We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'Tremeifion experience'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel

Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talsarnau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
Save
You added Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel to your Saves list
Soar Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talsarnau
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The 'Tremeifion experience'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for a short break at Tremeifion at the end of May 2012. We were familiar with the area but this time wanted something special...and we weren't disappointed! The 'Tremeifion experience' as I call it, began before we'd even arrived. We stopped in the mountains to check our bearings and to call Barbara to let her know we'd be arriving soon. A poor signal, but managed to get through, then lost signal but seconds later Barbara called to give us precise directions to her hotel, about 20 minutes away. We had ventured off the main road, so that was a very nice thing to do.

Once there, Barbara gave us a very warm welcome, showed us to our room and then gave us tea and cake, which we enjoyed on the terrace in gorgeous sunshine. We knew about the view of the Afon Dwyryd estuary across to Portmeirion of course but seeing is believing, and from this vantage point - absolutely fabulous.

We were shown the menu for dinner and were spoiled for choice with each course. Barbara in fact asked us in advance, at the time of booking, if we had any special likes or dislikes. This was home from home and as our stay progressed, we knew we'd made the right the choice.

Hospitality is available in bucket fulls! Mouthwatering food, a comfortable lounge for after dinner coffees, a huge wood burner roaring away, according to the season, and Barbara's invitation to help ourselves to reading matter, if we wish to, from the library across the hall, or, choose a film on DVD from the neatly presented collection available beneath the big TV screen.

The en-suite bedroom did not disappoint either: 'a room with a view' goes without saying, a big comfortable bed with Egyptian cotton bed linen, Roca bathroom fitments and a 'proper shower,'
big white fluffy towels...very posh. And not a single speck of dust anywhere.

In the mornings, breakfast when we wanted it, a splendid choice, everything one would expect from a classy establishment like this. Breakfast was so plentiful, we hardly needed any lunch.

The peace and quiet, the homeliness, the great food, Barbara's attention to detail and very pleasant disposition all went to make Tremeifion a chart topping place to stay for discerning clientele like us.

This was the 'Tremeifion experience!'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Barbara made us so welcome; the room and en-suite were spotless, the views over the estuary towards Portmeirion were stunning and the food was simply amazing. After dinner we relaxed in front of the sitting room’s log fire for the last course and felt completely at ease.

Our next visit to Snowdonia will use Tremeifion as a base to explore this beautiful and exciting part of the Wales, as well as treat ourselves to Barbara’s culinary arts: if you enjoy exquisite food and wine, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This hotel is in an amazing location, the views are stunning. The place was clean and had a very comfortable feel.
I came with 7 others for a special occasion. Barbara was so helpful with arrangements for our evening meal. Only 2 of the party were vegetarian but it really didn't matter because the food was delicious. Barbara listened to our preferences for food before creating a menu.
I would highly recommend the place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My partner and I stayed there earlier this month. We had a really wonderful time and were so well looked after. Barbara and Kevin went out of their way to look after us.

The room was lovely and spotlessness clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and we had a lovely view. Barbara had asked us in advance about our likes and dislikes for food and every night made the most amazing dinner. I am sure that non-vegetarians would enjoy the food too which was varied and delicious. Breakfast was amazing too - fresh bread, cereal, porridge and a different type of cooked breakfast each morning. They helped us to work out what to do in the local area.

The village it is in is tiny, there isn't a shop so don't expect to buy anything in walking distance! It is very peaceful. We managed without a car by being sure of the train times which are not frequent.

It was worth every penny to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed for our 27th anniversary weekend recently at this hotel primarily because we are vegetarians and sick of veggie food being the after thought on most menus. We were warmly greeted by Barbara, the owner, shown to our room and offered a pot of tea downstairs when we were settled in, although there was a tea tray on the room. We went downstairs and sat in the conservatory overlooking a beautiful garden and Portmeirion and served with a tray of tea and fruit loaf, a lovely welcome.
Our room was at the front of the house and overlooked the bay and Portmeirion. the room was ensuite, a lovely bathroom with shower and the room and bathroom spotless. The furniture is in keeping with the age of the house with some lovely pieces.
Prior to travelling to the hotel Barbara had contacted us to check if we had any likes or dislikes so she could plan a menu accordingly which is unusual and a lovely touch.
We had booked dinner and we were shown a menu with 2 choices for starter, main and pudding, many of the ingredients grown by the hosts. Barbara's husband. Kevin was a wonderful host, unobtrusive yet attentive. There is a good wine list, and the food was delicious with good coffee at the end of it.

The next morning we had arranged breakfast for 8am and again, the breakfast was simply delicious with good orange juice, home made bread for toast, different cereals, and the best porridge we had ever eaten. All this followed by fried potatoes, cherry tomatoes and a poached egg with mushrooms. Oh! and home made muffins.....

Of course Barbara and Kevin would easily accommodate vegan guests as well as vegetarians but even carnivores would enjoy the food I'm sure.

All in all a really good stay and we would recommend it. It is a bit hair-raising driving up the hill to reach the hotel but worth it to be so high up for the beautiful views.

Someone prior to this review commented that it was pricey? We paid about £160 for dinner bed and breakfast for a night's stay; given the location, the friendliness of Barbara and Kevin, the beautiful surroundings and the good food we consider this excellent value for money. A very special place run by special people!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We have just spent 2 nights in this most fantastic vegetarian hotel in the country –
It is in beautiful Snowdonia, with stunning views of Portmeirion and Snowdon.
I can’t recommend this place enough. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The food was divine! The very best in vegetarian cuisine.
We were there to celebrate my husband’s birthday and we couldn’t have made a better choice. Our hosts were charming and very welcoming. When we arrived we were welcomed with fresh home-made vegan cake (moist and light) with tea. Our three course evening meals were exceptional. Breakfast was also amazing. We won’t forget those lovely freshly baked muffins, which came after our cooked breakfast, they were divine.
We will definitely be back! This is the kind of vegetarian luxury we have been looking for. A relaxing, satisfying, beautiful break – thank you Tremeifion, thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed recently. Beautiful location overlooking Portmeirion. Friendly and very helpful owners.

The downside was the price: rather a lot, even including breakfast and dinner. Also, room had a rather musty smell!

Overall, great location but if going again, I would look elsewhere from a price perspective.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel

Address: Soar Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talsarnau
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel Talsarnau, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.