We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined by poor maintenance and terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Save
You added Castell Deudraeth to your Saves list
Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ruined by poor maintenance and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

There are things about staying here that really are great. We stayed In the Penthouse Suite, the room was large, toiletries good, fluffy towels, quality robes, generally high quality products. But the room does really need a refurbishment. The furniture is very high quality but has been supplemented by additional pieces from Ikea!
And that really sums up this hotel, it set a high standard and failed to maintain it.
The underfloor heating was unbearable and when we asked reception to turn it off (it was 20 degrees outside) the lady looked up and just said "I don't think we can". She didn't even try.
The staff really need a lot of training in customer service standards. It doesn't matter that it's a castle in a really great location. Poor staff equals bad experience.
On the first night we booked in for dinner and turned up at the correct time. They couldn't find our booking, the restaurant manager was called. He stepped between us and the waiter, turned his back, he then talked about us in a rather unprofessional way and just walked off. The waiter followed and we were left standing there. A few minutes later someone else came back and took us to one of the small overcrowded tables.
The bread waiter gave a very good impression of 'Kevin the Teenager'.
Some points- you have enough space for good service, train your staff to not reach across in front of diners when they are in conversation, walk around the table. We don't want to smell the waiters deodorant, but at least he was wearing some.
The tables are small so don't overcrowd then, the staff frequently struggled to fit things on the tables.

This place could be good, invest in maintenance and training.
We won't be returning, there are too many better places around.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    46
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
33
151
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite. There is only 1 picture of the room on their web site, and none that are of any use on the web so we booked it more or less blind, but I can state that our stay there was worth every penny. The room is stunning and with the huge terrace adding to the setting I think it's as good a room as we have stayed in anywhere. The rest of the hotel is lovely and the Brasserie food really good quality and beautifully presented. The Staff are really professional and the inclusive Port Merion tickets and free mini bus just add to the experiance.

From our experience a very welldeserved 10/10

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A pleasant and romantic getaway. The room on the second floor was lovely, with a great view, comfy bed and luxury bathroom. My only real complaint about the room was that it was screaming hot all the time due to the underfloor heating which we could not turn down. We did eventually get round to asking reception to do this and they did.

The comlimentary sherry in the room was a nice touch as well. The atmosphere in the bar was good with some comfy seats and interesting architecture and an open fire.

The bar was quite good, with some bottled local beers. Service was sometimes not super quick but for some reason I often find this in hotel bars. I think the hotel was between the closed season and the busy season so they were still getting their staffing sorted out.

Location is fine - obviously it's part of the Portmeirion complex. The walk to the actual village is about 8 minutes and the path is well lit.

Parking was easy and right outside the entrance. Staff all perfectly friendly.

The restaurant is excellent but that is another review in itself. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here recently with some friends. Very nice large and airy room. The bed was a bit firm for our taste but not at all uncomfortable. We had wondeful weather and it was lovely sitting in the garden. Potmeirion is famous for its microclimate and it was strange to see lupins in full bloom in the middle of May in North Wales. Staff were all very friendly and courteous. We ate in the brasserie on our first night. Pretty good but a little bit of a triumph of presentation over flavour. The breakfasts were very good. If you're going to Portmeirion its well worth staying here or in the village as you feel more part of it. There is separate channel on the TV showing episodes of 'The Prisoner'! Be seeing you.

Room Tip: Our friends had a superior room which was actually two rooms. They said they actually preferred our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for friends 50th , very nice. Rooms are contemporary clean and spacious . Lovely view and nice to walk to portmeirion at night after the evening meal. The meal was very nice fine dining but may be portions a little small in comparison to others

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our bedroom at Castell Deudraeth was amazing, a beautiful en suite with a large seating area and a kitchenette to make our tea and coffee! The setting is idyllic - tranquil and picturesque, like being in a fairy tale. The staff were very friendly and we loved strolling down the hill to Portmeirion. The food was good although a little short on fresh fruit, yogurt etc at breakfast. Everything was cooked well and the service was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a suite - worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely building and gardens just outside Portmeirion village. Six of us sat around a roaring log fire in a splendid fireplace where we had pre-lunch drinks. Food excellent and nicely presented by friendly and attentive staff - Chilean Sauvignon Blanc on the wine list particularly good. Food and drink reasonably priced for such an impressive venue and service. The bonus is that you get the £10 entrance fee to Portmeirion village free if everybody orders two courses - in our case a saving of £60.00! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castell Deudraeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.