We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bell Inn
Redbrook Road | Redbrook, Monmouth, Wales
+44 1600 713612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 41 Restaurants in Monmouth
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: English, Pub, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Won't be going back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We came here for a family meal and was sadly left quite disappointed. We thought it was going to be a lovely meal, especially with all the mentions of home cooked food! To start with we was waiting a long time for our food, and the place was dead. 2 of the 4 meals were ok but the other 2, was another story! Both of the 2 were so oily but the main problem was that mine was inedible as it was so overcooked. I'm not one to complain usually, as I don't like to make a scene, but my main meal was so overcooked that I could only eat a couple bites (i'm not exagerating either). I struggled to cut it with my knife it was that bad, which is saying something! It wasn't something that can easily be burnt either. I had a quick apology and was still charged full price for mine, which I thought was a joke. Not a discount, free drink or even desert offered. I would have complained further about this, but I didn't want to risk spoiling the family night further, especially when our family had travelled down especially. The pub itself was friendly and the locals seemed nice and chatty. Overall though, we won't be returning sadly!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven with a wine list to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Gastropub is a term that is applied quite loosely these days to some pubs. The bell deserves this description. Everything from the rooms,breakfast lunch and dinner was fantastic. The setting is wonderful with some great walks to enjoy before you come back to relax in the wonderful atmosphere .
Being a wine lover the amount of wines by the glass was commendable, also the mark up on top bottles was very reasonalble.
Loved it

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“a tasting pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Canapes beforehand were tasty and a nice touch. The food was very well cooked and presented. Service was friendly and helpful. A lovely range of cheeses offered - my favourite - and we tried the beef and the pork. Both were well cooked and very tasty. Particularly liked the mini steak and kidney pie. Scallop starters sweet and juicy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellant food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The new management has made this pub into a great location to stop for either a excellant meal or a friendly chat and drink. We were welcomed like locals and felt like we had been going their all our lives.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High price low quality!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Great setting, Great large rooms. Serious though, the price all very high and very bad service. This is basically a very pretty part of South Wales, however to charge London prices and serve up expected good food they are having a laugh! One thing is worth mentioning, comprehensive Wine List, but why travel to here???

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.