We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Watering Hole” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ty Mawr Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Mawr Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Llanbedr B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Late Night Watering Hole”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice little pub. Having eaten elsewhere we just needed a dessert and a nightcap before returning to our B&B. We chose the chocolate fudge cake and the strawberry sundae. The fudge cake was great but we were disappointed that the sundae was a pre-frozen desert in a plastic cone which had been slipped inside a glass. At £4.75 each we felt a bit let down but maybe the main courses make up for it, as there were a lot of diners enjoying the bar food. It's a pity the pricing policy on desserts can leave you a bit deflated

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We selected this hotel from the internet & had high expectations. Sadly these were dashed almost as soon as we set foot inside. The exterior looks very inviting, with fairly large grounds & ample parking, but the interior is very shabby & in need of improvement. Our room at first glance was pretty, equipped with furniture in the Louis X1V style, with lots of ornamental hearts scattered about, but the amount of storage was minimal - it was all just for show. We were provided with only one slatted wooden upright chair to sit in & I had to stuff pillows between the bed & the bedside table so that I didn't bang myself in the night. There was a hospitality tray, but until I asked for extra supplies, we were not given adequate milk/tea bags, coffee for drinks for both of us. There was nowhere to put the kettle, which had to stand on the floor. The bathroom was awful (no other word for it). The tiles had obviously been there a while & there were black stains in the grouting. I never succeeded in getting any hot water from any of the taps or shower & when I commented on this I was told it was the fault of the water pressure. Provision of shampoo/bath gel was miserly. Considering these rooms were priced at £80 prpn, we thought the accommodation was poor value & would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

we ate here twice during our stay at a nearby campsite. The first time was a lot better than the second so I suspect the quality is quite variable. The pie on the first night was superb, the chicken pie the second time was just a watery chicken soup with a pastry top in a bowl.
4 real ales on offer but a disapointment to be in the heart of Welsh micr brewery country and only find 1 example.....Conway Brewery.....the other decent one was Hancox which at least was Welsh....the other 2 Doombar and Adnams best were both from breweries 250 miles + away!
Bar is very noisy for dining but restaraunt looked quite smart.
On a sunny day there are lots of nice tables outside.....on a grey day I think I would give it a miss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with a part of 9 people having 4 bedrooms for 2 nights sorry to give such bad review. The hotel was basic, had pets which barked during night. Don't have a room at the front of the hotel as the noise from the bar kept you awake. Breakfast was not good. (The ceiling in the dinning room had been damaged by flooding 2 years ago but was still not redecorated.) Sausage and bacon were not of the best quality. Everything else was just basic.
We had one evening meal which was most disappointing. The specials on the menu were about 15 - never seen this before and the ones we had were not special. As the meals came too quick, I suspect the use of a mircowave was frequently used. However, as one of us said at least we kept dry and the location was handy. Find a nice bed and breakfast nearby instead.

Room Tip: back of hotel...try a nearby bed and breakfast instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

During our little trip to Snowdonia we had lots of rain, so we spent quite some time in our hotel, Ty Mawr. I can not say that I really like Ty Mawr, but I certainly don't hate it. The garden with the picknicktables is lovely, but because of the bad weather there wasn't much opportunity to sit there. Our room was the only room in the hotel with internet-connection, and you only had a connection if you sat in the bathroomwindow. The hosts were very friendly and the room was ok, but not really clean (especially underneath the beds). It was nice to have a good tv and facility to boil water and make tea.
The evening meal was very nice, the breakfast was ok, but not very special.

Room Tip: Our room was the only one with internet connection. I forgot the room-number but it is the first roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Bar staff were knowledgeable about their ales and ciders and had a good variety of drinks as they were CAMRA Member and sold CAMRA ales and ciders.

Friendly Atmosphere, welcomed dogs in the bar and was clean. Staff were well presented and helpful.

Good location close to Shell Island and Waterfalls. Big outdoor garden, clean benches with parasols. Specify pints or you get half pints.

Reasonable prices for food and drink, option to eat in the bar or resteraunt

No mobile signal which was slightly annoying but not their fault.

The waitress who served us looked scruffy and untidy, should have uniform or something smart.

Treacle tart was cold with hot custard which was a bit odd, ruined the meal. However all other deserts were perfect.

There was some music, empty without it but annoying genre of music.

Cost: 4.5/5
Food quality: 4.5/5
Service: 4/5
Atmosphere: 4/5

Overall: 4/5

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We regularly stay in this area but had never before been to Ty Mawr. On arrival the bar area was busy mainly it appeared with local guys who were not very accomodating to us as new arrivals in 'their zone'.

However we looked at the menu and it appeared to offer a good selection of home made food. We ordered our drinks and food and took a seat. While we waited we were able to take in more of the surrounding bar area which was generally scruffy and indeed dirty in places not least in the table top rebates. Our food arrived quickly, we had both ordered the home made steak and ale casserole with new potatoes and vegetables. I can only describe the casserole as a bowl of thin brown liquid with not more than 5 chunks of beef floating in it, the vegetables had clearly been prepared well in advance and then re-heated in a microwave and were dry and tasteless. During the course of our visit we were never asked if we were happy with our meal and the overall service was poor.

I can honestly describe this as the worst bar meal we have experienced in over 30 years of our married life! At the start of this review I said this was our first time at Ty Mawr, I can now assure you it will also be our last!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Mawr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.