We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnysands Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talybont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnysands Caravan Park
Save
You added Sunnysands Caravan Park to your Saves list
Talybont, Barmouth LL43 2LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
May Madness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here 4-11th August this year. It's about our 7 visit to this wonderful site. We stayed in a privately owned caravan which was extremely clean and well maintained. The facilities on site are brilliant. Plenty of entertainment for adults and children alike. Plus the added bonus of a suburb stretch on sandy, flat beach right on your doorstep. The beach is ideal for families with children of all ages.

We had a wonderful week there and the weather didn't let us down reaching the high 20s or higher every day. What a way to relax and unwind. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Use ukcaravans4hire.com to find amazing deals from friendly people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been staying at sunnysands for about ten years or more , we always have a seaveiw caravan in all the years i have stayed on the site i can honestly say i have never had a problem , caravans are always clean , the weather can be a bit wild depending on the time of year but the site isnt liable for the weather , as for the cleaners hilda and co are great they are under a lot of pressure , and further more the inspection of caravans and deposit is a brilliant idea , i have stayed on other more expensive sites up and down the country and thease sites dont operate the deposit system and the sites arent as clean , i take my hat off to sunnysands keep up the good work guys and we will see you again soon

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

if you are after a break or a week away from the hustle and bustle then take a look , brand new club house chippy, shop arcade and mountains one way beach the other , i have been 6 times in the last 4 years and have ended up purchasing a home there , good entertainment and gets very busy in peak times, you can sit on the patio listen to the waves rolling in or just chill with friendly people enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having read some of the reviews I wonder whether I have been to the same Sunnysands as they have. Recently stayed in an 8 berth beach side caravan with my daughter, son-in-law and 4 grandchildren for a short break. The concensus is that it is the best holiday they have had, so much so that we have booked again for next year. Although the weather could have been better we enjoyed the fantastic views and beach. The caravan was clean, the staff very helpful and dealt with any concerns we had promptly and effeciently. We did not use the club apart from a visit with one of my grandchildren to Mr. Stix in the day time for which we paid £5. This I felt was a waste of money. We were not far from the entertainment centre but can honestly say we did not hear any noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed in one of the sites caravans,very clean and everything you needed, good swimming pool with lifeguard,small park for little ones,launderette,3 pound per wash,1.50 for dryer for 50 minutes,small cafe and takeaway,chippy with tasty chips and beautiful fish.Club with evening entertainment, every night , especially Mr Stix the childrens entertainer.Also the site has an amusement arcade.
The site is directly on the beach which is very clean and ideal for families.There is something there for everyone.
We stopped with our 2 grandchildren, in caravan 575 which is opposite the small park. and swimming pool. The only downfall was the noise coming from the park 12 o clock at night where some children were left to find their own entertainment.
Overall it was a good site to visit.Grandchildren enjoyed it,especially the evening entertainment

Room Tip: if you have small children dont stay opposite the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

the best part of our holiday was the beach a few minutes away from caravan, the shops and chippy very friendly and reasonable prices, entertainment for kids poor as we arrived we didnt think to complain about the cleanliness of caravan the bathroom floor was dirty the sink i had to clean dirty, toilet seat had a big crack in it, the double bed was very uncomfortable had to use a spare duvet to put on top of mattress it sunk in the middle we was goin to sleep in the living room on nthe pull out bed that was dirty and dusty so changed our mind, kitchen floor dirty , plates and dishes in cupboard were wet had food on them cutlery in draw dirty i washed most stuff before using ,before leaving i cleaned the floors and hoovered left caravan cleaner than it was on arrival, i made the mistake of puttin the bucket water down the toilet and sand was on the bottom ,we wanted to check out earlier as the drive back and having 2 kids, the cleaners had to inspect the caravan so we waited at reception i was told to go back to clean the toilet and wipe the kettle and inside of bin and hoover up i saw red but went back i told the cleaner the sucktion on the hoover wasnt good so i picked the few bits up on the carpet i said what do you get paid to do they said not clean just inspect what a joke the staff just wanted us out didnt want to listen i sent an email to complain and no reply we are staying somewere else next year id shop around before booking here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Firsty the bridge, I watched loads of tourers use it with no problems.
The site is kept clean, but there are a few caravans that could do with a spuce up but I believe they are privately owned.
The club is ok, there is a doorman but so have Haven sites, he was very polite and chatty, the bar staff I found were very helpful, told us of some places they use in barmouth itself. The lager is £3.15 a pint and draught coke is £1.30 a large bottle of wine £10, the veranda after a day on the beach was brilliant. For 3 mornings & 3 nights there was Mr Stix's a children's entertainer that kept the children amused and us adults with some of his jokes that went well over the kids heads. He was honestly, a good night's entertainment
The swimming pool was ok but my partner did say she saw some quavers floating by!!!
The shop was well stocked and priced at the level for a typical caravan site i.e. 10p or so above normal.
The beach was just perfect loads of room for everyone and the sea was great for paddling little feet. Dog owners walked their dogs leash free which freaked out some moms.
Didn't use the cafe so no feed back on that.
The chip shop was ok and cooked to order. £1.80 for a large tray
We had the Internet card but it was very hit and miss, we found that you could get a pretty good signal first thing in the morning.
Vodafone had no 3G and to make phone calls you had to be outside, Three there was no coverage at all & the same for O2. Everyone on the site said Orange and T mobile were what the locals used.
There is a bus to get into Barmouth £3 adults £2 kids under fives free but that's one way and there was 6 of us.
We found out that you can park your car in Barmouth for £3 all day BUT get there early.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnysands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnysands Caravan Park

Address: Talybont, Barmouth LL43 2LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Talybont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Talybont
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Sunnysands Caravan Park Hotel Talybont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnysands Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.