We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Balti

Jewel Balti
39 Drybridge Street, Monmouth NP25 5AD, Wales
01600 775507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fabulous food...great service atmosphere and decor...fresh delicious and a creative original menu to keep everyone happy and keep you going back...excellent take away service too

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant food, brilliant welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place never fails to impress. The food is fantastic, but don't look at the menu just ask Rocky the manager who takes pride in suggesting dishes both on and off the menu that you might like. Everything about this place glistens, the surroundings, the food and the welcome.

I can't recommend it enough. Every meal goes better and better

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent service and meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cannot fault this restaurant at all, I like spicer food but not vindaloo standard and I am recommended different dishes every time. I love this personalisation which is lacking from a lot of restaurants. What can I say, fabulous food, excellent customer service and I always get a warm, sincere welcome from the staff. I feel I must comment on a previous review on 28th Oct, from logsky, where the reviewer gave poor feedback. I was sitting next to this table on the night and I have to say comments are not justified. The table appeared to be at a birthday celebration and in my opinion were fairly well oiled on arrival and then did not seem to be happy that free birthday drinks were not available to the whole table. No one would expect that, so I don't think that is a fair appraisal of the situation. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best "Indian" restaurant for many miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The range and quality of food is nothing short of superb.
Service is excellent - waiters will often direct the diner to a particularly special dish which they think might surprise and delight.
The ambiance is modern although not in the style of a sharp London brasserie.
The place is often full to the rafters with local Mnmouthians who clearly know a good thing when the see/taste it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went here very recently with my elderly parents. The staff were really helpful and very kind which made it a very pleasant visit. The decor is good, but the chairs are rather too large. I found the food to be very good and the portion sizes were right. The naan bread was really light and fluffy and the banana fritters were excellent. I would certainly go back here again and would also recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel Balti also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Monmouth, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Jewel Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Balti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.