your waitress did point this out to the chef.
She then returned to reiterate the apology and inform you that it was the seasoning, but to be fair the lady who brought this up ignored her.
Shortly after your party requested the bills and paid.

It was at this point when one you of you approached the manager who hadn't even been to your table (in fact he had only just arrived on duty) and said "I cant believe you didn't apologise for the salt on the pizza" he tried to reply and tell you he didn't know about the issue, how ever the lady wasn't wanting any sort of reply.
Then came the next line form your party "oh just you wait for the trip advisor review its going to be shocking!" at this point you all sculled out the building.
Had the manager have had the opportunity to speak with you he could have explained that the salt flakes were sea salt and obviously not dissolved during cooking, this is very unusual and I can only apologise for that.
You fail to mention the quality of all the other meals which you all ate in their entirety.

No one was rude to any of your party, if any thing the lady who approached the manager was a little tempestuous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.