We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Bras Castle

Bryn Bras Castle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrug
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Bras Castle
Save
You added Bryn Bras Castle to your Saves list
Llanrug LL55 4RE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A Magical Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Despite record rainfalls in Wales at the time, once we decided not to let a little precipitation dampen our vacation, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This castle inn and its expansive garden setting is very private, quiet, secluded, and serene. So quiet in fact we never saw the other guests. While the accommodation itself is a little lacking, it is after all, a castle and one should expect less than perfect -- it only adds to the charm. We stayed in the spacious, two floor, Tower Suite. It was a little musty and damp but once we figured out how to use the heater tucked into the expansive fireplace, we were quite comfy. The bed was the best we have ever slept in. Our innkeeper was very warm and welcoming and then left us alone until our departure. We were greeted with a nice bottle of wine and a basket full of snacks and teas. The best part is the expansive garden. We would love to go back and hope for better weather.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is very spacious, though the bath lacks heat which might be uncomfortable even in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you wish to experience staying in a castle, this could be for you, especially if you are looking for a nice peaceful tranquil holiday, situated in a very good position, having easy access to pubs, restaurants, attractions, castles and more castles.
We stayed in the Flag Tower, the apartment was super clean, it had wonderful views, yes the furniture is a bit tired, but what do you expect from antique furniture of that era, it wouldn't be a castle without it. The apartment is well equipped with all the necessities, including a generous amount of breakfast cereals, fruit, snack bars & drinks to keep you going for a few days. The caretakers were pleasant and very helpful. As I suffer from allergies, my only issue was the musty smell, I'm told this is common with Castles of that era, and have had friends experience the same at other castles. Apart from that, all was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

If you want to step back in time in resplendent antique furnishings and historical building and vast private and secluded grounds then try Bryn Bras Castle for a week or weekend. Neville and Marita are most welcoming and hospitable and will gladly share their local points of interest information and directions with you. A spectacular view of Snowdon and Padarn Lakecan be had with only a small hike within the grounds; a slightly longer hike will provide Snowdonia views and as far as Anglesey on a clear day. The only greeters are the local sheep who will show intent curiosity.
Caernarvon castle with its 12 th century history are less than 3 miles away as is Llandberis, in the other direction, where you can take the cog railway to the summit. It can't get more spectacular than that within the UK. Mountains, lakes, beaches and more castles are within an hour's drive from Bryn Bras. You may visit Conway, Beaumaris, Caernarfon, Cricieth and Harlech castles. North Wales abounds with steam railways the most recent to be inaugurated is from Caernarfon to Beddgelert but there is a one also in Llanberis along the lake shore from the slate muesum and the electricity power plant buried within the mountain at Llanberis.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will most defintly be staying there during all our future trips to North Wales

Room Tip: If available for your stay then request the Tower, please the photograhs on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I had seen the reviews below but was prepared to give the place a chance because the more recent ones were positive, countering the negative ones. The place looks very impressive from the website and the brochure; indeed the apartment was spacious and the bed very comfy. It was a good location for exploring the area. We enjoyed a walk in the extensive grounds from where we had a splendid view of a buzzard. However, we thought that it was overpriced compared to the other places we stayed at in North Wales. We didn't find it that relaxing - I was very conscious of not making work for myself with cleaning up at the end. Overall we were rather disappointed and would not consider going there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have just had a most fantastic break at this wonderful castle. We received a very warm welcome from the owners, along with an interesting tour. We have read some negative reviews about the hosts and can only assume these people were from London, (as we are), where taking the time to be friendly and polite is often frowned upon (and seen as a waste of time). We stayed in the north tower apartment, which was extremely spacious. The apartment was beautifully decorated and had wonderful views of the gardens and landscape beyond.
We enjoyed walks in the vast grounds and had a really romantic weekend. We felt like William and Kate but without the paparazzi!

Room Tip: Perfectly located for a trip to Snowdon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

It was reassuring that after being warmly and efficiently welcomed in, my wife and I felt we were amongst understandable and approachable friends. Which proved to be the case for the rest of our enjoyable stay.
The spacious apartment was comfortable, convenient and pleasing to the taste, providing an atmosphere that complimented the style of the castle, with a touch of nostalgia from bygone days, when everything seemed to be so much more relaxed.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet, with the freedom and relaxation from daily routine. Also, other guests we saw seemed very contented.
We wholeheartedly agree with the good reviews and we cannot understand how the anger and personal animosity generated by an earlier respondent (some years ago but still on your site) could possibly apply to such a wonderful environment and especially towards such naturally pleasant and hospitable hosts. Did they perhaps mistakenly expect a 5 star hotel with 24 hour service,rather than the self catering of Bryn Bras. Their criticism seems so unjustified and cruel that my Wife and felt compelled to write our reviews to you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I was a little nervous about spending a week at this location after reading the other reviews, but am extremely glad that we went anyway. Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable and almost as large as our 3 bedroom house. The owners were rightfully proud of their property and we were glad to take the tour. I spent several hours talking to the husband. Their recommendations of sights to see were helpful and we enjoyed them all. We have recommended this propery to our friends and will stay there again if we are ever in the area. Just remember that respect garners respect and you too can enjoy this memorable location.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Bras Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Bras Castle

Address: Llanrug LL55 4RE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanrug
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Llanrug
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Bryn Bras Castle Llanrug, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Bras Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.