We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Estuary Lodge to your Saves list
Estuary Lodge
Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights here... I really can't say much to fault this place. Everything you could possibly need is there, rooms are nicely decorated and very very clean.

The owner is a very nice lad, and made his best to make our stay memorable. They also have a very large collection of DVDs to keep you entertained in the the evening.

Five stars and well done!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
110
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really loved it the rooms were very well decorated and very clean and I had a nice sleep the town is not busy at all and is very peaceful and it is handy that the motel is close to Portmeirion which is a lovely place to visit for the day and if you like taking photos there are many beautiful things to take photos and the sunset from the estuary was beautiful which i watched with my boyfriend just before we had our amazing dinner. The Family who run business where all very welcoming and so was Cyf
food was delicious in the afternoon cooked by the chef Dan and a lovely full english breakfast was also delicious cooked by the owners in the morning they also used there fresh eggs from there own chickens and the pizzas where also delicious cooked by there son Dominic
so if you want an excellent meal with your stay I suggest this is the place to stay
thank you for an amazing time and I will be staying again
Thank you very much

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this stay through an internet offer for a break with my wife and our 2 x 6 year old grandsons as a base to tour the area. We where taken to our room and to our delight it was a home from home. great bunk beds for the boys and a very fresh bed for us!
Certainly one of the cleanest we have stayed in if not the cleanest. The family are very friendly and nothing was a problem for them, they know the local area which was great as we got some great ideas for days out. We would not hesitate to stay here again,
The food was fresh locally produced with eggs from their on chickens and a delicious hand made pizza.
If this is an area you are looking for accommodation you will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stunning en suite bedroom- very well decorated. Family run business- all very welcoming and friendly- offering sight seeing hints which were very useful. Very quiet area, so if you are looking for a quiet drink in a local pub of an evening of nice dining this is definitely the place for you, however, if you are looking for somewhere with nightlife this is not for you. We went out on a Saturday night and all local pubs were very quioet with only locals enjoying a drink. Im sure it will be busier in peak season (we went in middle of Feb this year).

Beautifully decorated bedroom with lovely good shower facilities. Large TV with DVD player with a selection of dvd's to borrow. On site parking. You can eat at the restaurant there (which we did on the first night) and the food was lovely.

Overall a lovely weekend, only a stones throw from Harlech castle. Would very much recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Well, I don't want the title to in anyway mislead you into thinking that my expectations of this motel were low. I had read the reviews, it sounded lovely for the price I was looking for somewhere to stay near Portmierion as the village was too expensive.

The Estuary is amazing!! The great customer service started before we even arrived. In the afternoon I phoned to say we may be arriving a little after the last check in of 21:00. Dan could not have been more helpful, as the Estuary is a motel we were able to park outside, the key would be in the door and as we had such a long drive would we like some sandwiches made up? Brilliant.

As it was we got there at 21:10, Dan was still in reception gave us the sandwiches, crisps and drinks and then showed us his amazing DVD collection all available to guests, free of charge. He couldn't have been more helpful. Whilst my boyfriend was choosing his late night viewing I explained we were off to the village the next day and money off vouchers appeared. Fabulous.

Then we went to the room, remember this is a very reasonably priced motel. The room was a complete shocker, massive bed, individual wash area with 2 sinks leading to a separate bathroom. In the room itself are the usual tea and coffee but in addition is a microwave and fridge containing milk, water AND a corkscrew!! Oh and don't forget the TV with built in DVD for our late night selection. Perfect.

Breakfast choices were varied, the food was lovely and the staff were full of helpful suggestions for the days activities. We decided to book in for an evening meal and were so pleased we did. After a busy chilly day it felt like coming home and being pampered. We had cocktails and full 3 course meal with a wealth of choice all prepared and cooked by Dan. His homemade pâté was to die for and my boyfriend nearly ditched me for Dan's homemade lemon cheesecake.

To sum it up. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier. All of the staff were uber friendly and knowledgeable (total family business) The food is amazing. The rooms are spotless. The bed is huge and super comfy. The choice of DVD all for free is an unexpected delight. The location is perfect for Port Mierion, Portmathog, Cricceth and the Ffestiniog railway. Why would u go anywhere else?? Thank you for a lovely weekend. Xxxxx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Talsarnau is a bit off the beaten track, and that is its charm. You are only a few miles from Portmadoc, Pertmerion and the Welsh Highland Railway in one direction, and in the other, you are close to Barmouth anbd Harlech.
Wales is lovely, but can be damp, so the Lodge is just what you need at the end of a day- the rooms are very comfortable, with a large bed, ensuite and also snack-making facilities. The restaurant is really good- you will get an excellent and varied cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day, and the evening meals are relaxed and unhurried. Above all there is a family feel to the Lodge and the owners have taken trouble to make you feel at home, giving suggestions for visits and local walks in the woods and estuary.
Two tips- from Talsarnau you can catch a Arriva sprinter which will take you right along the coast with superb views- we go as far as Aberdovey where we have a boozy lunch before returning (no driving required!) Also go just past Harlech to Llandanwg where there is a lovely beach and a very old historic little church half buried in the dunes.

Room Tip: All rooms look out on to the garden/parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was the best I have ever stayed in. (I have stayed in a suite at the Ritz!!) It oozed quality in every way. The superking bed was fantastic, with a feather duvet and pillows. The bathroom was "State of the Art", with the latest high quality fittings.
The breakfast not only included the "Full Welsh", but smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, grilled kippers and smoked haddock with poached eggs. Our room had a flat screen TV with a built in video and there are hundreds of DVDs to borrow free of charge.
Estuary Lodge is a motel so does not boast a posh reeption or bar but it exceeded our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which is a "King size" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Lodge

Address: Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Snowdonia National Park, the family-run Estuary offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and a stylish bistro. With elegant bedrooms, there is also a coffee shop.The Estuary boasts 10 en suite rooms, all of which are located on the ground floor. Rooms are individually decorated with luxurious fabrics and natural colours, and each has a TV with DVD player, work desk and tea/coffee facilities.The Estuary Bistro serves a delicious menu featuring fresh, local produce. The Coffee Shop offers traditional coffees, a selection of snacks and indulgent homemade cakes. Full English breakfasts are also available daily.Located approximately 4 miles North of Harlech, The Estuary is within reach of Portmeirion and the Llechwedd caverns. The hotel is centrally placed for exploring Snowdonia’s beautiful mountains and coast, and the friendly staff can help with planning trips and guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Estuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Hotel Talsarnau
Estuary Motel Talsarnau
Estuary Lodge Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.