We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Save Saved
You added Castell Deudraeth to your Saves list
Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Portmeirion
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enjoyed a short break at Castell Deudraeth and stayed in room four. Very comfortable with everything to make our stay pleasant. Staff, friendly and attentive - Robert showed us to our room and was so helpful, thank you! Even though we have stayed in the village many times over the last thirty years,we found Castell Deudraeth to have a lovely relaxed ambiance. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room four, Castle Grand Room did not have a whirlpool bath. Lovely room with pleasant views situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    40
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
129
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We decided to run away and get married, and Portmeirion seemed like the perfect place for us, so we booked to get married in the hotel and stay in a suite in the castle. We stayed in Castell 9, which is a lovely suite on the second floor, dual-aspect with views of the mountains and the estuary. The spacious lounge is comfortable, with a small kitchenette hidden away and a gas coal-effect fire. The bedroom was spacious too and the wet room in the turret is great, with a bath perfect for two. The under-floor heating throughout works a treat and we had a lovely stay despite the incessant rain at the beginning of week. The daily top-up of sherry was very welcome.

Breakfast in the castle restaurant was as impressive as the evening meals, with the hot food freshly cooked to order. Generous portions too. We loved the sausages and the fish, my husband loved the kippers and I really enjoyed the haddock and poached egg. We also had room service breakfast the morning after our wedding, which was a lovely treat, everything we ordered was delivered on time and piping hot, perfect.

We ate in the castle restaurant on a few evenings, with it getting busier as the week progressed (we arrived on a Sunday and stayed till Saturday). We were impressed with the menus, the choice was good and the food lovely. We sampled a couple of cocktails and lots of Prosecco!

The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, and the minibus down to the village and back is a great service, we even used it to take us to the hotel for our intimate wedding ceremony in the Mirror Room.

We had a wonderful time in Portmeirion, and we will definitely be back. Be seeing you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a long wait for our daughter to be old enough to leave with her grandparents I arranged a reservation for mywife and myself for lunch at Portmeirion as a nice surprise. We had previously dined there and were overjoyed with complete package. My wife had wanted to go for something less low key in the nearby town but I, wanting to make this special convinced her to go.

A sandwich in the town and a cuppa would have been the better option. I must mention we were there for lunch not dinner so a slightly more relaxed feeling I would have been fine with but;

Firstly - when we arrived there was no one to greet us. I realise it was 11:45 and lunch begins at 12:00 but a warm welcoming face goes a long way.I had to walk around and find the barman who kindly helped us, the rest of the staff were sitting near the bar preparing other things (cutlery etc).
The barman brought us the menus and read from a clipboard a few pieces of paper down the specials and what they did not have today (Lobster, Mackeral, a terrine). Firstly we were disappointed as my wife was and has been looking forward to the lobster for years now (its never on the menu when we are there). Secondly, for this type of establishment I would expect the staff to know what the specials are are what they do not have without having to read it from a clipboard.

We were then shown to our tables after ordering by a very pleasant young lady who I beleive was working the reception area and dealing with monies. We were sat at a very nice table in the window overlooking the gardens, very nice indeed on such a fine day. Missing from the table were my wifes desert fork, salt and pepper (basic things I think you would agree), and we checked the rest of the tables and we were the only ones with missing pieces. This meant later that my wife rather embarressingly hate to take salt from the next table. As a consequence a very baffled man then had to remove salt from yet another table behind him. As a general rule of thumb if a customer orders steak either the staff bring a steak knife to replace the standard dinner knife or a steak knife comes on the plate alongside the steak. Neither, I had to ask for a steak knife after my wifes first few attempts on cutting into the meat.

Starters - I had the Goats cheese salad with sun dried tomatoes and balsamic vinegar. THis was truly imaculate, I could not falter it in any way. Delicious.

Main course - I had pork and herb sausages, mash and red onion marmalade, my wife took the Welsh beef steak with handcut chips and pepper sauce. My sausages and mash were lovely, however, there lack of herbs started my suspicion. A few mouthfuls down the line and in all 3 sausages, not a herb in sight. They were definately porky, no doubts there but not an incalling of a herb. They actaully reminded me of a Tesco Finest sausage I once ate. Expecting a nice juicy rump steak I was surprised to see my wifes 1/2 cm thick piece of beef. She ate, or should I say tried to eat the steaka dn enjoy it. It was full of grissle and she ended up having to chew out the juice and spit the rest onto the plate and try to disguish it with left over salad. She even passed some to me as the portion was a good size, I also had the same trouble chewing. Handcu chips were definately not, they were perfectly uniform, as if from a machine, or a bag from the freezer. For me hand cut chips are rustic, thick chunky, fluffy in the middle. These were medium thin, crispy and had that taste only chips from the Chinese take away have.

While we were eating we observed as you do, people watch some like to say. The waiting staff continued to bring the clipboard to each table of guests and read specials and what they dont have, A few disappointed people started to order the loster only to find out there was none as the first waiter did not tell them there was none. Second waiter then shouts across the room to I presume the restaurant manager or supervisor to advise him this table had not been read the information. The staff in general were rather to informal and sometimes communicated across the restaurant to each other. The barman, as nicer chap he was brought wine and water to the tables without a tray (even though the guests were not seated and he was preparing). On more than one ocassion my wife observed a bottle of wine or tray (when there was glasses of beer, wine etc) shoved (literally) under his arm while he poured for the customers.

