We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
Save
You added The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli to your Saves list
89 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5ED, Wales (Formerly The Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
1 review
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at The Castle this summer and had a brilliant time.
The room was nice and clean,we had the en-suite at the top of the building which was a good size room for 2 people.
The staff were very kind and helpfull,we had a nice time down at the bar,was a busy saturday night and everyone in good spirits!
Would stay at The Castle again,great value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently spent a weekend with my wife in Pwllheli, and after a quick Google search, I managed to snag the last en-suite room here. I wasn't disappointed, and found it excellent value for the price, and considering above a pub, very little noise. My only disappointment was the lack of any late-night eating options as we arrived late in the evening on the Friday.

That said, the staff went out of their way to provide us with ideas for activities over the weekend, (particularly enjoyed the rabbit farm!), and we enjoyed a couple of beers downstairs in the evening.

Excellent decor and general ambiance, toilets downstairs could do with some attention perhaps...

All in all, I'd certainly recommend to anyone looking for a good-value stay in Pwllheli and the surrounding areas. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was staying up for a wedding, tried the Crown but they were full, arrived inside a little dubious, but was shown up to the en-suite, which suprised my partner very much for the price. Very attentive staff, recommended a number of quality eateries in the area, staff couldn't have been more helpful, even booking our evening's restaurant and taxi back. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Take an en-suite, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here during wakestock. It was great craic in the bar with good deals on drinks. The room was nice with comfy beds but could do with a chair or two. I will hopefully be going back to Pwllheli and if I do I will stay here again. Good value

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was great, I have never seen a double bunk bed before. The only downside was that they do not serve food, however there are enough places nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and had an excellent stay.

Good value for money, comfortable and clean, and no noise in the rooms from the pub below.

Definitely the best value for money we found in Lleyn Peninsula area. Within 5 minutes drive of the beach, situated close to the shops, good beer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at The Castle when visiting Pwllheli and can only say good things about it. Great pub with a lovely atmosphere, lovely people working there, and great room (with double bed bunk beds - awesome!) and all at a really cheap price. Fantastic couple of nights spent at the castle, and I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli

Address: 89 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5ED, Wales (Formerly The Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.