We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punch House Monmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Punch House Monmouth to your Saves list
Punch House Monmouth
4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

18 family members all stayed at the punch house hotel 21 - 23 June. We had a lovely time, all the rooms were boutique style as advertised. New bathrooms immaculately clean. The staff managed extremely well. They couldn't do enough for us. Food was very good. Especially the breakfast which was locally sourced. Best bacon I have tasted in years. The location was in the heart of the bustling town. Lots of quirky tea rooms and nice restaurants. If you like the cafe style culture the punch house is ideal. But if you want a very quite time off the beaten track then choose somewhere else. But for all of us it was ideal. Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
24
61
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend Friday 20 to Sunday 22 June while visiting family in Monmouth and found it more than lived up to the good reviews on TA. Comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff all make for a good experience. We liked the relaxed atmosphere and the "all day" breakfast was amazing. We are late risers so to be able to amble down to the restaurant without being rushed was a big plus for us. The food was delicious and well presented. We must try the Tapas next time which looked great. Of course, the fantastic weather and the central location helped - we left feeling we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed fri and sat 20, 21 June. A very welcoming staff (at all levels, even the cleaners).

One slight downside the top rooms are hot and had to wait for our food, but other than that had a very enjoyable time, the staff couldnt have been more accomodating and especially Hannah (not sure if she is the manager, if she isnt she should be), knew exactly what she was doing all the time and nothing was too much trouble - I would employ her!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday night in May 2014. We were warmly welcomed in from a very wet and miserable day by Iain the manager. When we booked via booking.com the family room was the only room available priced at £90. Much to our surprise Iain very kindly reduced the price to that of a double room £70, when he saw that there was only two of us. The room was beautifully decorated, with a lovely view down the main street in Monmouth. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfortable. I would highly recommend the Punch House for a weekend away and will certainly stay here again. However the only minor let down was the breakfast which didn't live up to expectations. Although featured on the menu there were no croissants, the toast was tasteless and the whole process felt rather haphazard. Don't let this put you off though as we may have experienced a one-off that didn't reach their usual high standards, who knows?

Room Tip: Family room has three beds and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

After finding it difficult to park in Monmouth we were greeted by smiley and friendly staff who seemed to go above and beyond for us and other guests that were staying. The bar and restaurant area were a mix of the old and the new with a great selection of food and drink. Our room was warm and well decorated with a great shower and comfy bed. I would highly recommend the Punch House to my friends and family even if it was just based on the staff alone. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend because we were attending a presentation at shire hall! Lovely room, very nicely decorated! All room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, we stayed in room 9 which was at the front of the hotel and we didn't have any disturbance through the night even though it was a Saturday and bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was fab, massive full English which neither of us could finish! The orange juice is so fresh it tasted so nice!! Hotel right in the centre of monmouth with parking just around the corner which is fab! Would definitely stay here again if staying in monmouth! Really good value for money!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at this B&B while on business in the area, the service was excellent and the general manager in particular was extremely helpful and professional. My room was very clean and the breakfast was very good. I would definitely recommend this as a comfortable place to stay and would stay here again if in Monmouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punch House Monmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.