We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwrach Ynys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gwrach Ynys to your Saves list
Gwrach Ynys
Talsarnau, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is probabaly one of the best B+B's you are likely to get around the area. unassuming, unpretentious, glorious surroundings and caters for your every need. Whether you're a walker, business person, or just touring around the area, this is the place to base yourself. It's location is within easy distance to most of the attractions, and Snowden is literally a short drive away.

The welcome you will receive will be a warm, genuine and uplifting one from your host Gwynfor, whose knowledge of the area and indeed all things general, was clearly the inspiration for the character of the 'Oracle' from the Matrix trilogy! What he doesn't know about the area isn't worth knowing!!

The cooked breakfast- made by Deborah (Gwynfors wife) is not to be missed! It is absolutely delicious, and would undoubtably have Michel Roux jnr quaking in his boots should the North Wales breakfast cooking championship ever occur!

Bedrooms are spotlessly clean, and the minute you lay down the bed pulls you into its bussom like a mothers cwtch. You'll sleep like a log - guaranteed! If it wasn't for Deborahs breakfast you may even find that you don't want to get up.

This is a B+B that gives you much more than value for money. It gives you the personal touch from two great hosts who know how to make you feel at home. It's a place where not only do you have a desire to return, but also where you wished you'd booked for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Great b&b, friendly hosts and good standard of accomodation and a great price.
We were a large group of around 8 people so kind of took the place over for the one night we stayed. Wished all the b&bs we stayed in were as nice as this place, and Harleck is a lovely little town a few miles away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We had already booked somewhere to stay in the area but after reading reviews on here had cancelled, it took 3 hours of surfing to find a family room to fit our dates and price range...but it was certainly worth all the effort!
my family and i had a wonderful 2 night stay here. The hosts were most welcoming and extremly helpful. Our family room was immaculate with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was incredible and all served with great hospitality. It was difficult to climb snowdon with all the food we had eaten.Would definatly reccomend Gwrach Ynchs to anyone wishing to visit this area. only down side was going home!
sue from Birmingham

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Get set for a treat! If your experience is like ours, when you arrive at the Williams's place, Gwynfor Wiliams, your host, will run outside to greet you and help carry your luggage. Then he'll ask if you'd like tea and cookie, and if you say "yes" he'll sit down with you in the spacious living room and tell you about the history of the place (built by a Welsh sea captain), and his family (Welsh originals). This after his wife, Deborah, graciously (and patiently, I might add) directed on the telephone us how to get there from up north. We had not been long at Gwrach Ynys (I've given up trying to pronounce it, but it means "Witch House"), when I turned to my wife and whispered "This man really loves being around other people!" This attitude, really shone the next morning in Gwynfor's cheerful breakfast demeanor--what a treat! Although we didn't see you, Deborah, the breakfast was scrumptious (we assume that you made it), and so thank you now, again.

Of the many positives at Gwrach Ynys, you'll love the peaceful setting (just north of the historic and quaint Harlech) as well as the spacious ensuite rooms and views, manicured lawn, plenty of parking, excellent value, and outstanding breakfast. If your object is to get away, relax, curl up & read a book, you should stay for more than one night. You'll love the hosts, as there could be nor more friendly people and place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Stayed there the weekend starting the 8th May, and enjoyed every minute. Our reason for staying was to visit Snowdon. Snowdon is about a 15 minutes drive from the hotel, so suites nicely.

On arriving the on the Friday we were very late due to traffic. However our host made the effort to meet us at our car and greet us warmly. We followed into the house and met the rest of our party.

The house is lovely and spacious, with many period features, immaculately clean, and spotless. The lounge was comfortable with books of the area.

Our room was of a nice size, and again very nicely furnished. One very slight let down was the pillows, but that is the only fault I could find, and a personal thing.

Breakfast was superb, fresh, plentiful, and great produce. Coffee and tea were great , and the views from the dining room completed a great first meal. Again our host took his time to give weather forecasts, and advice on snowdon and surrounding hills.

We left extremely happy with the great settings, host, and hotel. Having been to many hotels/B&Bs around the Peak District, Devon, Cornwall, and the snowdon area, this is definately top three, if not pole position. We plan to re-visit.

One word of advice, if arriving late - be sure to have a good tankful of petrol/diesel, before leaving motorways. We just made it, after driving at least 30 miles on the reserve tank. All station in the area shut before 10pm.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwrach Ynys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwrach Ynys

Address: Talsarnau, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwrach Ynys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwrach Ynys Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwrach Ynys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.