We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem. Wish could of stayed longer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Hotel
Save
You added Crown Hotel to your Saves list
37-39 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem. Wish could of stayed longer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited Pwllheli some 25 years ago & thought this would be a place we would never go again, what a huge surprise. Pwllheli is a beautiful little town on a perfect coast line, would be pleased to visit again.

Our booking at The Crown was very last minute & only for one night however the owners& staff were so accommodating, we stayed a second night. Our stay was £90 per night with breakfast for a family room for 3 of us, we found this to be a good price in this area.

The Crown is in the old streets of Pwllheli, it was central to the shops & a short walk to the Marina; the Holiday Camp Hafan Y Mor is also just 4 miles along a straight road. Free parking is available in a very small car park at the rear or in Asda with a free pass from the hotel, again at the rear. Parking on the road in front of the hotel is restricted to 1 hour Mon-Sat 9am-5pm but this was not a problem at all.

The Crown is a traditional Welsh pub which has had some modernisation, the bedrooms, bathrooms & hall ways have been updated to a good standard & are kept very clean. Access is via stairs which are a little steep but after several climbs I got used to them! Due to our late booking we stayed in 2 rooms (our things were moved by the staff who could not do enough to help). I found both rooms to be a generous size, with plenty of storage & plug sockets. The decor in both rooms was excellent & bathrooms had clean, modern white suites. Must comment on the beds which were just so comfortable, I didn't want to get up!

Breakfast is served in a pleasant downstairs restaurant area which is open to the public for meals later on. The Crown offer good quality food right through the day, their lunch time menu starts from just £5.00 for a main course. Our son ate there at lunch time on Friday, the meals coming out all looked beautiful. Cereals, juices & fruit is available for self service whilst hot food, hot drinks & toast is table service. It was very quiet on Friday & our breakfast piping hot & perfect, my husband said it was the best he had ever had; we were a little later down on Saturday & in fairness it was a tad busier, although hot breakfast wasn't quite as good as the previous day & the fruit had already run out. Service from all members of staff was 110% at all times, they really are a credit to the owners.

The Crown is an ideal base for anyone wanting to see the local area. The main routes in & out of Pwllheli can get a little busy but the hotel is very easy to locate. Criccieth about 7 miles away & Abersoch about 5 miles away are both worth a visit. We had friends staying at Hafan Y Mor holiday Park, day passes were available for our son who is 14, it was fantastic for him, plenty of activities indoor & out without spending lots of money. We had planned to visit Glasfryn Parc near Criccieth but we just ran out of time. Fabulous short break, hope to visit Pwllheli & The Crown next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
I remember you well, and it was a great pleasure to welcome you into our small hotel.
I truly hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed on the bank holiday Friday, Checked in about five pm, The hotel is part of the pub and both were welcoming. Parking is as described and worked well.

We had room 6.. a twin en suite room which was massive. The whole hotel was spotless and looked fresh. Didn't eat at the Crown but the restaurant looked popular. Room was comfortable and warm, breakfast was a full Welsh... hmmm lovely!

The crown is situated on the one way road just outside the center of Pwllheli and probably the reason we have not discovered it before!..

A great place to stay in order to enjoy all the Llyn Peninsula.

Room Tip: Probably the room on the top floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review- I'm glad you discovered us!
You're always welcome, and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now. Selected the Crown by sheer chance. Parking is ideal - either in their small car park at the rear or they will give you a sign to put in your car stating that you are staying there and you can park in the Asda car park at the rear. You get to the back of the hotel through the Asda car park. Easy access at the rear for luggage straight into the bar area. Rooms areq uiet, clean and comfortable and the breakfast range is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Many thanks for the positive review.
It is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crymych, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great Service, very nice room with great wifi signal, sunday carvery fantastic. Thanks for the packed lunch as I had to leave very early before breakfast. Diolch yn fawr!
Stayed while working at Neuadd Dwyfor Theatre, very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello and many thanks for your kind review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here - it means a lot to us!
I remember you due to the Theatre and Packed lunch reference, and hope that the lunch was also to your liking.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We needed to visit Pwllheli on business and saw there wasn't much choice in hotels in the area! Plumped for the crown as best of the bunch as wasn't disappointed.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The old building is beautiful - as long as you go in the front door as the back entrance is not so picturesque!
We arrived late after a long journey and the staff had kindly held back two sandwiche platters for us so that we could eat after the kitchen closed. They also made sure we immediately had a cup of tea and a glass of wine! Friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable.
Breakfast was good - with a range to suit all tastes - and again served by friendly and charming staff.
Not disappointed with our stay - a good basic product for a very low price, delivered well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to try to make your stay as comfortable as possible!
We appreciate how one feels after a long journey, so I'm glad the sandwich platters and welcome were of comfort.
We will be looking to make the rear of the hotel more attractive as one of our next projects.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our extended family (14 of us)were fortunate to spend 1-3 nights at this lovely hotel, which also hosted my Aunts 70th birthday dinner/party on the Saterday for about 25 guests. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant, we felt totally at home. The rooms were clean and comfortable and besides being on the street side we slept very well.We dined in their restaurant on the first night and I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. The breakfasts were also lovely.The dinner that was provided for the party was amazing and the team even provided the Kareoke machine for the evening. Victoria and her team seem to go out of their way for their customers and seem to gel as a great team.Excellent quality for the price.We will definitely be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you - your lovely review is much appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed the steak!
Your family was truly a pleasure to host, and I hope to see you all again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a find! We stayed in this hotel where my aunt hosted her birthday party. The staff were marvellous, so helpful and friendly! All the rooms were lovely, quaint and perfectly clean. Beds comfortable too. The food was excellent and reasonably priced and the hot buffet prepared for the actual party was really good and varied - everyone commented on this. I cannot thank the staff enough for their attentiveness and for 'going the extra mile'. As there was nowhere to eat on Sunday night the chef very kindly offered to heat up the leftover food from the party (there were quite a few of our family staying in the hotel) and did so - even bothering to present it properly for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Pwllheli. Thank you to all who helped make this family celebration really wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review.
Your family was a real pleasure to look after, and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us so much!
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 37-39 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and leased by the Barbe family for 5 years now, the Crown Hotel is renowned for its good food, relaxed atmosphere, polite service and friendly welcome. Victoria and Simon are the latest additions to this family business, and have been placed as the New Management since September 2013. Their philosophy is to maintain the friendly and open atmosphere, whilst also supporting local trade, and employing local people. The restaurant is currently of a very good pub-fayre standard with a fantastic reputation for Steak! This reputation will be developed and expanded this year to include local Fish, Seafood, Good Wine, and an array of after dinner Liquors ...whilst keeping the prices as reasonable as they are currently. The bedrooms are modern and clean, the bar warm and welcoming, and activities include a Darts League, Quiz League, Pool League, Welsh Lesson Club, and Photography Club.We will be serving afternoon teas in the restaurant, providing musical entertainment, developing Golfing, Shooting, and Fishing Packages....Watch this Space! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Pwllheli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.