We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect too much of the Hotel restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portmeirion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Portmeirion to your Saves list
Hotel Portmeirion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Minffordd | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Twickenham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do not expect too much of the Hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is a vast difference between the joys of staying in the fairy tale village of Portmeirion (in our case the Watch House with its fantastic views over the hotel and estuary) and dining in the hotel restaurant. The food is just above average, but by no means reaches the exalted standard that other reviewers have claimed. For example, menu items are often not available (you are only told this after you order) and the Welsh lamb Omnitarian had on Friday night was shocking and needed to be cut with such force that the whole table rocked back and forth. The sparkling water and the white Dessert wine were barely below room temperature. The ‘Amuse-Bouche’ did not amuse and on both evenings was dull and pointless and a missed opportunity. The service in the evening is quite poor (we could barely suppress a giggle when the sommelier poured the wine with a cheery ‘say when’). The breakfast experience is also average, with peculiar tasting juices and otherwise standard fare. The staff are however more enthusiastic and professional than their colleagues in the evening. But did we enjoy our stay? Yes we did, the village, the walks, the views, the atmosphere are almost without comparison, but do not expect too much of the Hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinPM, Director of Sales at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for this review. I'm very glad that the visit was enjoyable. We have addressed the service issues mentioned with all staff concerned. We have looking into the ‘say when’ wine service incident; this of course is quite unheard of in a professional establishment; this individual concerned is no longer involved in wine service. We aim to achieve a consistent level of quality and service and it appears that we have not succeeded in this respect on this occasion for which I can only apologise. We take all negative and positive feedback very seriously and these comments will be very useful in ensuring our standards are maintained and improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    172
    53
    20
    9
See reviews for
125
544
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth. UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here on a KGB deal for 2 nights BB & evening meal on 1st night. We are so glad we paid the extra for upgrade as we had a stunning villa (lower pilot) with the most amazing views from every window over the estuary. The village itself is beautiful and work a visit whether you stay or not.
Breakfast and evening meal were delicious - served in the main hotel.

Room Tip: If you're going to pay the upgrade to stay in a villa/suite rather than the main hotel then uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From David's Welcome on the front gate through to the sad good bye, once again my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was exquisitely decorated with fabulous views of the estuary and village. Both evening meal and breakfast in the hotel restaurant were to die for, excellent menu choice, fair priced wines.
We look forward to returning early in the new year!
Thanks once again Portmeirion!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Fountain 2, the suite where Noel Coward wrote Blythe Spirit.

We were greeted by the friendliest, most professional staff we've probably encountered anywhere; Michael came out to our vehicle, checked us in, then escorted us to our suite and showed us into our reserved parking place.

The suite was sumptuous, expensively furnished, but homely and comfortable. The bed was stately and comfortable, and the bath was deep with hot water. When you get L'Occitane toiletries you know you are being spoilt!

The food at breakfast was top class and there was plenty of it, with friendly table service. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the menu looked great and prices were reasonable.

Portmeirion is, of course, the jewel in Wales crown and a must-see for anyone, not just fans of The Prisoner!

We cannot fault out stay at all, it was just perfect. The only small issue was that I had ordered chocolates for the room but they weren't there when we arrived. Staff were apologetic and tried to get some that evening but were unable to as the shop wasn't open. They were delivered the next morning, and it didn't spoil our stay at all. Also, they were handmade and very high quality.

Would absolutely recommend this suite to anyone staying in Portmeirion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed in the village and had our meals in the hotel - lovely food. Lovely people very friendly - will def be back in summer when the colours of the buildings and the flowers will make it a magical place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our annual stay at this magical hotel and each time we visit is like the first. A totally wonderful experience. We have never been dissapointed, the hotel offers first class service and the food is superb. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the view from the window across the most beautiful estuary enhances the relaxed atmosphere. Set within the Italian Village and a vast wilderness of exotic plants and trees almost convinces you that you have magically been transported across the world. We have stayed in many hotels across Uk and this is by far the best. This is not just a hotel it is a truly magical experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the village but had all of our meals in the hotel. The service was fantastic and the food was gorgeous. The evening 3 course meal was gorgeous and presented in a great way and the breakfasts were filling and a welcome start to the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portmeirion

Address: Minffordd | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portmeirion 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Portmeirion is a romantic seaside resort on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales. It was opened by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926. Noel Coward wrote Blithe Spirit here in 1941. Patrick McGoohan filmed The Prisoner here in 1966-67. From 13-15 September 2013 Portmeirion will once again host Festival No6, a unique celebration of arts and music. Portmeirion is open every day all year and is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Portmeirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portmeirion Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portmeirion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.