We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best camping trip ever its perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nantcol Waterfalls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbedr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nantcol Waterfalls
Save
You added Nantcol Waterfalls to your Saves list
Cefn Uchaf, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best camping trip ever its perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I love it here so much it really is the best campsite in snowdonia the owners are very friendly and you always feel welcome when you arrive also there is plenty of room the waterfalls are stunning and kids have lots of fun too the toilets and showers are very clean all the time and they have shampoo if you forget it also if you run out of things such as milk,eggs,water and etc they sell it in reception. also dogs are welcome and there allowed off leads which is good also there is wood for sale for fires which is very good if you run out its also a great atmosphere all the time and you really do have a great time its also not so far from town and beaches the worry part is the narrow road you have to come down to get to the campsite other then that everything is perfect. we have been coming here for many years and we have never had a bad time also if its windy the campsite i very sheltered so you don't get much wind. there is also a washing machine and dryer which is good for long stays and washing up facilities which are very clean but i suggest you take your own washing up bowl. also the walk up to the top of the waterfalls is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in August - what a lovely place. The kids loved it and we enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the toilets and showers and never found I had to queue. Whilst we were here we ventured out and climbed Snowden, visited steam railway and booked gorge scrambling. The river was a real perk for the children, who enjoyed playing in it. Take a blow up boat for the kids!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our second time in Wales, but the first camping.
It was amazing, sadly we only had three nights. but this site was so nice. we stayed just out of season so it was not very busy, the owner was great and encouraged us to spread out.
There are a few little nice local pubs, lots of walks and you can build your own fires witch is awesome. Should I return to wales, I would deffo stay here again.
We cannot fault it. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a lovely campsite for families. The drive up can be a scary and you do feel like you are in the middle of nowhere at times, but that is part of its charm. The children thought it was a slice of heaven. The water was freezing, but they wanted to play in the river the whole time. Thoroughly recommend the purchase of a boat from Barmouth too. We loved the fires, looking up a clear sky with the fire burning was fantastic and something the kids will always remember.
My one real let down was the cleanliness of the shower blocks and loos. There weren't quite enough showers and the loos seemed dirty all the time. Hair and dust in the hand drier wasn't great.
Also, make sure you know how to deal with ticks - we found two,and luckily we knew... just go prepared!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancelc1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have contemplated over the past few days whether to write a review or not as this campsite is just amazing and the mean part of me want to keep this place a secret!!

I stayed twice in August at this campsite after family recommended it....yes the road to the campsite is a single track and can be a bit tricky if you meet another car but once you reach the campsite you arrive to a really well laid out site. Having camped for a number of years this site just doesn't feel overcrowded at all especially when they are fully booked and the facilities are just so clean (cleanest toilets and shower: I've been in) it's 50p for a shower card which u get from reception. Reception was open 9am-9pm and the owner and his family were so warm and welcoming!!

The kids spent hours on the rope swing, playing in the river and making dens in the forest and only returned back to the tent when they needed feeding and when it was marshmallow time over the open fire!!

Barmouth is not too far away and the village (llanbedr) has a butcher and a couple of shops for essentials!!

Definitely returning next year but be warned to book in advance as there is already a waiting list for electric hook up pitches next spring bank holiday apparantley!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a delightful campsite this is! We had a wonderful week here - admittedly the great weather we enjoyed helps, but this campsite is just charming.

The staff here are friendly and helpful and the situation couldn't be better. Off the beaten track but close enough to civilisation to provide days out ... Barmouth, Shell Island, Harlech and Portmadog are all within easy reach.

You are allowed to have small campfires here, and firelighters, kindling and logs are available for a small fee. The river is shallow and safe for children to swim in - but bring wet suits as it's very cold!!

The on-site shop is very limited so make sure you have plenty of supplies (food, gas, beer!). You will have to pay for the showers (50p buys you 5 min 20 secs!) but they are clean and feel newly built. There's also a laundrette on site should you need it.

Room Tip: Take everything you need with you as the on-site shop is very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Harling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Yes we are newbies at camping & our friends had been advised that Nantcol was a superb site to cut our teeth on. There were so right. We set off from Norfolk and we became more and more excited as we left behind the flat lands of East Anglia and, as we edged nearer to North Wales the scenery became more and more beautiful. We found the site easily using the sites advice and the access road was so exciting (narrow but beautiful).
The Site owners son greeted us and pointed out the way to reception A warm welcome by the site owner and a perfect check in was encouraging. The son showed us to our pitch on his quad bike. We had an elec hook up and I have to say the pitch was very generous. We hastily set up and as we were finishing the owners son and daughter came round with a 4 x 4 selling fire wood for the camp fire at £4 a bag and Kindling for £1 a box ( very reasonable) We sat under the stars (no light pollution at all) and were lucky enough to see the palisades meteor shower!
Next morning we trekked to the shower block and considering we were there in August (full capacity) we didn't have to wait long (get in early!) Washing facilities very clean as was the dish wash area. We didn't notice any litter as some have mentioned. There is a separate area with the large refuse bins and these were very full but it wasn't flying about and it was high season.
The water falls are superb and you MUST do the nature walks. In the evening the air was full of the smell of wood fires and BBQ's - just lovely.
Close by is the small village with a lovely pub and 2 stores with all the basics you need as well a a small gift shop. About 15 miles away is Port Merion and the Festinniog railway but remember 15 miles takes the travelling time of 30 as the roads are very narrow and you need to slow down
All in all ten out of ten, friendly, welcoming and very very relaxing. Would we come again ? Already planning the trip !!

Room Tip: The electric hook up pitches are larger. Near the river is lovely but be prepared for families in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantcol Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantcol Waterfalls

Address: Cefn Uchaf, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Llanbedr
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Nantcol Waterfalls Hotel Llanbedr
Nantcol Waterfalls Llanbedr, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantcol Waterfalls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.