We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for seeing North Wales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estuary Lodge

Save Saved
You added Estuary Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estuary Lodge
Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA , Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect base for seeing North Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Talsarnau is a bit off the beaten track, and that is its charm. You are only a few miles from Portmadoc, Pertmerion and the Welsh Highland Railway in one direction, and in the other, you are close to Barmouth anbd Harlech.
Wales is lovely, but can be damp, so the Lodge is just what you need at the end of a day- the rooms are very comfortable, with a large bed, ensuite and also snack-making facilities. The restaurant is really good- you will get an excellent and varied cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day, and the evening meals are relaxed and unhurried. Above all there is a family feel to the Lodge and the owners have taken trouble to make you feel at home, giving suggestions for visits and local walks in the woods and estuary.
Two tips- from Talsarnau you can catch a Arriva sprinter which will take you right along the coast with superb views- we go as far as Aberdovey where we have a boozy lunch before returning (no driving required!) Also go just past Harlech to Llandanwg where there is a lovely beach and a very old historic little church half buried in the dunes.

Room Tip: All rooms look out on to the garden/parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
108
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyrenia, Northern Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was the best I have ever stayed in. (I have stayed in a suite at the Ritz!!) It oozed quality in every way. The superking bed was fantastic, with a feather duvet and pillows. The bathroom was "State of the Art", with the latest high quality fittings.
The breakfast not only included the "Full Welsh", but smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, grilled kippers and smoked haddock with poached eggs. Our room had a flat screen TV with a built in video and there are hundreds of DVDs to borrow free of charge.
Estuary Lodge is a motel so does not boast a posh reeption or bar but it exceeded our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which is a "King size" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Estuary Lodge is in a great place for exploring North Wales being between Portmadoc and Barmouth. The owners are very obliging, good hosts and are interested in their quests activities.
The evening meal was superb and well worth staying in the hotel for, the chef very friendly and helpful. The choice of breakfast is varied and delicious.The accomodation is excellent, being on the lines of a motel. As we have very old and dear friends in the Portmadoc area, we will definately stay at Estuary Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Estuary lodge is the best family run hotel around! I have stayed at 4 others locally on previous business trips. Very friendly. The food at caffi Bach is top notch. The rooms are very comfortable and clean!
I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had an excellent two night stay. Very welcoming staff, excellent breakfasts and dinners. Room very attractive and spacious. Would recommend without hesitation. We will definitely revisit this hotel, it is one of the best we have found in north Wales.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the estuary lodge late October 2012.
We booked through KGB so were prepared for the luke-warm greeting you can sometimes expect when booking through a voucher site on the cheap, Well, We couldnt have been more wrong!
Made to feel very welcome by the entire family, warm friendly welcome, fantastic food (Homemade chicken and bacon pie was spot on) great local knowledge and advice, good size clean rooms (own fridge, FRESH milk, bottle opener with corkscrew already in room, comfy bed, DVD player and DVD's selection that was actually worth watching!)

The set up of the lodge is great, Like an upmarket american motel, you can come and go as you please and the location is an ideal base for many days out.

Again we had a great time and hope to visit again in the future.

Thanks guys, Luke and Emilee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Estuary Lodge last week with our dog. The owners and staff could not have been more friendly. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs and was extremely clean. Although Talsarnau itself may not be the most picturesque of villages, the hotel is located very centrally for local gems such as Harlech and Beddgelert. I would definitely recommend Estuary Lodge as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Lodge

Address: Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Snowdonia National Park, the family-run Estuary offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and a stylish bistro. With elegant bedrooms, there is also a coffee shop.The Estuary boasts 10 en suite rooms, all of which are located on the ground floor. Rooms are individually decorated with luxurious fabrics and natural colours, and each has a TV with DVD player, work desk and tea/coffee facilities.The Estuary Bistro serves a delicious menu featuring fresh, local produce. The Coffee Shop offers traditional coffees, a selection of snacks and indulgent homemade cakes. Full English breakfasts are also available daily.Located approximately 4 miles North of Harlech, The Estuary is within reach of Portmeirion and the Llechwedd caverns. The hotel is centrally placed for exploring Snowdonia’s beautiful mountains and coast, and the friendly staff can help with planning trips and guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Estuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Hotel Talsarnau
Estuary Motel Talsarnau
Estuary Lodge Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.