We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punch House Monmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Punch House Monmouth to your Saves list
Punch House Monmouth
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Could be a lovely pub, but in desperate need of updating, dark and depressing. No handrail in bath/shower. Food was good breakfast adequate. Lovely little town but would not stay here again, unless it had a facelift.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
73
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed Sat 21st Sep 2013. We have never stayed anywhere as dusty as this, you could and I did write in the dust is really was so thick. There was no tablet soap at all and only. two squirts of the shower gel and it was empty. This was our first and definately our last visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great situation, but the extremely unhelpful receptionist (who was more keen on kissing her boyfriend in the bar...... than serving us) should have been a warning. The rooms were dirty, dark and in a poor state of repair. Shame, they could have been amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, arrived late and was welcomed with a smile and a beer which is always good! Staff are fantastic but everywhere needs updating (apparently there refurbishing it next week!!!!) but it's not bad currently just dated, hotel room was very spacious bathroom very dated, bed slightly uncomfortable and its quite noisy in the morning with traffic outside.. I always be as honest as I can in reviews so everything I've said is basically very petty points in reality but its the only critisism I can give tbh lol manager is lovely and the town is stunning oh and this hotel is the best value I've ever had !!! I paid £40 for the night trust me I've stayed top and bottom of this country and this is excellent value for money ;) would I go back... Absolutely

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited the Punch house during a trip to Monmouth town.. a quaint little town in Wales. The food and service was excellent. My Son accidentally spilled a drink all over the floor but the staff were very pleasant and quick in cleaning it up and even gave us a free replacement drink. We would certainly recommend the Punch house for a nice meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not a place we would rush back to ! Suppose you pay for what you get quite cheap but still certain standards should be met. The staff were friendly enough from the bar but the room was really quite poor ,tiles off the wall in the bathroom and the bedding had seen better days ! the pillows were a joke as flat as a pancake needed at least 5 to make a decent 1 !!! We were there 3 days and the only thing that got replenished was the tea/coffee sachets no hint of a fresh towel or hoovering will not be returning although the one plus point was it was central but no parking so budget for car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

my husband and I with our newborn arrived for a two night stay for a wedding in the area, here is are review...
Few bad things to say...
1. Staff friendly but could be more helpful.
2. Cleanliness of room VERY poor i.e dusty, sink not been washed (old toothpaste marks from previous stayers), room needed hovering, dirty marks in shower room, dirty marks on towels, no one came and tidied room such as stocking up tea's/coffee's and/or changing bin bag and/or giving us fresh towels.
3. Poor maintenance in room i.e the sink leaked and hot tap didn't work properly.
4. Parking wasn't too bad for us but I could see it being a problem for others. Parking is a small walk from inn and it's a "pay and display'
Positive things..
1. Pub area really nice, food lovely and had nice selection on alcoholic drinks.
2. As we had a newborn we were thankful for a room on the top floor because of the noise from the entertainment.
3. Entertainment was on.
4. Bar seemed friendly and busy.
.... And would we recommend to anyone well NO we wouldn't!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch House Monmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punch House Monmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.