We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and attentive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe

Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe
76 Monnow St, Monmouth, Wales (Formerly The Tea Room at La Piazza)
01600 716831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Monmouth
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe is small but perfectly formed. Upstairs is like stepping back in time, elegantly furnished with panelled walls, Italian Leather chairs and stunning chandeliers. Waitress service and freshly made food and home made cakes add to the charm of this lovely Tea Room / Coffee shop and now downstairs, on the ground floor we have opened a more informal cafe with comfortable arm chairs and shabby chic tables & chairs but still beautifully decorated. Upstairs can be booked for anniversary Afternoon teas and special occasions. A little oasis in the heart of the pretty market town of Monmouth.
Restaurant details
Description: Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe is small but perfectly formed. Upstairs is like stepping back in time, elegantly furnished with panelled walls, Italian Leather chairs and stunning chandeliers. Waitress service and freshly made food and home made cakes add to the charm of this lovely Tea Room / Coffee shop and now downstairs, on the ground floor we have opened a more informal cafe with comfortable arm chairs and shabby chic tables & chairs but still beautifully decorated. Upstairs can be booked for anniversary Afternoon teas and special occasions. A little oasis in the heart of the pretty market town of Monmouth.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a great choice for a light lunch. Nice upstairs room with comfortable chairs and pleasant staff. Good selection of food and cakes. Our party of 5 were all happy with their lunch and price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely upstairs tearoom. Fantastic strong coffee. Freshly made food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great little tea room upstairs above their gift shop. Great strong coffee you can stand your spoon up in. We love their afternoon tea, finishes off an afternoons shopping nicely. (it's £10 each but you need to pre-book on 01600 716831). Best tearoom in Monmouth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Shop in mon monmouth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I brought my mother & father in law a welsh love spoon from here, i even had a choice to engrave it and everything!!! worth the money for sure and well crafted..

The tea room is very well decorated and clean, with a good range of freshly cooked food. The pudding were home made cakes or you could have ice-cream from the parlor downstairs.
Amazing would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Lovely tearoom- traditional, spotlessly clean with a nice range of lunch items and homemade cakes, scones etc.
Friendly, efficient service with a smile.
Recommended - will return again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda O, Owner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so glad you appreciated The Tea Room at La Piazza. We have tried to make it special whether popping in for a coffee and cake or lunch. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards - Lynda, Owner of La Piazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Special Occasion Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lynda really made us feel special on Valentines Day. Our table was also beautifully decorated when we visited again for our Wedding Anniversary a few weeks later. My wife and I strongly recommend this location, even if all you wish for is a quiet Cup of Tea in an elegant setting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs Downstairs Tearoom & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.