We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou Marian x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marians Bed and Breakfast

Marians Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marians Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Marians Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   LLwyn Derw | Nr Barmouth, Talybont, Barmouth LL43 2AE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Talybont B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thankyou Marian x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just come back from a lovely stay at Marians bed and breakfast, arrived quite late on sat night for a short 2 day break, and was totally satisfied with the great service Marian provided for us. The room we had, room 2, overlooked the road at the front of the property, it was extremely clean, tidy, not tired at all like some b and bs we have stayed in.It had its own en suite, again very clean, the room had a nice flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, and lots of little extras, soap shower wash, and buds in bathroom. The breakfast was ample with cereal, juice, yoghurts, coffee, prunes with grapefruit segments, delish ! this is all before she serves you up a full welsh cooked breakfast !! Breakfast is served to you in the conservatory overlooking a wonderfullly kept garden,fantastic house to stay in with great serivice definately be back, Thanks Marian Andrea and Rob, Leicestershire xx

Room Tip: We had a peep at room 1 overlooks the sea very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just spent two lovely days at marian's, couldn't fault the place, it was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were great they really set you up for the day. It was our first visit to Wales and we couldn't have had a better introduction to a wonderful part of the country.We will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stopped here with our children who were thirteen as under twelve not accepted which I totally agree with... Marian was welcoming and couldn't do enough for us....the breakfast was a delight and my daughter still talks about her egg benedict.... I am hopeless so I think this means we will have to return at some point just for her breakfast lol.... On a serious note there was nothing to fault lovely rooms.... Felt spolit coming back to made beds everyday.... Hopefully will stop for longer next time when my husband is more mobile for the lovely walks talybont has to offer.....

Room Tip: When it states private bathroom this doesn't mean ensuite As we first thought....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just stayed at Marian's for a week. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, tidy & welcoming.

We had the sea-view room (en-suite), coffee, tea, biscuits and many more goodies available in the room.

Marian is a lovely lady and very helpful with the local area and places to see.

The beach at Talybont was just a short walk from Marian's (turn left outside the front door and down a lane).

The breakfasts (served in her large conservatory) were hearty and very filling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Marian greeted us and showed us to our room, which although as previous writers have said was small in as much it was full of extras etc. Who I ask wants large rooms just to spend a few hours sleeping. The whole property is well decorated and throughly clean. Breakfasts are served in the large conservatory/lounge and are excellent. I note a previous entry concerning this B & B not only complaining about the room, the writer failed to leave a deposit on booking and didn't like the room shown to them on arrival, added to which he complained of air fresheners being used. It is not usual to not make a deposit on booking (for more than one nights stay) and the photographs on the web site do not lie, the rooms are perfect. As for air fresheners, Marian's house does not need them, although she has just one in the conservatory lounge, no doubt to help freshen the air after breakfast service. I would definately ignore that particular entry and remain suspicious that this person ever had any intention of staying there. I know that I or my family would do so if travelling that way in the future. A very comfortable stay (pity about the rain).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Ideally situated between Barmouth and Harlech we found this to be a top quality b/b, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated throughout.Our room was very nice with many little extras not found in many other b/b,s and it also gave us a sea view.The host ,marian, is a very likeable , helpfull and friendly lady.A hearty Breakfast is served in the bright and spacious conservatory. Free and unlimited coffee is also available throughout the day for the guests which we considered a very nice gesture.Summing up then....A top quality b/b lacking nothing in comfort and facilites,hosted by a very nice lady,ideally situated with easy parking .We loved it and it was a pleasure to stay there.Joe and Rita Venencia ,BIRMINGHAM.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Arrived at 2pm on a very wet Saturday to find the premises locked and nobody home. Returned at 4pm to be met by the owner who showed us to our room. We did have our own bathroom but.....it was situated across the landing, which for us was imprctical and inconvenient. We asked to be moved to a 'proper' ensuite room but the owner couldn't accomodate us so we decided to leave and find alternative accomodation in town. This B&B is on the main, busy coast road. It feels a bit cramped inside but has a nice conservatory for breakfast. A slight smell of mustiness pervades the establishment combined with the aroma of plug-in air fresheners.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianBarmouth, Owner at Marians Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
When first booked via e-mail, the gentleman was offered a double en-suite room with shower, this was not suitable and wanted a room with bath, therefore, I offered him a double room with private bathroom with whirlpool bath/shower { e-mails to verify this can be sent to whoever is interested} which he booked but would not give any card details as security {not many hotels or B&B's these days would take a booking without some form of security, or in most instances full payment on booking} gave an excuse that he had been a victim of fraud!!
Why the confusion with en-suite and private bathroom I'm not sure as they are widely used by Visit Wales, Visit England, Tourist Boards and many others, and most well traveled individual would know the difference, infact in the room offered { a favourite with many of my regular guests because of the double sided whirlpool bath} is only one step away from the bedroom door, with your own key and bath robes provided.
As for the situation of the B&B, very convenient for most people away from the crowded towns of Barmouth and Harlech which can get quite rowdy and noisy in the evenings and where parking is a nightmare, we have plenty of off road private parking and after about 11am until 7.30 in the morning hardly a soul is on the road { the gentleman did'nt stay, therefore had no experience of this}
I have the highest 5* grading of excellence for housekeeping and cleanliness and everyone comments on how light and airy the whole house is as in fact the gentleman in question also did on arrival.
I keep the front door locked at all times as it is our family home of 32 years and I ask all guests to respect this. Booking in time is anytime after 3.30 as stated on the website and on booking, I have no control over people booking in early, it is a B&B and not a Hotel where there is someone on reception most of the time, I have my daily shopping to do and cannot be in at all times.
I am sorry everything was not to the gentlemans liking you cannot please everyone all the time although he did choose that room over the original en-suite room first offered and I could'nt offer him another room as I was fully booked that week, he came out quite well off as he went without paying his bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marians Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marians Bed and Breakfast

Address: LLwyn Derw | Nr Barmouth, Talybont, Barmouth LL43 2AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Talybont
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Talybont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marians Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4* WTB family run B&B offering first class accommodation, aiming to provide a relaxing and pampered holiday atmosphere. Situated in the beautifull small village of Talybont near Barmouth and Harlech, nestled in the Rhinog Mountains overlooking the Cambrian Coast Bay in the southern reaches of the Snowdonia National Park,North Wales. Walkers/Cyclist friendly with secure cycle storage and drying facilities. Totally No Smoking. Sorry no children or pets . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Marians Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marians Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.