We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwrach Ynys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talsarnau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwrach Ynys
Talsarnau, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gwin and Debrah were excellent hosts with a cheerful disposition, the house is very clean and well kept with fine examples of Welsh dressers in both Lounge and Dining room. Situated on its own the location is very peaceful but in easy reach of Harlech. Maybe the only downfall to our stay there is the feather filled pillows, hence the marking down on the sleep quality. An excellent all round B&B which we will visit again the next time we are in that area.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow if you dont like feathers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I travelled seperately to North Wales for a few days of relaxation. I arrived first and was made very welcome by Deborah who made me a tray of tea in the lounge. Gwyn was so helpful - nothing was too much trouble! He chilled our 'fizz' and wine and put out glasses so that when we arrived back from having eaten at a local pub everything was ready for us to put our feet up, relax and catch up. He even cleared up after us! The B and B is in a lovely location - we wanted to visit Portmeirion and Gwyn suggested a short tour before arriving to have lunch at the castle and then spending the afternoon in the village. The room was spotless, large and beautifully decorated - good quality furnishings and we loved the wall paper! The bathroom was small but more than adequate for our short stay. Breakfast - ordered the evening before - was good; lots of choice, cooked and presented well and again nothing was too much trouble. Gwyn and Deborah were able to recommend places to eat and visit. Fantastic hosts..... thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very affable hosts. Gwyn and Deborah were helpful and made us very comfortable.
They had to contend with 6 golfers taking over the guest house. They made us welcome and even helped dry out soaked clubs/shoes and clothing.
The rooms were big and comfortable.
The surrounding area is outstanding and the views from the guesthouse was fabulous.
Many thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful weekend spent in North Wales, where we stayed at Gwrach Ynys guest house. On arrival, we were given a warm welcome from Gwynfor along with a pot of tea and coffee followed by his amazing local knowledge and advice on places to visit/restaurants etc. Our room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The en-suite shower room was great (powerful hot shower). Breakfast was superb, we had a choice of cereal, full cooked breakfast, continental, kippers (which were meaty and delicious!!)

We want to thank Deborah and Gwynfor for their hospitality and for convincing us to walk up Mount Snowdon... which was the highlight of our trip!!

Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer here. We will certainly return! 10 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean, recently renovated room. Interiors are a bit tacky, but in excellent condition. Family room is very large. Breakfast is good, but not gourmet. Feels like more like a three star than a four star guest house. Owners are friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This B&B was excellent. Very friendly and helpful in advising us the best places to go. Very clean room and everywhere else we saw in the house, and breakfast was 1st class. I would definelty recommend this place to friends and family and we would most definelty use it again. 10/10

Many thanks Gwynfor and Deborah we really enjoyed our stay.
Rosemarie and Paul
(Cardigan)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. With highly clean standards. Spacious rooms. Best value for you money. Will recommend to everyone. Garden grass is trimmed occasionally and the look and feel is awesome. Will provide breakfast what you ordered the previous day night with coffee and toast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gwrach Ynys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwrach Ynys

Address: Talsarnau, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Gwrach Ynys Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwrach Ynys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gwrach Ynys to your Saves list