We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ty Mawr Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Mawr Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Llanbedr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The people here are very friendly. Food and beer are good but rooms are a bit dated although perfectly adequate. A bit of tlc wouldn't go amiss with a few little things and I did notice that lots of lights had cobwebs and dust on although generally it's quite clean and tidy. This place definitely suits those who like a few drinks in the bar before going up to bed and it can't be beaten for that.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a friend was getting married up the road. We had a fantastic weekend all round but staying here really made it. The staff went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home. We had a lovely room and felt so relaxed. The pub part is a proper locals pub, in a good way. Sorry we got there too late on the Friday to have a drink.
Special thanks to the ladies for 1. Sending us on our journey home with two big bacon sandwiches 2. Posting our phone charger back to us and 3. Not laughing too much at our hangovers...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visit Ty Mawr every time we come to Llanbedr (at least twice a year!). Food typical pub grub - recommend the "meat and 2 veg" and lasagne dishes as these are very much "homemade" rather than out the freezer. Ty Mawr is family run and the staff are super friendly. Bar usually packed with fairly noisy locals!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were sceptical about the wide range of items on the menus and 'specials' but very pleasantly surprised when our light lunch choices arrived. The beer is well kept and there's always one special at a very special price. As a place for a pint or a meal in Llanbedr this knocks spots off the more immediately obvious and better know Queen Vic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival we couldn't park within the grounds and had to park on the street then carry all our bags to the hotel. We'd booked the family room, £100 for the night and to be honest compared to the rest of the hotels we'd stayed in over the previous week this was by far the worse. The room was cramped with 2 single beds and a pull out sofa bed, again 2 singles. The carpet could do with a good clean as it smelt of either human or dog urine in between the 2 single beds. The bathroom needs ripping out, the bath was cracked with the front panel barely hanging on and the towel holder fell off the wall! This is obviously a dog friendly place as looking out of my window into the nice beer garden i counted no less than 6 dogs - for a family such as mine who don't like dogs it wasn't the best place i'd been and i'm sorry to say i won't be going back and i wouldn't recommend to any of my friends and family. On the plus side the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: The family room is over priced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

pictures on the internet didnt match the room we were given. room 7....No bath very lumpy mattress.yes there is a flat screen tv but reception poor no satilite in room as advertised, the only good thing was the lady who served breakfast she was lovely unlike the brother who ran the bar....

Room Tip: dont have room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate as a family in the bar,although there were tables set in a beautiful garden. The staff were really welcoming and friendly. The food choice was excellent as they had a comprehensive menu to choose from as well as a specials board.
Our order was taken by a friendly waitress, who took the time to chat to us a bit first and then took our order. The food arrived really quickly, was piping hot, well presented and tasted heavenly. All four of us agreed on this point. The food was excellent value for money and we would recommend anyone to have a meal there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Mawr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.