We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitehill Farm Cottage

Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Whitehill farm cottage with the garden planted to attract wildlife
Spacious cottage kitchen /diner
cottage terrace with panoramic views
Spacious lounge with comfortable seating and TV
King bedroom with brass bed, chaise lounge and tv
Monmouth
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MidlandsM...
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This cottage is in an idyllic location with beautiful views of the surrounding hills and countryside. We were fortunate to stay during the only warm spell in July and being able to sit outside in the peace and quiet of the Welsh countryside was a real treat. It is also close enough to the main road (A40) to make it an ideal base for exploring Monmouthshire and the south Wales coast.

The owner providing us with Welsh cakes and tea / coffee on arrival added to the friendly welcome we received. The cottage itself is lovely, really spacious. The open plan layout of the kitchen / dining room and lounge really adds to the country feel of the cottage. The kitchen was very well stocked with utensils and equipment (dish washer / ironing board / iron etc) and having breakfast around the large kitchen table made for a nice start to the day.

The 3 bedrooms are again very spacious and the beds were comfortable. Having 3 bathrooms (2 en-suite) was an added bonus. Having an en-suite bedroom on the ground floor was ideal for my elderly parents.

We were lucky to have found this cottage as it is a real gem.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gayatri B
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well-equipped cottage with lovely views in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Whitehill Cottage Farm for a weekend in September as a base from which to visit the Abergavenny Food Festival, approx. 8 miles away. It was perfect. The cottage was well-equipped with space both inside and out for four adults, two energetic young boys and a Labrador. All the rooms were furnished to a very high standard and the large kitchen/diner was perfect for making and enjoying a family meal. The view on the morning after we arrived was stunning, the bench outside the back door ideal for sitting and enjoying our morning coffee. A good tip and one Beryl, the owner, advised (and of which we did not take heed!) is to be sure to stick to the main path in the woods up behind the cottage!
To arrive to a tray of tea, coffee and Welsh cakes was really lovely, as was Beryl who showed us around the property and had information to hand.
All in all a lovely weekend in Monmouthshire; our only regret that it was such a short stay. We can't wait to go back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Michael L
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well appointed cottage, idealic location with outstanding views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Owner very welcoming and accomodating to my husbands requirement of medical oxygen.The cottage was well equipped, very clean and suitable for famalies and those with disabilities as it had an en suite bedroom downstairs, There were plenty of wardrobe space, white goods and ample cookware. Added bonus of being on the internet. The views were breathtaking and had we gone in the summer and had been able to sit outside in warmer weather it would have been ideal with a barbecue, glass of wine what more could you ask for. There was ample literature showing places of interest, games, tv, dvd, music everything had been thought of. The owner herself was very friendly and we were met with tea on a tray and home made welsh cakes, which were lovely. We will have no hesitation in going back which we hope to do in the spring with friends. We went this time with our son and partner age 35 and it was right up their street as they have horses and was their type of holiday, they loved the country walks and hope themselves to go back but with their horses as they found so many bridal ways.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone it was great,

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The facilities on offer and the location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$156
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Beryl Y
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 14 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing