We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK but service terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castell Deudraeth Brasserie

Castell Deudraeth Brasserie
Portmeirion Village, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales (Formerly Castell Deudraeth Bar & Grill)
01766 772400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food OK but service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch on special offer with free entrance to Portmeirion after the lunch. We were a party of six - three adults and three children. Service was very slow and very disorganised. The lunch was of acceptable standard with a wide choice. The chocolate panacotta was very good but the bad service really spoilt the lunch. The Portmeirion Hotel is a much better venue for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our special meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a special family lunch at Castell Deudraeth recently. The food was very good, the service exceptional and surroundings very relaxing. We have been a few times before and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We completed the experience by having a walk around the village which was complementary since we had 2 courses, followed by drinks in front of the roasting fire in the castle.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here and the service was excellent. Minibus service from the hotel much appreciated too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Castell Deudraeth and so had a chance to eat at the Brasserie. The food is excellent and the view from the brasserie is lovely.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful setting, heavenly tasting food, attention to detail and courteous service. A very pleasant way to end a wonderful weeken immersed in the Portmeirion experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castell Deudraeth Brasserie also viewed

 
Portmeirion, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castell Deudraeth Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castell Deudraeth Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.