We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hagan-y-mor haven camp” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A1 Haven Caravan Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A1 Haven Caravan Holidays
Save
You added A1 Haven Caravan Holidays to your Saves list
Hafan-Y-Mor, Pwllheli, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hagan-y-mor haven camp”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The entertainment was very poor, if you want wifi you have to pay for it, the manager in the arcade just fobs you off if you have any complaints when you report any machine is out of order they don't put out of order on the machine and just leave people to carry on losing money in the machine. I have been to a few haven camps this as to be the worst. Give it a miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I know Haven are one of the succesful holiday parks in UK but they definitely need to move with the times.

Haven in Pwllheli we found to be clean and the staff very friendly but their set up is very outdated and at times something like Hi De Hi!

Most activities are outdoor and as you can appreciate with the British weather means quite often you ahve no choice on wet days other than to go to the indoor pool (which is actually one of the few good things) or spend your afternoon in the entertainment clubs on the arcades.

Speaking of which, if you love arcades and 2p machines Haven will be your haven (Sorry for the pun) but unless you want to send hours in them there isnt much more to do indoors.

The beach is nothing like the pictures unless you travel at least 5 miles. The beach on site is rocky, full of stones and doesnt have much sand - a far cry from the pictures.

The night entertainment for children is fair - the staff on stage really do their best but the set up is so outdated even the kids get bored relatively quickly.

Overall this holiday is fun if you manage to go during the few days of sun we have, enjoy long stints on 2pm machines and like cheesy stage shows. If you ever went on holiday as a child in the 70's / 80's in Britain it will be like stepping back in time!

Come on Haven, move with the times!

Room Tip: If you ever went on holiday as a child in the 70's / 80's in Britain it will be like steppin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Have to say not as good as butlins, but very good! Stay was nice and did have a lot of fun is the swimming pool (which does need a bit of a clean!), arcades, bikes and trikes, bingo, parks, obstacle course and the entertainment! Our shaley was nice, and spacious and clean! The rope works course was fab, a massive obstacle high and daring course, it was an added 20 pounds but was worth it as the team was very supportive and encouraging! Entertainment was alright! Bingo was fun though! Slides were good, but sad to find out a set where closed! Dinner was quite nice, but cooks were not very friendly and much like dinner ladies patting it on your plate with a grown! Most staff and entertainment team were good and activities had a wide range of fun and variety for all ages! Would come again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I found this place to be an ideal short break holiday with everything you really need on site. From swimming pools with wave making machine, water slides and rapids (although only the rapids and slides seem to be in operation, why in mid Sept?), 3 Spar shops, chip shop, Burger king, Starbucks and a Papa Pizza (who deliver to your accommodation, brilliant!) restaurants and bars and live entertainment every day.
The location is clean and tidy and i have to say I found all members of staff very friendly. The accommodation is basic and clearly regularly used and is a bit dated. The kitchen has a kettle and microwave along with an electric cooker (heat this well up in advance when your going to cook something on it or in it) plates, bowls, pans, cups and glasses along with knives forks spoons, tin opener and a dining table with chairs. The living room has a fold out sofa bed (the sofa is very comfy), two arm chairs, an electric heater (fireplace) and a television that's very dated as it has no remote and no freeview (in this day and age?). The TV also comes with a DVD player yet this DOES have a remote?? The bathroom is small but does the job with one slight downside being that if you are over 6ft tall, your going to have a few back pains from having to stoop in the shower cubicle and the shower itself isn't exactly powerful but as i say, it does the job. The bedrooms are fair in size and both come with wardrobes and side lamps along with electric heaters which I have to say really do throw out the heat and the place soon warms up.The beds are comfy for fold ups and if you decide to have the linen, it is very clean and pressed.
The grounds are huge and spread for some distance which are again clean and well presented. The kids are not going to get bored here as the site has many many activities and I found it to be safe. Access to the beach (and i use the term beach very loosely) is in short walking distance and although ideal for you walkers and dog walkers, the beach isn't a beach, its a small amount of sand with a huge collection of rocks and stones (okay this isn't the sites fault, blame mother nature for this). Its ideal for the dogs and the coast path will take you 2 miles short of Pwllheli itself where you can hop on a regular train and will cost you about £1.40 return to Hafan-Y-Mor.
On the evening, provided you have purchased the entertainment pack, you can make use of the evening venue where the 'Funstars' will put on live acts or perform themselves. I have to say i found this great fun and some of the 'Funstars' themselves really should be discovered as boy can they sing!! The venue has a bar which for this time of year i did not have to Que and the prices were the norm.
I have one moan about this place. The accommodation we stayed in had a drain that was leaking. At our time of staying it was heavy rain and the drain would drip right outside our bedroom which kept me awake. I contacted reception who placed a log for the maintenance to have a look. The engineers arrived within ten minutes (I know this as i walked past them on my way out) and upon my return they had left me a note saying they had recorded that drain needed fixing and would sort it when the weather got better. The next day, in fact the next 3 days, the weather was fine yet the drain was still not repaired and when it rained at night, it began to drip and kept me awake again!! (okay so that's one moan but in all the place is great, ideal for families, couples or dog owners. Forget sunbathing on the beach and changing channel,yes all 5 of them from the comfort of your seat, but if you can cast that aside i really would recommend this place and would CERTAINLY recommend it for anyone wishing to locate a static caravan)
well done HAVAN !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we have been to hafran-y-mor for the past 4 years and we have had a great time every time we been there the staff are all nice and pleasant the caravan we stop in was spotless plenty to do on the site entertainment for the kids was alright if you wanted a quiet drink you could go to the barrel and mash beach was ok but a little stroll along the beach head and you come across a nice cove will be going again next year

Room Tip: try private caravan owners they are well cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a week at Hafan-Y-Mor and really enjoyed it. Our caravan was lovely and in a beautiful location overlooking the sea and the beach and very quiet, though there was the slight downside that we were furthest away from the amenities.
There was lots to do to keep our 3 year old son happy and the entertainment staff were good with the kids.
They could do with a pub / bar / restaurant / area for adults only as my partner and I did not feel that we wanted to go out on our own for an evening out and preferred to just stay in our caravan in the evenings.
We were pleasantly surprised by the cost of most things given that the outlets had a virtual monopoly and were several miles away from any competition. The drinks prices were pretty average and we were able to get pizzas, sides, drinks and ice cream delivered for four people (and more besides) for £30. The food in the Mash and Barrel was reasonably priced although the quality, particularly of the breakfast was not great.
There is plenty to do on the site though quite a lot of things are chargeable and there is absolutely loads to do within 30 or 40 minutes' drive.
We weren't very keen on the pool, it was not exactly dirty but not clean either. The changing rooms are bizarre - there is nowhere to sit down in the cubicles and they open at both sides. It all seems a bit tired and dated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the most unpleasant place I have ever had the misfortune to visit. It was totally filthy, we ended up paying £300 extra for 2 nights in a private lodge, it was that or go home. The private lodge was lovely, but the site is vile, filthy dirty and the pool was a health hazard.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A1 Haven Caravan Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Haven Caravan Holidays

Address: Hafan-Y-Mor, Pwllheli, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pwllheli
Also Known As:
A1 Haven Caravan Holidays Pwllheli, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A1 Haven Caravan Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.