We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch with the classiest decaf cappuccino!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Save Saved
You added Penmaenuchaf Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with the classiest decaf cappuccino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We didn't stay at the hall but met friends for Sunday lunch. I loved the surroundings inside and out. There is a lovely garden which would be perfect for photos especially a wedding. The inside is as if you have stepped into your own country mansion. It was quiet when we visited due to horrendous weather so we had the place to ourselves with wonderful attentive service. I had a boudin with lentils which was very very tasty and a lovely hot home made brown roll. Followed by Rhug Lamb, very, very hot roast potatoes, baby carrots and very finely cut ratatouille and very very tasty gravy. I managed to take a photo of my starter after about three mouth fulls but couldn't resist the roast lamb and forgot the photo! My friends and hubby stuffed them selves with freshly cooked Chocolate brownie and ice cream. I went for a decaf cappuccino and it was served in the lovliest china cup with a little plate with a home made biscotti, tiny tiny meringue and a wonderful chocolate. Such attention to detail. The dining room is light and airy and all the tables were beautifully set with orchids. I loved the ambience The toilets are immaculate. We spend a week at a walking festival nearby each year and I will be coming back with friends to try the afternoon tea after having had such lovely food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
14
129
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a one night break at Penmaenuchaf Hall hotel and we have both had a fantastic, relaxing time. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds that you can wander around at lesiure and the reception rooms inside are cosy and welcoming. To be greeted by a roaring log fire in the hall as we arrived on a dull and wet November afternoon was very welcome. Our room (Ashworth) was spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished. The hotel isn't 'boutique chic' and doesn't pretend to be and that was fine by us.

Our highlight of the trip had to be the food. From the delicious afternoon tea to the homemade canapes to the four course evening meal we couldn't fault anything (breakfast was delicious too). I am known for being picky about hot food, hot plates and hate waiting around for food to be served but everything arrived hot and the service was prompt and efficient throughout the evening. Although not on the menu I was offered sirlion steak as this was my preference and it was the nicest steak I have ever eaten (and I eat a lot of steak!)

The staff were without exception attentive, friendly and polite whilst remaining professional and unobtrusive at all times. We were made to feel very welcome and not just anonymous paying customers.

This is going to be an honest revierw so I must mention that my only niggle was the extra charge for coffee at the end of the meal although we didn't partake I feel that this should be included in the price.

Without a doubt we will be returning hopefully for two nights next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Upon entering the grounds of this hotel, you are immediatly impressed as it is set upon the hillside overlooking the river.
We had an extremly spacious suite which i had upgraded from the original booking, it was comfortable, with good size bathroom and lounge area.

We booked dinner in the hotel, which was ok however i agree with some of the previous reviews that it is a little expensive for the quality/quantity/service that the hotel provides.
Breakfast the following day was buffet style plus you could order full welsh cooked if desired.

The weather the weekend we stayed was awful, so we didn't see the hotel & grounds nor the surrounding area at it's best, plus we only stayed one night.

All in all a pleasant hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful scenic area, a peaceful relaxing stay, the staff are friendly and welcoming. We stayed on a KGB deal here for 2 nights @ £199 with breakfast both mornings,a set dinner menu was included but we decided to pay extra and eat from the a la carte menu (hotel put the equivalant to the set menu towards the final bill). It was worth the extra to have the choice and all the food was exquisite, with a lovely ambience in the restaurant. Breakfast was good here too, the rooms were very comfortable providing good amenities i.e vanity mirror that lights. The gardens here are lovely, they also keep bees here producing honey of which you can buy a pot of. On the second night we ate in Dolgellau town, there are various places to eat here in this lovely quaint town. There is plenty to do around the area also, we went on the Steam train from Festininog to Port Maddog, which was amazing. We also visited King Arthurs Caves which is aimed more for young families but have interesting craft shops and gift shops also. I can recommend staying here, it isn't cheap but you pay for what you get. I found it to be an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is by far the worst hotel experience that I have ever had. I'd booked the hotel for my parents 60th wedding anniversary prior to my daughter's wedding. The rest of the family had booked into George III but we wanted my parents to have a more luxurious experience. When we visited them they were In great distress because they had been placed in a tiny 2nd floor room. There was no lift and when I complained to the hotel manager his response was that an 80 year old man had recently climbed Cader Idris. As I had already paid for the first night I switched rooms with my parents who stayed in my four poster with beautiful views of the Mawddach, whilst I slept in their claustrophobic, overpriced garret. The next day I said that my parents would not be returning as they were now comfortable in the George III and that we didn't want the room, for the other 2 nights which we had booked. The hotel manager was chillingly cold and uncompromising and still insisted on deducting the money from my account. He implied that the hotel was in financial difficulties and couldn't afford to forgo the payment so I ended up paying £229 for a room which we didn't use. He was adamant that terms and conditions had to be met even though he had provided 2 octaginarians with a second floor room, when I had expressly told the hotel on more than one occasion that they were in their eighties. Because they had let the room on the second night £73 was deducted from £302 owing - but how they arrived at this £73 was never explained.
My advice to anyone is don't stay here. Another couple in our wedding party stayed on the first floor but were also disappointed by the lack of views. The hotel has great potential but is in fact cold, unloved and in my view seriously under-staffed. The location looks promising but our rooms had no views and the narrow winding road up to the hotel is quite daunting

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are cramped and claustrophobic. Check if room has a view. Also. He k terms and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I needed to stay over in Dolgellau as I was away on Business in the area for a couple of days. The Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel did not disappoint.
It was in a lovely spot with views and walks along the side of the estuary, with a lovely view from my room, which was very comfortable. I booked a table for dinner and found both the service and quality of the food at a very high standard, albeit not cheap, but I don't mind this if the quality is there.
I will be staying again next time in the area.
There isn't a reception as such, but an office behind the check in area

Room Tip: Would be nice for a romantic weekend in Wales
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Birthday present trip for my friend who was celebrating her special birthday. Wonderful scenery, beautiful gardens and lands; we really liked the building. Thought it very ecletic in taste of furniture, pictures and decor; which added to its charm. Would like to say a big Thank You to the staff we met, at the Hotel. The Afternoon Tea & Scones were fab!. Breakfast & Dinner too. We liked the small attention to details i.e, Teapot napkin holders, butter pots, sweets and fruit in dishes along the corridors, Turning down of sheets in the evening, Canapes before dinner - really lovely they were too!. We did the Mawdaach Walk to Barmouth - what a treat, but would say wear appropriate footwear. Barmouth was so-so but in the grand scheme of things, was okay for a chance to see beach and sea. The walk was awash with beautiful scenery, plant life/flowers, water and birds. A treat for photographers. The only drawback is getting back to Hotel from Barmouth. Check out buses or have a taxi number to hand. We ended up in BALA .......... yes Bala. All in all a wonderful 2 day adventure that was fab! Would recommend to our friends. We really enjoyed the break and had a blast

Room Tip: Ashworth on the side was lovely, large room and bathroom, overlooked fallow garden, beautiful scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Address: Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmaenuchaf Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.