We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Really Enjoyed my stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Penallt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Penallt
Save
You added The Inn at Penallt to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Penallt, Monmouth NP25 4SE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Amazing Really Enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The food was lovely and the rooms where great. Nice and cosy rooms and the bar had a nice feel. The staff were nice and the area was great for walking and trekking. I only stayed for two night but got a full experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
62
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights - Thursday 26 and Friday 27 March. The Inn at Penallt exceeded all our expectations. Whilst the rooms are small, they are clean and modern and perfectly adequate. The Inn is set in beautiful countryside in a small village. Check in was easy and very welcoming. The bar area has a log burning stove with scrubbed wooden tables and church pews as seating. The bar has an extensive range of ciders (to be expected in this part of the country) in bottles and draft. A couple of real ales were on draft at the time. There is also an extensive wine list and choice of malt whiskeys. From the owners, chef and all the staff that work at the Inn could not do enough for you and made you feel extremely welcome. On to the absolute highlight of our stay the food. The Welsh breakfast was unbelievable. With the bacon been cured on site, free range eggs, fabulous sausages and all the other items of an equally high standard. The bread for the toast is baked in house, the butter is churned in house, marmalade is also produced in the Inn and the honey is locally produced. As a starter for breakfast we highly recommend the porridge with cream and brown sugar - yum yum. The evening meals are outstanding on our first evening we had home made tomato soup, followed by slow cooked pork belly and desert was bread and butter pudding. The following evening we had venison and my partner had rack of lamb, followed by Bakewell tart. All the produce is locally sourced, to an extremely high standard and cooked to perfection. In closing would we recommend - without hesitation - yes, the food is some of the best we have ever had. Will return - definitely - and are looking at some dates already.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We have eaten and drank at the inn on numerous occasions. When ever we are in the area it's the first place we would think of going to. Last August we stayed in the b&b accommodation with our dog on the way back home after our holiday. Best part of the holiday. All staff and owners are unbelievably friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed here for one night! Friday 27th March 2015.
So simple to book direct over the telephone, extremely helpful giving information regarding the immediate area ( have never visited this part of the UK before)
Check in was good and the double room we had was really nice, spotlessly clean, real comfy bed..
Went to a nearby local pub, The Boat, who actually recommended that we ate at the Inn (unbeknown to them we had already reserved a table),
We certainly weren't disappointed, the food was fantastic, and service second to none.
The owners are passionate about food and took great pleasure in describing that they use only local produce. It was a culinary delight of exceptional quality.
Good range of local real ales and the wine list was pretty
They didn't disappoint on the full welsh breakfast either. Everything was cooked to order and was as good as the evening meal.
Can't wait to return....

Room Tip: All good, whatever you choose from the rooms to food, you certainly won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

After spending a lovely week (despite the miserable weather) in the area, we had decided to head to the Inn at Penallt on our final evening to try the food everyone we spoke to in the local towns kept telling us about!
We checked their website and reviewed the menu, checked out their details and location and headed off to find them. After a long (but amazingly scenic) drive, we arrived and although from the outside it appeared to be closed, we headed inside. We were met by a young man behind the bar and once we had sat ourselves down and admired the view made our way to the bar to order some drinks (sadly, with a choice of only two ales on tap the choice was anything but vast).
It was at this point that I asked if the drinks could be placed on a tab as we were intending to have dinner and would prefer to pay for everything at once. I was then informed that both chefs were off sick and that they hadn't been serving food all week. At no point on the pub's website or on entering the bar was this information made obvious and on hearing this information my partner and I, as well as the two other customers in the pub left in search of food.
I understand there's nothing that can be done about staff illness, however it might have been advisable to advise customers of the lack of food service before they drive all the way out to the pub (or at the very least on their arrival to the bar) - it was clear the other two customers had arrived a reasonable amount of time before us and were specifically waiting to order food.
We were disappointed but I can imagine that this place would be well worth a visit in the future when they are serving food. The views are stunning and although it was a fairly long way from a main road, it was a brilliant location. I look forward to writing a better review of the place in the future.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innpenallt, Owner at The Inn at Penallt, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Dear weedy, many thanks for visiting us at The Inn.Jackie and I are sincerely sorry that due to exceptional circumstance we had had to take a decision to close our kitchen that day.

We have three professional chefs at The Inn, one was off, one had come down with a viral infection and one was recovering in hospital following an emergency operation I have to say that morning I checked all the mirrors in the building to find out where the bad luck had come from.

In choosing to visit us we are delighted that during your time in The Wye Vally you had received such positive reports about our food and service, Jackie and I are very conscious that people make a very specify journey to visit us and always look to return that effort with the quality of our menus and service. On that day, faced with difficult circumstances we believed the right course of action was to shut our kitchen rather than offer food below our normal standards although we did remain open throughout for drinks.

Having made the decision not to serve food we made every feasible attempt to publicise the circumstances. In fact we only closed for one days ALC service rather than the week you refer to and it is the first time in 5yrs we have had to do this due to staffing

You are correct in pointing out that we didn't amend our web site, this is because the site is managed by a hosting company and up dates can take 2/3 days to appear, as we were re opening the following day any site information would have been out of date and in accurate by the close of day.

However we did call all of our booked guests and arranged alternative bookings where possible, up dated our answer machine detailing the reason for that days closure, positioned a large A board out side the front of The Inn stating we were unable to serve food and handed out a written letter from Jackie and I with a full explanation of the days events along with a discount voucher by way of apology to guests similar to your selves who arrived without having pre booked.

Again I am sincerely sorry we were unable to serve you food on your arrival and very much hope you are able to return when next in The Wye Valley and take advantage of the discount offered for the inconvenience caused,

kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Stayed here for a second time, this time we brought friends. So some slight apprehension, but there was no need to worry - it was as good as our first visit and our friends fell in love with the Inn at Penallt as well. The welcome was warm and friendly, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the food and wine are excellent. The breakfast is one of the best around. Another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Having just returned from a short break in Wales.we decided to spend our first night in penallt enroute to Carmarthen. The Food was best We have had in a long time.the room although bit small was very nice and very clean and comfortable.the staff were very welcoming and would do anything for you.and the locals very friendly.thank you Andrew,Jackie and all your staff for making us feel incredibly welcome.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Penallt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Penallt

Address: Penallt, Monmouth NP25 4SE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Penallt 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie & Andrew offer you a very warm welcome to their 18c Country Inn and Restaurant serving the very best in Welsh & local produce. The Inn was named AA pub of the year for Wales in 2013, has two AA rosettes and featured in both The Michelin Guide to eating Out & Hardens Restaurant guide 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Penallt Monmouth, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Penallt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.