We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginitive, delicious, locally sourced food with a warm, friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stonemill

The Stonemill
Monmouth Road, Monmouth NP25 5SW, Wales
01600 716273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Monmouth
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Imaginitive, delicious, locally sourced food with a warm, friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This has become a favourite venue for our family, we just keep going back. The food is unfailingly excellent, locally sourced and utterly delicious. Menus vary regularly, reflect seasonal produce, and always present a difficult choice - dishes are imaginitive, beautifully presented and use such fresh and good quality ingredients. Our children can always have a child-sized portion of the adult dishes and are made welcome in this warm and friendly restaurant. Staff are welcoming and accommodating, for example taking one of our party's gluten intolerance in their stride. And this in a beautiful old stone mill in rolling Welsh countryside - just fabulous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    34
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing venue and the staff are fab!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had my friends wedding here and what a lovely place, words can't describe how amazing the day was and the staff were just fab they couldn't enough for you..will definitely be back here for food/stay hopefully in the near future..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited as part of a group of 14 for a "big" birthday celebration. Due to the size of our party, we sent our menu choices in advance, and Michelle and the staff were most accommodating when we mucked about a bit with the final number and choice on the day. Most of us opted for the 3 course set lunch, and no-one was disappointed. The food was delicious, staff friendly and efficient, and the whole experience lovely. Very good value too. Helped make turning 50 bearable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The setting is wonderful. The restaurant is in a converted 16th century cider mill with a number of cottages available to rent. Three of us enjoyed the 3 course Sunday lunch. All of the starters were very good, the mains were nice but not amazing (but then making a Sunday roast amazing is a challenge) and the deserts were all very good. Three courses for £18 was a very good value and i will be going back to try the full menu. I dont think you would go to far wrong renting one of the cottages and using them as a base to explore the wye valley and enjoying a few meals in the mill in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and sensibly priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Four of us celebrating a diamond wedding had lunch at The Stonemill. We were given a set menu with adequate choices and a a good average wine menu. Service was cheerful and professional but seemed a bit slow. We were booked in fro 12.30 and started our meal at 1.30 but we had ordered drinks on arrival.
The setting is beautiful was a pleasant outside area. For folk with mobility problems there is an easy access which avoids the stairs inside the restaurant.
I would confidently recommend The Stonemill to anyone wanting a fair priced meal which is well cooked and presented cheerfully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonemill also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Stonemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stonemill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.