We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration weekend-birthday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added George III Hotel to your Saves list
George III Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Celebration weekend-birthday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location of this hotel was amazing with stunning views of the estuary. The food was also of a high standard both breakfast and the evening meal. Staff were very attentive though service was slow at certain times of the day as there seemed to be a lack of staff. The bedroom was lovely but it would have been helpful to know that the fire exit for our floor was through our bedroom. we would remember this at our next visit and request not to have room 5. The shower didn't work properly and our request for it to be attended to went unheard. However, returning from a long walk and sitting by the wonderful fire in the lounge with a long drink was great and we would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    44
    29
    41
See reviews for
64
104
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pembrokeshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having stopped in for lunch a few months ago, I was delighted to get the chance to stay. Rooms are fairly small but with stunning views, comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom was a little dated and really quite small but ok for a couple of nights. Restaurant is very good with a huge range of food on offer, frankly the kind of range that makes you worry it won't be good quality but it certainly is! Everything we had was good or excellent, including freshly cooked breakfast the following morning. There is a pub as well as the restaurant and you can eat in either - so be as formal or relaxed as you choose! The sheer number of people eating here gives you an idea of the quality of the food - even though it's quite a way from anywhere it was fairly full. I would advise booking if you're not staying the night - if you are, they reserve a table for you unless you want to go elsewhere (don't though because you'd be missing a treat)

Room Tip: Rooms looking out over the estuary are obviously best because of the views. They also have a lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well what can I say, we have tried the George on a number of occasions and still can't believe that such wonderful food at a brilliant location can be spoiled by such poor staff. We reserved a table for the Sunday carvery which is very good, on arrival we were told in an off hand manner we hadn't been booked in as the barman had not passed the booking on to the restaurant manager until that morning. As a result we had been given a table downstairs in the bar. This meant we had to walk upstairs via uncovered outside stairs then select the carvery options and carry the food back down the stairs in the rain. The table which they had given us was next to a constantly opening door which let in a cold draft making enjoying the meal rather difficult. Two of our party had mobility difficulties and this meant they were unable to pick their own food. I would like to say thanks to the young waitress who assisted in selecting their food and carrying their plates down to them via the undercover staff staircase.
This was not the first time the customer care skills of the maitre d have left us baffled but it was by far the worse experience so despite the good food and great views it is unlikely we will return. No doubt the senior staff will be convinced this is our loss not theirs. They are fortunate that there is little competition in the area and no doubt they will carry on regardless. As they say we keep a welcome in the hillside however sadly there is no welcome at the George 3.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Downstairs a warm cosy pub atmosphere. Upstairs beautifully furnished rooms with amazing views of the estuary. Everything you could wish for in a hotel - staff were friendly and helpful and very much made up for our disastrous experience in Penmaenuchaf.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estuary. One of the rooms has a four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the George III Hotel for 3 nights from 23rd Oct 2012,and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found all the staff were very friendly and obliging. We found the wide chioce of breakfasts excellent, as were the 3 evening meals, being able to select from a wide choice of menu,with prices to suit all pockets.
The room we had in The Lodge was comfortable and kept very clean and tidy.
The position and views across the estuary are "out of this world".and walking along the Mawddach Estuary is flat and suitable for all abilities.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will be going back next year.
Wendy & David
PS We just can not understand some of the adverse comments!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

First of all I am extremely surprised by the amount of the negative reviews about this nice warm welcoming place. Please don't be put off by them as they seem unreasonably unfair.
My family and I had meals here previously in the past and never ever felt disappointed. You always get best quality food along with attentive customer service. Yes, it might be slight delays during busiest time of the year but it is indeed very understandable, besides you're always told about await and easily can order some nibbles meanwhile.
Last time we had my birthday celebration here and it went absolutely great. Not just me but every member of my party loved their food (particularly perfectly cooked steaks) and staff was faultless as always. As it's said in a few reviews about lamb shanks I can not help commenting that it is very odd as I happened to order same dish and it was mouthmelting. Meat very juicy and tenderly cooked and along with mint sauce was incredibly tasty.
As for customer service we all felt wanted there and didn't experience even a single inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you wish to visit the most unfriendly,most unwelcoming,most ill mannered hotel in Wales then this is the place for you! They do not care if they serve you or not and two coffees took forever. The staff are unbelievably rude and certainly need to learn the basic art of customer care but do not take my word for it,go and see for yourself, then go and have lunch down the road.....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary.It said to be one of the most beautiful in europe.In the Hamlet of Penmaenpool. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Iii Hotel Penmaenpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George III Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.