We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel

Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talsarnau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
Save Saved
You added Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel to your Saves list
Soar Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talsarnau
Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After a few days away I'm normally keen to get back home - not this time! We could have stayed at Tremeifion very happily for a long, long time. The food was splendid and the wonderful breakfasts meant that we didn't need lunch, despite spending our days climbing up and down hills. The views were spectacular, the bed was very comfortable, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the welcome was just right. We slept like logs and now feel more relaxed than we have in years. Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break with wonderful food.

Room Tip: You can see Snowdon out of the Jade room's window on a clear day and Portmeirion nearly every da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but thoroughly enjoyed our supper. We started outside at the table overlooking the beautiful gardens with breathtaking views of Tremadoc Bay and the distant peaks of Snowdonia. As dusk fell, we entered the well-appointed dining room for one of Barbara's sumptuous meals, perfectly served by Kevin. Wonderful supper, service, dining room, gardens, location. Next time we'll stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sklemersdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We decided to stay in the Tremeifion Vegetarina Hotel for a few days to celebrate our tenth anniversary. Having stayed there for our 5th anniversary with the previous owners and having had a really good time in this idyllic place we were very pleasantly surprised to experience an even more fairy-tale-like stay this time. The new owners, Barbara and Kevin, did everything they could to look after us and make our stay there a really memorable one. Since I am a not only a vegan but on top of that a vegan "raw-fooder" I was curious what kind of meals I would get in Tremeifion knowing that raw-food dishes are a challenge even for experienced vegetarian chefs. But Barbara conjured up the most delicious and beautiful-looking raw dishes one can imagine! After spending our days in the idyllic countryside and eating these lovely meals we spent wonderfully quiet and relaxing evenings in front of a real fire, which the owners lit for us. And we slept like babies in our lovely quiet room with a wonderful view over the estuary. We had a fabulous time and can highly recommend Tremeifion to every vegeterian (and raw-fooder!).

Johanne and Keith

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for a short break at Tremeifion at the end of May 2012. We were familiar with the area but this time wanted something special...and we weren't disappointed! The 'Tremeifion experience' as I call it, began before we'd even arrived. We stopped in the mountains to check our bearings and to call Barbara to let her know we'd be arriving soon. A poor signal, but managed to get through, then lost signal but seconds later Barbara called to give us precise directions to her hotel, about 20 minutes away. We had ventured off the main road, so that was a very nice thing to do.

Once there, Barbara gave us a very warm welcome, showed us to our room and then gave us tea and cake, which we enjoyed on the terrace in gorgeous sunshine. We knew about the view of the Afon Dwyryd estuary across to Portmeirion of course but seeing is believing, and from this vantage point - absolutely fabulous.

We were shown the menu for dinner and were spoiled for choice with each course. Barbara in fact asked us in advance, at the time of booking, if we had any special likes or dislikes. This was home from home and as our stay progressed, we knew we'd made the right the choice.

Hospitality is available in bucket fulls! Mouthwatering food, a comfortable lounge for after dinner coffees, a huge wood burner roaring away, according to the season, and Barbara's invitation to help ourselves to reading matter, if we wish to, from the library across the hall, or, choose a film on DVD from the neatly presented collection available beneath the big TV screen.

The en-suite bedroom did not disappoint either: 'a room with a view' goes without saying, a big comfortable bed with Egyptian cotton bed linen, Roca bathroom fitments and a 'proper shower,'
big white fluffy towels...very posh. And not a single speck of dust anywhere.

In the mornings, breakfast when we wanted it, a splendid choice, everything one would expect from a classy establishment like this. Breakfast was so plentiful, we hardly needed any lunch.

The peace and quiet, the homeliness, the great food, Barbara's attention to detail and very pleasant disposition all went to make Tremeifion a chart topping place to stay for discerning clientele like us.

This was the 'Tremeifion experience!'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Barbara made us so welcome; the room and en-suite were spotless, the views over the estuary towards Portmeirion were stunning and the food was simply amazing. After dinner we relaxed in front of the sitting room’s log fire for the last course and felt completely at ease.

Our next visit to Snowdonia will use Tremeifion as a base to explore this beautiful and exciting part of the Wales, as well as treat ourselves to Barbara’s culinary arts: if you enjoy exquisite food and wine, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This hotel is in an amazing location, the views are stunning. The place was clean and had a very comfortable feel.
I came with 7 others for a special occasion. Barbara was so helpful with arrangements for our evening meal. Only 2 of the party were vegetarian but it really didn't matter because the food was delicious. Barbara listened to our preferences for food before creating a menu.
I would highly recommend the place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My partner and I stayed there earlier this month. We had a really wonderful time and were so well looked after. Barbara and Kevin went out of their way to look after us.

The room was lovely and spotlessness clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and we had a lovely view. Barbara had asked us in advance about our likes and dislikes for food and every night made the most amazing dinner. I am sure that non-vegetarians would enjoy the food too which was varied and delicious. Breakfast was amazing too - fresh bread, cereal, porridge and a different type of cooked breakfast each morning. They helped us to work out what to do in the local area.

The village it is in is tiny, there isn't a shop so don't expect to buy anything in walking distance! It is very peaceful. We managed without a car by being sure of the train times which are not frequent.

It was worth every penny to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel

Address: Soar Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talsarnau
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.