We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a solo traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nant Gwynant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel
Junction of A498 and A4086 | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nant Gwynant
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a solo traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After an hectic but adventurous trip down the miners track, I could finally reach this hotel around 9pm. No key to the door but I was safe. Very old fashion, but has feels like home. Please, if you're walking from the snowdon summit, make sure you don't get lost searching for the hotel.
Meals are served on time and they REALLY EXPECT you to be on time. I was 10 mins late for the breakfast and they made sure that I got served the last.
However, for the amount I paid, it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Solo travellers who go there or a single night, go for the cheapest one. There's hardly anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very rustic pub with a hotel attached. Great location and I understand it has its own lake for guests. It does not offer pub food only a set menu but does serve a great pint and has the most wonderful welcoming staff. We stopped there to wait for number 1 son and beloved husband descending Snowdon. It is very old and quaint with alot of history. Children and dogs were welcomed. They even gave my 2 youngest boys wagon wheel biscuits to keep them happy whilst waiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Pen-Y-Gwryd. When we decided that we would be coming to Snowdonia for a week this summer PYG was our first choice.
Booking was very straightforward and on arrival we were quickly served and shown to our room.
We return to PYG because of its mountaineering character and history and the feeling that you are 'home'.
We were very happy with the evening meal choices and remained at the hotel for dinner each night. We also used the packed lunch service and was very happy with what was included.
We always love using the residents bar and sharing stories with fellow guests in fact we were very pleased to be reacquainted with a couple we met their years ago.
Nothing was ever any trouble, we often settled into one of the lounges in the afternoon and staff were always happy to bring us a tray of tea.
Our room was always left clean and tidy and beds were turned down each night.
Other previous reviewers have mentioned a lack of television and facilities in the rooms, but to us the inclusion of these facilities in the rooms would change the whole character of the hotel. We personally come here to escape the technological age.
Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Double rooms with ensuite are limited, so worth booking early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Although we expected traditional and historical we were disappointed by the level of comfort. On arrival we were told that there was no key to the bedroom. We had booked an ensuite room at £100 per night and found a 1950's bathroom with no shower. (My wife's first words were "how do I wash my hair"). No kettle, tea/coffee making facilities or tv in the room. On a postive note the bed was reasonably comfortable and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The location was also excellent for walking but what price should you have to pay for the location?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This old mountain rescue centre has a special heritage with mountaineers....we stayed there for two nights and enjoyed the whole experience, a tasty cooked breakfast, fuel for the trek up Snowden, in the earley evening the traditional bar is full of thirsty walkers. The formality of the evening meal is charming, coffee is served in the lounge at the fire, and an opportunity to share stories.There is a selection of antique bathrooms to soak away the aches and pains!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just spent the weekend at Pen Y Gwryd with family and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The hotel itself was charming, set in a spectacular location. Our en-suite accommodation was pretty comfortable. Twin beds with plenty of wardrobe/drawer space and a bathroom with a bath but no shower. The staff were friendly and helpful....the bar was well stocked and the food was excellent (good value (£25) for a lovely home-cooked 3 course meal). The packed lunches were adequate and cost £8 each (2 rounds of sarnies, a choccy biscuit and a piece of fruit). The games room was great - we played table tennis and pool and there was a TV which came in handy for catching up on all the Olympic action! The hotel is perfectly placed for walks up Snowdon....approx. 20 mins walk to Pen Y Pass (Pyg and Miners track) and about 10 mins drive to Llanberis for the Railway Station. Generally speaking the hotel was clean although the towel in the ladies loo (near the games room) was rather dirty and looked like it hadn't been changed in weeks. All in all, a very pleasant stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Although there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, if you ask at reception, they will deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 23rd July.It was recommended by Stuart Maconie so thought it would be okay.It was adequate.Ideal for climbers of course,but at least put a tea tray in the room!Meal is is a set one,which is fine,but very basic.
We had a drink or two in bar after meal but thought staff were trying to get rid of us.One lady asked for coffee but because she did not have it earlier, was refused service of it!Only a coffee for goodness sake.
Adequate place for the purpose but will probably not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pen Y Gwryd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Gwryd Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Pen y Gwryd
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel Nant Gwynant, Wales
Address: Junction of A498 and A4086 | Snowdonia National Park, Nant Gwynant, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Nant Gwynant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nant Gwynant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th century 3rd generation family run mountain inn nestled in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park with a history for British mountaineering with memorabilia from the 1953 Everest expedition in the bar along with many Famous signatures. We have en suite and traditional rooms, there is a sauna and natural pool in our extensive gardens with Snowdon and many other fantastic walks right on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Y Gwryd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pen Y Gwryd Hotel to your Saves list