We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“castell deudrath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castell Deudraeth Brasserie

Castell Deudraeth Brasserie
Portmeirion Village, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales (Formerly Castell Deudraeth Bar & Grill)
01766 772400
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“castell deudrath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great food. This wonderful restaurant has great food with chicken wrapped in Parma ham with a cheese filling which I strongly recommend I didn't like the desserts however

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    67
    28
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley,uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good food, well presented with super service from a Spanish couple. A visit to Portmeirion a must as the lunch entitled free admission tickets( normally £10)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Have a sandwich at the village”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just came back home from the castell and ate a chocolate biscuit, I thought that I lost my sense of taste. For starter I had the goat cheese panacotta with pickle beetroot and Parmesan crisp, the crisp was nice but couldn't taste the pickle in the beetroot and it was very hard to find the goat cheese (boilíe goat cheese?) or thyme in the panacotta, no seasoning whatsoever not even a touch of dressing with the frisée.
For the main I choose rib of beef and again disappointed, the wafer thin beef was just ok but the Yorkshire pudding was stone dry, the only one roast potatoe was crunchy not crispy but really crunchy by the lack of cooking, the chantenay carrots wasn't prep correctly (you need to remove the inside of the top where the leaf were attached) that's a basic that any chef should know.
My advice would be to some basic training and sack the cooks and employ more chef it will make a big difference, that's my professional advice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Service was good and polite, the interior pleasant and setting lovely. Food was slow to arrive given the moderate number of diners present. Portion size was of the 'nouvelle cuisine' variety - i.e. disappointingly small, but tasted very good (the main courses at least). The dessert menu was limited and rather bland. We selected treacle tart with orange sorbet, but struggled to discern the presence of any treacle or orange. I have to say also that the tables for two are not quite big enough for two with wine, glasses, water jug and plates.

All in all the impression was that it was a pleasant place to eat, but over-priced for what you get.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Brilliant food...Outstanding Service...Amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This place rely does tick all the boxes for me today.... Lovely silver service trained staff...or it certainly felt like that !!, the food came well on time and was very proportioned ....tasted fantastic .... Looked brilliant ... I had tomato soup for starter and sausage and mash for main...both where brilliant ... The management of this place have everything running perfectly well done...the food very well priced and above all you get free entry instead of paying £10 each as we had 2 course's each equaling only £30 a real bargain go and do this with the lunch a true bargain great food and free entry all in BRILLIANT !!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castell Deudraeth Brasserie also viewed

 
Portmeirion, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castell Deudraeth Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castell Deudraeth Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.