We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B to explore North Wales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwrach Ynys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gwrach Ynys to your Saves list
Gwrach Ynys
Talsarnau, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect B&B to explore North Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Gwrach Ynys for 4 nights, the room was immaculate and en-suite was very clean. The breakfast always had a variety of options, arrived hot straight away and very delicious! There was always information at hand either through leaflets or Gwynfor...very handy in planning our day trips. The location was perfect for us as it was away from the hussle of Harlech but a quick 5 minute drive and we could enjoy great foods in local pubs/restaurants. Most importantly for us a long stretch of sandy beach in Harlech meant we could spend our evenings strolling the beach watching a beautiful sunset framed by mountains and sand dunes then escape back to our cosy room!
We loved staying at Gwrach Ynys and would definately go again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I and our 2 granddaughters stayed at Gwrach Ynys for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room was spotlessly clean, fresh and comfortable. The house itself is set in a spectacular landscape of mountains and rolling hills and is only 45mins away from Mt Snowden itself. Our hosts, Gwynfor and Deborah, made us feel welcome and were attentive throughout. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay and plan to visit again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at Gwrach Ynys. Our rooms were the small ones at the rear of the house but were very comfortable, had great en suite and pleasant views.
The welcome was friendly and informal and the food very good. We would have no hesitation in visiting again or recommending Gwrach Ynys to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Wonderful. Stayed in a family room with our 2 children (in bunk beds!). Nicely arranged, good sized room. Very comfortable space for all of us. Extremely clean: room, en-suite shower, dining room and sitting room were all spotless...lovely fresh towels too. Breakfast was plentiful, our eggs were perfectly cooked each morning. Thoughtful owner even produced perfect soldiers to go with the children's eggs. Gwrach Ynys is a perfect base from which to explore Harlech, Portmeirion, the beaches and all of the surrounding area. Owners full of extremely helpful local information. A truly lovely base from which to explore this interesting and beautiful area. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Family room was perfect for us. Kids LOVED the bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
king's lynn norfolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Just returned from mid june break at gwrach ynys just 2 miles north of Harlech. Deborah and husband made us very welcome and enjoyed fab breakfasts before exploring the wonderful scenery. Their home is in a lovely setting surronded by fields and views towards snowden. Our bedroom and whole guest house was five star and they were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend their lovely guest house to anyone wishing to shed the cares of this fast paced world and enjoy peace and tranquility for as long as you want. Terry and janet

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This charming B and B establishment fulfilled everything that we were looking for. Our bedroom was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and a very substantial full Welsh breakfast. Gymnfor & Deborah Williams are superb mine-hosts very helpful being local they are a mine of information for the area. Would certainly come again and recommend them to anyone. Their directions were easy to follow - straight to the door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is probabaly one of the best B+B's you are likely to get around the area. unassuming, unpretentious, glorious surroundings and caters for your every need. Whether you're a walker, business person, or just touring around the area, this is the place to base yourself. It's location is within easy distance to most of the attractions, and Snowden is literally a short drive away.

The welcome you will receive will be a warm, genuine and uplifting one from your host Gwynfor, whose knowledge of the area and indeed all things general, was clearly the inspiration for the character of the 'Oracle' from the Matrix trilogy! What he doesn't know about the area isn't worth knowing!!

The cooked breakfast- made by Deborah (Gwynfors wife) is not to be missed! It is absolutely delicious, and would undoubtably have Michel Roux jnr quaking in his boots should the North Wales breakfast cooking championship ever occur!

Bedrooms are spotlessly clean, and the minute you lay down the bed pulls you into its bussom like a mothers cwtch. You'll sleep like a log - guaranteed! If it wasn't for Deborahs breakfast you may even find that you don't want to get up.

This is a B+B that gives you much more than value for money. It gives you the personal touch from two great hosts who know how to make you feel at home. It's a place where not only do you have a desire to return, but also where you wished you'd booked for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwrach Ynys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwrach Ynys

Address: Talsarnau, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwrach Ynys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwrach Ynys Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwrach Ynys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.