Desert - I had rice pudding with raspberry sorbet (yes you read correctly) and my wife had strawberry cheesecake. The rice pudding was ok, creamy, soft plump grains, all good but it lacked something. The day before I had finished a few spoons of my daughters rice pudding from a jar and it more than exceeded this on I paid much more money for. My wifes cheesecake looked ok. There was a frog sporny looking mess surrounding it and a few dots. After closer inspection we fathomed some kind of kiwi, raspberry and mango coulis. The kiwi one was really sour, not sure they tasted it before hand, it was not off but needed sweetening. The cheesecake was nothing to write home about. Biscuit base was good although rather scarce and if it has even seen a strawberry I would be surprised. There was a feint (very) hint in the background but nothing substantial. If I eat cheesecake with a flavour I want to be able to taste the flavour, I'm all for subtlty when needed but there is a limit. I didn't mentione to my wife (already very disappointed at this point) but there was a finer mark of red coulis on the side of the plate. Someone had obviously tried to clean the plate but missed a bit, you could see where they had wiped it.

We left disappointed and paid at the front desk where there was no one in sight to start with. The meal came to 52.80 or there abouts. Not having change I advised the young lady (same one who remembered the specials without the clipboard) to make it 55 pounds, a smaller tip than I would usually leave but in light of the circumstances probably more than deserved. The young lady not hearing me took the 60 pound and gave me back the full change. When I advised her I said 55 she said thankyou and kept the full 60 pound. My jaw almost hit the floor, not wanting to make a scene I stormed out ranting, my wife absolutely astonished.

I should point out I have worked in a kitchen, and front of house most of my working life and although only at 3 star level the service and food were certainly of a much higher standard and more professional.

As you can probably tell very very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed just one night at this fantastic hotel, and it definitely was not enough time! As many others have said, the hotel is quite exceptional. The reception staff were warm and friendly and processed our booking quickly. We stayed in Castle 1 and were delighted by the size of the room and all the facilities. The room overlooked the garden and had a large king size bed, open plan lounge area with sofa, dining table and chairs, a TV system and a kitchenette area for drinks etc. There was a large closet and a bathroom with jacuzzi bath and power shower. All the little touches were taken care of such as toiletries and drinks, as well as bathrobes and slippers if required. The room had underfloor heating and was cosy and warm. Dinner in the conservatory dining room was wonderful with exactly the right ambience and lighting. The staff were friendly with the right balance of attentiveness. The bar was relaxing with comfy leather sofas and a massive fireplace. We slept very well in the comfortable bed and had a really tasty breakfast. Portmeirion itself is unique and you can visit as many times as you wish during your stay. We particularly enjoyed the forest train trip in the torrential rain as the driver was great fun and full of information! In fact, the whole time the staff were so friendly and helpful that we felt as if we were part of the family. It was fantastic and we will be back as soon as we can for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited Castell Deudraeth for Sunday Lunch. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the restaurant itself has a nice atmosphere and is nicely decorated with lovely views of the garden. The food was nicely presented and very tasty. We had the Goats cheese salad as a starter, a Welsh lamb roast dinner which was beautiful and a chocolate torte for dessert. We couldn't fault the meal and we really enjoyed our visit. If you choose to have a two or three course meal you receive free entry tickets to the Italian village of Portmeirion down the road (which is definitely worth a visit!) Would most definitely recommend Castell Deudraeth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I took my family here for lunch while visiting Portmeirion for the day. It is a 10 minute walk up the hill from Portmeirion but they do run a minibus service to and fro. From the moment we sat down we were looked after really well and felt so relaxed. The staff were so friendly and attentive and the interior is beautiful with some amazing views!
The food was way above average for a Sunday lunch and we all enjoyed our meal. Three courses costs £22 and is good value. The poached pear I had for dessert was delicious. I would happily have sat there all day just relaxing but we went off to explore Portmeirion.
Please note that if you have lunch here they will give you free passes into Portmeirion for the afternoon!
Would love to come back and stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICKSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed two nights at castle over august bank holiday. It looked beautiful outside and inside.
check in was probably the best and easiest we have ever had.
the reception staff were welcoming and informative, and the whole process took less than five minutes.
we had room 6 on the second floor, which was large and spacious. open plan lounge area with plasma tv/dvd system , hidden kitchenette with fridge/ tea/coffee facilities, walk in closet, dining table and views over the gardens. all excellent.
bathroom seperate with modern fittings and a shower that had power. good range of toiletries supplied.
clean white linen and a comfortable bed.
all the staff were polite, informed and helpful.
a shuttle bus is available for guests at all times whenever you need it, to get from the castle to the village itself or the seafront hotel . alternatively its only a ten minute walk.
entry to the village is free for guests.
we ate at both the hotel and the castle. the castle food was excellent.
we selected to have breakfast delivered to our room which was well cooked and presented.
A most enjoyable experience and to paraphrase the prisoner WE'LL BE SEEING YOU

Room Tip: all castle rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castell Deudraeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.